We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Absolutely fabulous"”
Review of Cape Cadogan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Cadogan
Ranked #13 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2009

What a fantastic hotel to stay in! We were given such a warm welcome on our arrival with very attentive staff who were so interested to know where we from, what our touring plans were etc. Our accommodation was stunning and far exceeded our expectations - so well appointed and spotlessly clean.
The hotel is in a delightful area of Cape Town with it's quaint streets, lovely shops and littlle coffee shops. We also made really good use of being within the close vicinity of Table Mountain in all its guises.
Thanks to all the staff - we'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schiehallion4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

554 - 560 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2009

Stayed in on of their apartments (#7), which is a really great deal. Clean, fresh, and new interior with staff that are always available and willing to go that extra mile. Manager runs a very tight ship and makes things happen immediately. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pssjm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

The overall friendliness and quality standard of this hotel meant that our holiday to South Africa was fantastic. The staff were superb. The only slight downside was the location however we would glady have travelled far to be somewhere as good as this.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PugwashScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2009

I stayed here for 3 days in June and it was absolutely fabulous! There is a wonderful view of table mountain just behind the aparments. The staff are very warm, welcoming and helpful people...every one of them. The rooms are gorgeous, very big and spacious! The only bad thing i have to say about it is the location. It is in the middle of town between table mountain and the waterfront..each being a 10 minute drive from here but the aparments are located in a sort of alley way and I didn't really feel that safe to leave the apartment after dark! . There was alot of people begging and hanging around the corners that made me quite uneasy. I felt more comfortable to get a taxi everywhere but overall the stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lulu026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

This was the first stop for on my South African honeymoon and we were definitely not disappointed. While the location was not spectacular, we were never more then a 5 minute cab ride away from local points of interest.

The morning breakfast was simple, but sufficient. Our room was very large and had a fabulous tub and standing shower. On one evening, they left us a bottle of champagne and drew a bath, with rose petals leading to the tub with a note congratulating us on our marriage.

They also had free internet and staff were eager to help us find a great placec to eat or call a cab if we needed it. They were also very honest when we asked if we could walk down the street to grab a drink--which we did, but didn't venture too far.

It's quiet and quaint and I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZCastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2009

My Fiance & I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights prior to going to the Mount Nelson for the rest of our stay in Cape Town.
There are no facilities at this hotel. No restauarnt, no bar, no real swimming pool, no room service, no mini bar. However, Cape Town is such a wonderful place, there are plenty of things to amuse yourself with.
The front door of this hotel is locked 24 hours a day and you can only gain entry if you flash the on-duty security guard your room key. All four nights when we returned to the Hotel after our Evening Meal, security were asleep, so we found ourselves standing outside for a good twenty minutes trying to get their attention.
This hotel is 'great as a base', comfortable and clean however I would check that they have changed the security staff recently before you go!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2009

Just got back from our honeymoon in SA. We started off in Cape Town and spent 4 nights in the Cape Cadogan/More Quarters (Apartment no. 10) and couldn't fault it.

I had a fixed budget for our accommodation in Cape Town (knowing that we wouldn't be spending much time in the room) and initially looked at staying in a hotel at the Waterfront. However, all our budget would stretch to there effectively equated to a glorified Travel Inn, so we looked further afield. Our Tour Operator (MT Beds in Jo'burg) recommended the Cadogan and I would do the same without hesitation. Location wise, its situated near to Lions Head at the bottom of Table Mountain. Its about a ZAR50 cab ride into the Waterfront (about £4) and you get far better value by being away from the V&A. Our apartment (calling it a room wouldn't do it justice) was spectacular...we had our own kitchen, a lounge with a 40" plasma TV a huge bed and an ENORMOUS bathroom.

Whilst we were there, we took the cable car up the mountain, visited Robben Island and went on a wine tour to Stellenbosch, Paarl and Franschoek, all of which the concierge at the Cadogan organised for us. One tip, if the sun is out on the day you arrive in Cape Town, get yourself up the mountain straight away. Even on a sunny day, Cape Town can get quite cloudy and once the "tablecloth" settles on the mountain you won't get the benefit of the incredible views.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank webbo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,422 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,572 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,288 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,856 reviews
City Bowl
More Quarters Hotel
More Quarters Hotel
#9 of 110 in Cape Town Central
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cadogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cadogan

Address: 5 Upper Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £183 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Cadogan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a rare combination of historic exteriors with classic modern bohemian interiors, it was ‘Victorianised’ in 1912 and declared a National Monument in 1984. Its charm and character is matched with its desirable location amongst the popular restaurants, street cafes and stylish boutique shops of Kloof Street, the heart of Cape Town. More Cape Cadogan is owned and managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Cadogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cape Cadogan Hotel Cape Town Central
The Cape Town Cadogan
The Hotel Cape Town
Cape Cadogan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing