We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“30th Anniversary Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Cadogan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cape Cadogan
Ranked #12 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“30th Anniversary Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2009

Five star rating. We traveled to South Africa as part of a 30th anniversary present to each other. We stayed at the Cape Cadogan for four days and were thrilled. The staff, especially Kristen, Dade and Andy went out of their way to make us feel at home, help us with plans for shopping, touring, taxi, bags and restaurant recommendations.

We stayed in the "Owners Villa" which was an exceptional property, complete with a full kitchen, private pool area and living room.

The staff would greet us by name and bring us coffee each morning and insure that we felt comfortable with in our surroundings. We felt treated like royalty. We had a bottle of champagne and rose pedals on our bed one night. Each night, they offer sherry or port along with nuts and chocolate.

The hotel property is well maintained and clean, the location is great- a little off the beaten path but close to great shopping and restaurants while being quiet in a residential area. Security is an issue in South Africa but the hotel has 24 hour security and we felt very safe, taking taxis at night. Breakfast was very nice with an ample assortment of cold plates and cooked to order hot items.

Without exception everyone was great and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMorganMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    118
    19
    12
    1
See reviews for
50
504
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2009

We just returned from a 5 night stay at the Cape Cadogan. We thought it was a lovely boutique hotel. Although, it was away from the waterfront, we were pleased at how close it was to Long St where a lot of the shopping is in Cape Town. It is also around the corner from the Mount Nelson Hotel and we went for high tea one afternoon. Our room was very nice with a newly renovated bathroom. We had a small terrace and opened the door which was nice for fresh air.
The breakfast was abundant and had a large variety of delicious food to choose from. In the evening there are snacks, nuts, chocolate and brandy available in the lovely living room. We used the free internet daily.
The staff is what stands out the most to me. They were extremely attentive, helpful and friendly. The manager, Andrew, was also available and visible daily. It is a peaceful, well run hotel and I would gladly return.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Planejane955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

I will preface this review by stating that I stayed at the Cape Cadogan hotel as part of a package with the Lion Sands Ivory Lodge--complimentary two nights deluxe room at the Cape Cadogan when I book my stay in the Sabi Sands Reserve at the Lion Sands Ivory Lodge. I would likely have selected another Capetown hotel were this package not available. In any case the Cape Cadogan is a very nice boutique hotel in the Kloof district, perhaps 10min from the V&A waterfront by taxi. There are a few art dealers, bars, and restaurants along one artery adjacent to the hotel, but overall the area in which the hotel is located appears largely residential. There is no restaurant in this boutique hotel but it does offer a very nice breakfast bar and a choice of omelets/french toast/eggs made to order if desired. The staff, as expected, are very friendly and accomodating. We stayed in room 2, which is a deluxe room with a large garden patio. Apparently the difference between the deluxe and standard rooms are the size of the rooms (we had a small sitting area in ours) and the availability of a large balcony or patio. The decor and furnishings of the room was generally very nice, but I expected a plasma or LCD TV in this day and age for a boutique hotel (the room was equipped with a 19 incher that was probably ten years old). Not that we had much time to watch TV, with all the excursions scheduled around the Capetown area. As for the rest of the hotel, there is use of a laptop with wireless internet in the library, as well as a sitting area near the front gate where sherry and port are offered after 6pm. There is also a small plunge pool in the outdoor patio, but it remained unused by all guests during our stay (due to inclement weather). In short, if one is looking to stay in a a deluxe boutique hotel outside of the waterfront district (where a lot of tourists are), then the Cape Cadogan can be considered a satisfactory choice. However, there are certainly many other hotels in the Capetown area that fit this description, and I would advise due research unless there is a package involved with the Lion Sands Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chinochulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoreHotelsandLodges, Owner at Cape Cadogan, responded to this review, 5 November 2009
Thank you for your comments mentioned above, i am happy to advise that all our Luxury Rooms have just had LCD TV's installed.

Regards
Robert More
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

This is a small botique hotel/bed and breakfast. It is a bit away from the V&A waterfront--in the city bowl neighborhood. A short cab ride takes you to where you need to be if you cannot find what you want here--though I think one would be happy as a clam here. There are restaurants galore around Kloof Street, and the Nelson Hotel is < 5min walk so you can have drinks or dinner since the Cape Cadogan does not have a bar or evening dinner. They do however have evening cordials and chocolate!! YUM.
The house is well appointed, the rooms large and inviting, the baths are amazing--as well as the products. Each morning there was fresh breakfast ready, and the staff is so friendly and helpful. I will certainly stay there again when my travels take me to Cape Town

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hobbes1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

We flew down from Johannesburg and were lucky enough to celebrate our first anniversary at The Cape Cadogan.

We booked a fabulous luxury room and really loved it. The room had everything you could ask for inclucing an amazing bathroom with a double shower and seperate double bath! The bedroom was huge with great balcony that had views of table mountain.

The Hotel was situated just outside the city which was just fine for us as it was close enough to the buzz and restaurants etc when you needed it however was far enough away from the city to be not too overly busy and noisy.

Overall the staff were very friendly and full of good recommendations for restaurants and things to do. They also organised us a very nice bottle of South African bubbly in recognition of our anniversary.

As a travelled South African I would recommend this Hotel to any traveller coming to our beautiful country!

Bernard&Tertia

Joburg

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank West-Rand-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

We had booked a superior room and travelled down from the excellent Ivory Lodge at Lion Sands. At the time we booked our holiday there was a special offer of "free" nights since both are owned by the same company and we took advantage of spending some of the saving on a better room. It was out 40th Wedding Anniversary after all!
In August Cape Town can be quite chilly and we were shown into our room which was on the ground floor across the courtyard. The hotel has no central heating (not unusual in Cape Town apparently) and each room has a heater but nothing in the bathroom. Well our room was freezing! I dont think the heater worked correctly and the gap under the door out to the courtyard let in a gale. The bathroom was icy and had an odd quirk of a gravel and paving floor. The gravel kicked up very easily and was extremely painful if stood on in bare feet (which is pretty common in a bathroom! I still don't think this room was "superior" (actually "inferior" would be a better description) and we asked to be moved but this couldn't happen until the next day. We were given a second heater for the night which ran flat out all night (3kw) and just got the room warm. This did set a bad vibe about the place although the second room (#6, first floor) was much better and deserved the "superior" tag.
No 6 had a great bathroom with two basins and a double shower. The room itself had a comfortable seating area and a balcony overlooking the road. It was also comfortably warm. Once moved we were more than happy although it hadn't been a good start. (I wonder whether an earlier guest had got stroppy about the courtyard room and been offered "our" room as a quick fix).
The public areas in the hotel were comfortable with free use of a computer with internet access. In August open fires were in evidence.
The staff in the hotel were excellent. Kirsten was a gem as was Dane. They were happy to recommend places to eat and were particularly helpful when my wife injured her ankle and needed medical assistance. The hotel manager was usually about, talking to guests too.
Breakfast was excellent, served in a comfortable room with plenty of choice (and pleasant classical music too).
The hotel is at the far edge of the City Bowl (city centre) and at the opposite end to the Waterfront, so it is a bit "out". Actually, very close to the Mount Nelson. The surrounding area felt reasonably safe although Cape Town in general seemed slightly "threatening" to us, being used to Europe and London. It is a job to separate "hype" from fact on these things but we found ourselves using taxis at night to go to restaurants unless the eatery was pretty close. Taxis are relatively cheap as long as you are aware of the "got no change" trick.
Summary? Once we were settled in our new room, we were very content and on that basis would stay there again. If you are travelling from a summer environment to Cape Town winter avoid the left-hand courtyard room unless you are happy to put up with frost bite and sore feet.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveSouthAfrica, Owner at Cape Cadogan, responded to this review, 14 October 2009
Thank you for the feedback you have posted as this is a very valuable tool for us to improve our guest experiences. I am happy to read that although you had initial challenges which our General Manager discussed with you while at the hotel, you still enjoyed your experience and would return. In response to a few of your comments I would like to assure you that both rooms that you experienced are of the same standard and in fact the 1st room you were in had direct access to the outside area as well as pool area, the room has a private courtyard and corner bath a few of the unique features to this specific room. From your comments on this room we have upgraded the heating system as well as placed a draught excluder which has been fitted to the bottom of the door front door to make sure that if we again have a very cold spell the room would well protected from the cold wind. The location of the hotel is in trendy Gardens near Kloof street “where the local live and play”, the waterfront is a short ride from the hotel but our guests prefer to be out of the “busy” shopping areas.

Robert More
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

We stayed here for the first few days of our honeymoon a few weeks ago and what a place to start our trip. Our room was great, really spacious with a huge bathroom with marble wet room style shower and corner bath.

The service was top class all the time with staff helping us by recommending local restaurants, ordering us taxis and recommeding and organising tours for us. Every member of staff was pleasant and cheerful and always seemed really glad to see you which made us feel so at home.

Breakfast was really nice with a cold buffet with meats, cheeses, pastries, yogurts and cereals but the lovely cook made delicious cooked breakfasts too.

The staff left cookies or sweets by your bed for when you returned in the evening which was lovely and one night they left us a bottle of champagne and decorated our room with rose petals as recognition of our honeymoon - a really nice touch.

Drinks and nibbles are available in the lounge during the evening and this proved really useful as we met lots of fellow guests and shared tips on what to do and which restaurants to visit.

The hotel is within walking distance of some great restaurants, in particular Millers Thumb, and we felt safe walking in the area immediately around the hotel although when we got more than a few streets away we did start to feel a bit less comfortable so we would recommend taxis if visiting further afield.

All in all this hotel was great and if you get the opportunity please stay here, you won't regret it. We'll definitely be back when we next visit Cape Town.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Kips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
City Bowl
More Quarters Hotel
More Quarters Hotel
#9 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cadogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cadogan

Property: Cape Cadogan
Address: 5 Upper Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Cadogan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a rare combination of historic exteriors with classic modern bohemian interiors, it was ‘Victorianised’ in 1912 and declared a National Monument in 1984. Its charm and character is matched with its desirable location amongst the popular restaurants, street cafes and stylish boutique shops of Kloof Street, the heart of Cape Town. More Cape Cadogan is owned and managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cape Cadogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cape Cadogan Hotel Cape Town Central
The Cape Town Cadogan
The Hotel Cape Town
Cape Cadogan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing