We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful boutique hotel”
Review of Cape Cadogan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Cadogan
Ranked #14 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed at the Cape Cadogan during early April 0f 2014. The rooms are lovely, well appointed and comfortable. Deep soaking tub and walk-in shower. The location is quiet and in a safe neighborhood where we could walk to nearby restaurants. Staff is warm and friendly, and gave very personalized service including making dinner reservations and calling taxis. This boutique hotel is a quiet oasis where we really relaxed. Breakfasts were excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed 5 nights at The Cape Cadogan from 26th-31st March as the first stop on our honeymoon. We were in room 10 which although being at the top of the stairs over the reception and a standard room was absolutely perfect. We even had a view of Table Mountain out of the room! The room had everything we needed with a welcoming food plate and one night our bed was decorated with roses and a bottle of champagne left for us.

The staff were the best part of the hotel and the front desk could not be more helpful. Be it with trips or restaurant recommendations, they were always happy to book them for you. Right down to the service at breakfast. The breakfasts were great and set you up for the day. There was a small but perfectly sized buffet selection and then you ordered off a menu and your cooked breakfast made to order.

The location is a bit out of Cape Town (7 min taxi ride to the Waterfront cost about R70), but we liked it as you weren't in the touristy area. There were plenty of fantastic restaurants close by that we walked to on most nights and felt extremely safe. The hotel were always on hand to book taxis though if you didn't fancy it.

Overall a fantastic small hotel in a great location for us and would highly recommend it for those on a romantic break/honeymoon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D81504 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We love staying here. Room, staff, and food exceeded our expectations. The staff provided us with wonderful recommendations for restaurants and for shopping. Each member fully contributed to our visit. Our room was beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terri c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

An excellent experience. Warm, personable, comfortable and charming. Cape Cadogan's staff made this experience exceptional. Their willingness to help us coordinate tours of Cape Town, taxis, and transfers was impressive. We asked them to call a cab to a waterfront restaurant. We were just seated when I realized I left my brand new Canon Rebel camera in the cab. I called Cape Cadogan to ask the name of the cab company with little hope of ever seeing my camera again. The staff took care of it! I had my camera back within ten minutes! Although small and intimate, the hotel respected privacy yet offered opportunity to interact with other guests if so desired. The breakfasts were personalized and delightful in taste, setting and service. We never felt like nameless tourists, more like valued guests.

Room Tip: Our room was entered from the courtyard and was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kivufans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed 3 nights during the beginning of April 2014. Everyone was over the top helpful and polite. Neat, clean and special atmosphere with great view of Table Mountain Only negative was some minor paint pealing. Included breakfast not your normal continental; fresh fruits, freshly made in house pastries and omelets made to order. Would certainly stay again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 207JoeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Arrival wasn't too good as we had to sit for 1/2 hour whilst the receptionist explained things to another guest. We weren't offered a drink or anywhere to put our bags, so had to sit down (after a long trip) and wait until receptionist had finished with the other guest. There was no other staff on show.

We eventually got to our room - and it was fantastic! Huge bed, very clean - and the bathroom was huge!

Staff were brilliant (after the check -in) and helped with a miriad of problems, including reservations for restaurants, and problems with car hire.

The hotel is in a wonderful area - walking to a few restaurants and with a free shuttle to the Waterfront, We walked down from Table Mountain easily! There are a few good restaurants nearby.

Breakfast is very good and served inside or outside, dependent upon the weather,

Cisca is a wonderful help in reception,

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quijano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

From the first minute of our stay the staff was extending warm care over us with arranging reservations, transportation, giving advice. The hotel has its own charm and cosmopolitan clientele that use the warm appointed lobby for late night chat over glass of sherry to exchange experiences from travel. The management was so kind even to remember about our birthday bringing bottle of champagne to celebrate that special day. Thank you for memorable experience, wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,472 reviews
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 112 in Cape Town Central
117 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,676 reviews
City Bowl
More Quarters Hotel
More Quarters Hotel
#12 of 112 in Cape Town Central
592 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cadogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cadogan

Address: 5 Upper Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £187 - £384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Cadogan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a rare combination of historic exteriors with classic modern bohemian interiors, it was ‘Victorianised’ in 1912 and declared a National Monument in 1984. Its charm and character is matched with its desirable location amongst the popular restaurants, street cafes and stylish boutique shops of Kloof Street, the heart of Cape Town. More Cape Cadogan is owned and managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Cadogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cape Cadogan Hotel Cape Town Central
The Cape Town Cadogan
The Hotel Cape Town
Cape Cadogan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing