We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant little hotel, a great start to our honeymoon”
Review of Cape Cadogan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Cadogan
Ranked #13 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2009

We stayed here for the first few days of our honeymoon a few weeks ago and what a place to start our trip. Our room was great, really spacious with a huge bathroom with marble wet room style shower and corner bath.

The service was top class all the time with staff helping us by recommending local restaurants, ordering us taxis and recommeding and organising tours for us. Every member of staff was pleasant and cheerful and always seemed really glad to see you which made us feel so at home.

Breakfast was really nice with a cold buffet with meats, cheeses, pastries, yogurts and cereals but the lovely cook made delicious cooked breakfasts too.

The staff left cookies or sweets by your bed for when you returned in the evening which was lovely and one night they left us a bottle of champagne and decorated our room with rose petals as recognition of our honeymoon - a really nice touch.

Drinks and nibbles are available in the lounge during the evening and this proved really useful as we met lots of fellow guests and shared tips on what to do and which restaurants to visit.

The hotel is within walking distance of some great restaurants, in particular Millers Thumb, and we felt safe walking in the area immediately around the hotel although when we got more than a few streets away we did start to feel a bit less comfortable so we would recommend taxis if visiting further afield.

All in all this hotel was great and if you get the opportunity please stay here, you won't regret it. We'll definitely be back when we next visit Cape Town.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_Kips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

566 - 572 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2009

My wife and I spent our honeymoon in Cape cadogan a couple of weeks ago. we were gob-smacked - just so good. Our 'room' was a spacious, chic apartment perfectly located for all the best restaurants and bars. We arrived at the room to find a bottle of great champagne, and a note of welcome from the manager. The huge bath was full of rose petals.....all so nice
The place felt so safe- there was friendly security right outside our door for 24 hours. All the staff here just couldn't do enought - we were made to feel so welcome and special. And the breakfast? Ohhhh the breakfast. If you do visit, please don't fall into the trap of thinking the table of delights that initially greets you IS breakfast. We tucked into this with glee....and THEN they bought the menu of cooked stuff. We piled on the pounds.

We'd definately re-visit, and apart from a lack of choise on the TV channel side of things, we couldn't fault the place.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank stevie222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

We stayed in Cape Cadogan for 3 nights at the finish of our south africa trip. Hotel was recommended by our travel agent and we had wonderful days in the hotel.

Rooms are large, well furnished in boutique style with every comfort you need. Very cozy lounges, small but pretty pool, very good breakfast service and just a few steps away from Long Street - everything we needed for perfect stay in amazing cape town.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dudus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2009

We stayed on the 7th and 8th July, our room was number three which is very close to the back door and we got disturbed in the morning, however the accomodation was very good and our bathroom outstanding. Breakfast is nice, and it is ideal fro a walk down Long Street the whole arae felt very safe. Staff were great.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iantoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2009

The Cape Cadogan is a small hotel that’s big on service. The rooms are beautifully and individually decorated. All the staff were fantastic and helped and advised us in any way we asked, right down to posting cards for us. Just off a main street in Cape Town the Cadogan is close enough to numerous restaurants but far enough away that our nights were peacefully quite. Each evening on our return a complimentary drink awaited us in the lounge where, as the nights were chilly a warm fire was burning. Breakfast was fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulBedfordshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

Beautiful hotel set in a victorian house in a nice residential area of Cape Town, a few rooms with luxurious settings, very nice common areas including a lounge with a fireset, books, and all the features you would expect from a 5 star boutique hotel. Excellent breakfast and good location to explore the town.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank F79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

What a fantastic hotel to stay in! We were given such a warm welcome on our arrival with very attentive staff who were so interested to know where we from, what our touring plans were etc. Our accommodation was stunning and far exceeded our expectations - so well appointed and spotlessly clean.
The hotel is in a delightful area of Cape Town with it's quaint streets, lovely shops and littlle coffee shops. We also made really good use of being within the close vicinity of Table Mountain in all its guises.
Thanks to all the staff - we'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schiehallion4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,472 reviews
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 112 in Cape Town Central
122 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,441 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,149 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cadogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cadogan

Address: 5 Upper Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £188 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Cadogan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a rare combination of historic exteriors with classic modern bohemian interiors, it was ‘Victorianised’ in 1912 and declared a National Monument in 1984. Its charm and character is matched with its desirable location amongst the popular restaurants, street cafes and stylish boutique shops of Kloof Street, the heart of Cape Town. More Cape Cadogan is owned and managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Cadogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cape Cadogan Hotel Cape Town Central
The Cape Town Cadogan
The Hotel Cape Town
Cape Cadogan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing