We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$379
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$310
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$402
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$306
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cape Royale(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$266
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$1,045
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$987
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (764)
Filter reviews
764 results
Traveller rating
602
127
21
13
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
602
127
21
13
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskloof streetour honeymoontable mountainhot water bottlesprivate courtyarddouble showerplunge poolcharming boutique hotelgreat boutiqueluxury roombreakfast room issmall hotelwithin walking distancefirst stopthree nightssouth africa tripeach evening
Filter
Updating list...
327 - 332 of 764 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The way our holiday was organised meant we had two stops here, the first was just for one night and we received a very friendly welcome and a glass of orange juice after our overnight flight from the UK. Although we arrived before check in time we were able to get into our room, have a shower and take the free shuttle down to the waterfront. In the evening we were helped with restaurant choice and taxi ordered to take us there. Unfortunately we missed breakfast as we had a very early start the next morning. We returned for another two night stay after our safari and drive along the garden route. Again we had warm welcome and enjoyed having slightly longer with a two night stay. The staff were so helpful with Dirk giving us ideas for a tour around the wine country and also the Cape and we also had help in getting our rental car picked up when the rental company failed to arrive on time. Breakfasts are cooked to order and can be taken either inside or outside. Both our rooms (2 and 3) had a nice little sitting area outside, rooms were spacious and bathrooms of a generous size especially in room 3 which was bigger than many hotel rooms. The area is very safe and we walked out to a restaurant one night and also walked out in the day time too. The shuttle down to the water front is an added bonus. Free wifi is very handy and we would definitely return if we visit Cape Town again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The Cape Cadogan is a boutique hotel converted from a couple of houses. As a result, the rooms are of varying sizes, can connect in slightly odd fashions, and sometimes open onto the main breakfast patio. Be sure and check whether the hotel’s location works for your itinerary; we found it most satisfactory, but it is a long walk to the waterfront. There is nightlife quite close, but no noise issues. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent and served in a nice indoor room, or on a pleasant patio. The common areas were pleasant. The hotel provided an honor drinks trolley and hors d’oeuvres is the late afternoon. If you are looking for a small, high service hotel, this is it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southwind3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The staff were really friendly and we couldn't fault the room. Breakfasts were delicious as well. Ideal location for exploring the city and surrounds and if you're feeling tired there's a good selection of restaurants/cafes just a short (safe) stroll away.
Thoroughly recommended for a more personal experience. The restaurant recommendation we got for one night (Umi in Camps Bay) was spot on as well.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Excellent location just step out into the mall or onto waterfront. Good room, very clean, nice bathroom, robes, free WiFi, good storage, air con.
Good selection at breakfast, and friendly staff, would stay again if in Cape Town. Lots of good restaurants on the doorstep!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank sharon021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Recently returned from our honeymoon to South Africa. After a week of Safari we were excited for Cape Town, and hotel-like accommodations. I loved that upon our arrival Jisca offered us something cold to drink, and sat down with us to really help us maximize our Cape Town experience -- from restaurants, and things to do -- it was a really nice touch, and very helpful!

Dirk and another woman at the front desk were always very helpful and accommodation as well. The woman helped us plan our shark diving excursion, and made all of the reservations for us. The staff we encountered really know the definition of hospitality.

The hotel itself was very charming -- old and with history (smelled great too), and in the BEST location. We LOVED walking right out into the heart of Cape Town -- so many restaurants right around the corner, and gave us a real living like a Capetonian experience, which was awesome! We later stayed at the Waterfont which we really regretted. The waterfront area was somewhat cheesy and touristy -- if coming to Cape Town, definitely stay Central! Very easy to get to that area too from Central Cape if you're looking to check it out.

We stayed in room 1. Do NOT stay in room 1. You will feel like you are sleeping at the front desk. It is located about 8 steps away -- you feel like you're back in college, coming and going, with the RA sitting and monitoring every move. You could also hear everything going on all hours at the front desk -- and I'm sure they could hear us when we were in the room as well. It is not private whatsoever. Not the best honeymoon accommodations, and for any stay.

Another gripe about Room #1 was that it was right in front of their patio (which was lovely) with the exception there was a security (?) or someone standing there at all times -- literally in our room in the window/blinds were open (its all level). This room has NOTHING private about it. If we were ever in our room during the day we could not take advantage of the sunlight, or fresh air. We felt very trapped in so many ways here. We loved the staff and location, but were very excited to leave to our next hotel, even though we would be leaving this great location. Otherwise, I may have rated this hotel a 5. Maybe.

I must say, Jisca tried to accommodate us and move us the Room 12 -- this room was smaller, with no real windows (windows looked out into another empty room/entryway. Room 1 was the only real option.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOStraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews