We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Great Customer Service”
Review of Cape Cadogan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Cadogan
Ranked #13 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed for 5 nights at Cape Cadogan to start off our African honeymoon in March 2014. We were very pleasantly surprised with the cleanliness and the location of this hotel, as well as our beautiful room. The breakfasts were so delicious and the staff was incredibly helpful in every way. I had to ship a bag to Johannesburg, they helped with that; we needed some ideas for things to do while we were in Cape Town, they provided some great ideas; we wanted to do a wine tour, they found us the best tour guide we could possibly have! As a surprise for our honeymoon, we came home to a hot bath, bottle of champagne and rose petals - it was beautiful! In every possible way, Cape Cadogan delivered. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a separate room from the reception house, on the other side of the little pool, which was clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hengbrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

First trip to South Africa. Arrived at the Cadogan very early in the morning. They were expecting us and very welcoming. The whole place was lovely. The bedroom was very comfortable and the breakfasts delicious. All the staff were friendly. Siska in reception was particularly helpful booking us taxis and trips and recommending some fantastic restaurants. Would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodfoodloverlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The Cape Cadogan is a boutique hotel, with rooms of differing configurations. The first night I arrived very late, and stayed in a room adjacent to the reception. This wasn't ideal, but I was moved the following day to a room upstairs, which was terrific. The room downstairs was a bit noisy, but after the move, it was terrific.

You could have breakfast on a patio, which was terrific. The coffee was great, and the staff was courteous and efficient. There's a super market about half a block away, and since I was travelling alone, I made great use of an Italian restaurant about a block away. A great choice.

Room Tip: Upstairs; not downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginsburl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The way our holiday was organised meant we had two stops here, the first was just for one night and we received a very friendly welcome and a glass of orange juice after our overnight flight from the UK. Although we arrived before check in time we were able to get into our room, have a shower and take the free shuttle down to the waterfront. In the evening we were helped with restaurant choice and taxi ordered to take us there. Unfortunately we missed breakfast as we had a very early start the next morning. We returned for another two night stay after our safari and drive along the garden route. Again we had warm welcome and enjoyed having slightly longer with a two night stay. The staff were so helpful with Dirk giving us ideas for a tour around the wine country and also the Cape and we also had help in getting our rental car picked up when the rental company failed to arrive on time. Breakfasts are cooked to order and can be taken either inside or outside. Both our rooms (2 and 3) had a nice little sitting area outside, rooms were spacious and bathrooms of a generous size especially in room 3 which was bigger than many hotel rooms. The area is very safe and we walked out to a restaurant one night and also walked out in the day time too. The shuttle down to the water front is an added bonus. Free wifi is very handy and we would definitely return if we visit Cape Town again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The Cape Cadogan is a boutique hotel converted from a couple of houses. As a result, the rooms are of varying sizes, can connect in slightly odd fashions, and sometimes open onto the main breakfast patio. Be sure and check whether the hotel’s location works for your itinerary; we found it most satisfactory, but it is a long walk to the waterfront. There is nightlife quite close, but no noise issues. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent and served in a nice indoor room, or on a pleasant patio. The common areas were pleasant. The hotel provided an honor drinks trolley and hors d’oeuvres is the late afternoon. If you are looking for a small, high service hotel, this is it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southwind3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The staff were really friendly and we couldn't fault the room. Breakfasts were delicious as well. Ideal location for exploring the city and surrounds and if you're feeling tired there's a good selection of restaurants/cafes just a short (safe) stroll away.
Thoroughly recommended for a more personal experience. The restaurant recommendation we got for one night (Umi in Camps Bay) was spot on as well.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Excellent location just step out into the mall or onto waterfront. Good room, very clean, nice bathroom, robes, free WiFi, good storage, air con.
Good selection at breakfast, and friendly staff, would stay again if in Cape Town. Lots of good restaurants on the doorstep!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank sharon021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,422 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,572 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,287 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,854 reviews
City Bowl
More Quarters Hotel
More Quarters Hotel
#9 of 110 in Cape Town Central
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cadogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cadogan

Address: 5 Upper Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £184 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Cadogan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a rare combination of historic exteriors with classic modern bohemian interiors, it was ‘Victorianised’ in 1912 and declared a National Monument in 1984. Its charm and character is matched with its desirable location amongst the popular restaurants, street cafes and stylish boutique shops of Kloof Street, the heart of Cape Town. More Cape Cadogan is owned and managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Cadogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cape Cadogan Hotel Cape Town Central
The Cape Town Cadogan
The Hotel Cape Town
Cape Cadogan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing