We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, clean but walls have ears”
Review of Cape Cadogan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Cadogan
Ranked #12 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Cosy, clean but walls have ears”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Sympathetic, cosy and clean boutique hotel with friendly staff. Good location, adjacent to bars and restaurants in neighboring streets, just few minutes drive from the Table mountain.

Rooms are in rustique style, feel warm and friendly, only complaint is that walls are thin and thus you can hear every movement in a hallway.

I would not recommend taking rooms # 1 or 2 which are on the ground floor, facing reception.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jisca J, General Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Milan P,

Thank you so much for your valued feedback. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be sure to pass on the compliments to our team. I truly apologize for any noise disturbance. We are doing out utmost best to minimize this through double glazing windows and sound proofing the doors which will be implemented in crucial areas of the hotel over the coming months. Again, thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you back to Cape Town soon.

Kind Regards,
Jisca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    121
    20
    12
    1
See reviews for
54
524
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
warwick,ny
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This small Boutique hotel is adorable. Beautiful location, off Kloof street. My room #8 had its own small terrace plus a view of Table Mountain.. The service is impeccable and I was greeted with a pot of tea by a roaring fire.. It was a cool rainy day... The bedroom is spacious and the bathroom is superb A huge soapstone tub and twin Rain showers, I took breakfast in the bright airy dining area, appointed with crisp white linens.. The best eggs Benedict ever!!!

Room Tip: This is a small hotel that has 1-2-and three bedroom apartments all able to use the Hotel dining/ br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelswithsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed at the cape cardigan for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon. The hotel is beautiful - the decor, the furniture, the log fireplace, the bathrooms, the list could go on. The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome and to give you advice on where to go and how to get about. I loved the little touches that made our stay special such as a hot water bottle in our bed when returning in the evening and the cookies in the cute Kilner jar next to the bed. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Cape Town either on holiday or for business.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed at the Cape Cadogan during early April 0f 2014. The rooms are lovely, well appointed and comfortable. Deep soaking tub and walk-in shower. The location is quiet and in a safe neighborhood where we could walk to nearby restaurants. Staff is warm and friendly, and gave very personalized service including making dinner reservations and calling taxis. This boutique hotel is a quiet oasis where we really relaxed. Breakfasts were excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed 5 nights at The Cape Cadogan from 26th-31st March as the first stop on our honeymoon. We were in room 10 which although being at the top of the stairs over the reception and a standard room was absolutely perfect. We even had a view of Table Mountain out of the room! The room had everything we needed with a welcoming food plate and one night our bed was decorated with roses and a bottle of champagne left for us.

The staff were the best part of the hotel and the front desk could not be more helpful. Be it with trips or restaurant recommendations, they were always happy to book them for you. Right down to the service at breakfast. The breakfasts were great and set you up for the day. There was a small but perfectly sized buffet selection and then you ordered off a menu and your cooked breakfast made to order.

The location is a bit out of Cape Town (7 min taxi ride to the Waterfront cost about R70), but we liked it as you weren't in the touristy area. There were plenty of fantastic restaurants close by that we walked to on most nights and felt extremely safe. The hotel were always on hand to book taxis though if you didn't fancy it.

Overall a fantastic small hotel in a great location for us and would highly recommend it for those on a romantic break/honeymoon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D81504 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We love staying here. Room, staff, and food exceeded our expectations. The staff provided us with wonderful recommendations for restaurants and for shopping. Each member fully contributed to our visit. Our room was beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terri c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

An excellent experience. Warm, personable, comfortable and charming. Cape Cadogan's staff made this experience exceptional. Their willingness to help us coordinate tours of Cape Town, taxis, and transfers was impressive. We asked them to call a cab to a waterfront restaurant. We were just seated when I realized I left my brand new Canon Rebel camera in the cab. I called Cape Cadogan to ask the name of the cab company with little hope of ever seeing my camera again. The staff took care of it! I had my camera back within ten minutes! Although small and intimate, the hotel respected privacy yet offered opportunity to interact with other guests if so desired. The breakfasts were personalized and delightful in taste, setting and service. We never felt like nameless tourists, more like valued guests.

Room Tip: Our room was entered from the courtyard and was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kivufans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,407 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#9 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,540 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,263 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cadogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cadogan

Property: Cape Cadogan
Address: 5 Upper Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Cadogan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a rare combination of historic exteriors with classic modern bohemian interiors, it was ‘Victorianised’ in 1912 and declared a National Monument in 1984. Its charm and character is matched with its desirable location amongst the popular restaurants, street cafes and stylish boutique shops of Kloof Street, the heart of Cape Town. More Cape Cadogan is owned and managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Cadogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cape Cadogan Hotel Cape Town Central
The Cape Town Cadogan
The Hotel Cape Town
Cape Cadogan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing