We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay in Cape Town”
Review of Cape Cadogan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Cadogan
Ranked #13 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2010

This is a brilliant hotel. It's a very rare find - great location, great staff, great rooms, great breakfasts, but above all the ambience of the place is just right and we felt very relaxed and welcome staying here.

I think I can sum it up by saying that when I go back to Cape Town, I don't think I will want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SW75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2010

We had high expectations for the Cape Cadogan based on the pre-trip research we had done and we certainly weren't disappointed. Granted, being upgraded to the stunning Owner's Villa next door didn't hurt but even if we had stayed in the (luxury) room we'd booked, we think our experience would have been equally positive. We loved the location - walking just half a block to Kloof Street with its numerous excellent restaurants and shops - was a big plus after a long day of sightseeing. The personal attention from the staff and the beautifully decorated public rooms made us feel as though we were at a weekend house party. Breakfast on the patio (or inside) was quite good - fresh fruit, cereals, freshly baked muffins, cheese, meats, etc and several choices of cooked breakfast were on offer. Safe parking, too! We would definitely return here in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Cleanliness - spotless and brand new fittings so no complaints. We stayed in one of the apartments a few side streets from the main hotel and it seemed to have recently been finished. All the fittings and decor were very white so imagine they will need a lot of maintenance as so not to look dirty and dated

Location - within walking distance of the major sites and close to Table Mountain. Plenty of places to eat nearby. It couldn't be much better

The apartment we stayed in was on the ground floor, which I didn't like so much although there was plenty of security and a railings surrounding the property. Security aside, it felt a little penned in. If I were to go back I would request a first floor apartment or the main hotel

Rooms - The apartment had everything that we needed and remember thinking that if I had to stay in the city for a number of months it would have been perfect. The kitchen had all the mod cons and was integrated well with the living room, which in turn had a great entertainment system and room to sit around. The bathroom had a wetroom-style shower and the bed was perfectly comfortable. The whole place had plenty of lighting but not a huge amount of natural light, although I think this would have been better had we been on the top floor.

Service - We didn't need a huge amount since we were based in an apartment although security and cleaning was excellent. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and made it their prerogative to get to know us and offer lots of advice on the city.

Value - It provided a value alternative to some of the well-known luxury hotels in the Cape Town.

Sleep quality - no complaints; nice, comfortable bed and quiet room that wasn't overlooked.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bermondsey_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We enjoyed a 2 night stay here at the end of our trip.We loved our large room and equally large bathroom.Turn down service is a nice touch -especially the little cookies and fudge.The breakfast was substantial and the staff very helpful and friendly.A very nice end to a very nice holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pearlcatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Beautiful boutique hotel, we had room 7 and enjoyed every part of our stay from evening drinks and chocolates, a plunge in the pool, attentive staff both day/night from the front gate to the reception, delicious breakfasts and friendly advice and recomendations. We would stay there again and again! Great location only a stones through from Afternoon Tea at the Mount Nelson and local restaurants. As it was our Wedding Anniversary we were treated to a bottle of fizz, red rose and chocs...need I say more! Book now, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelfunLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

The hotel exudes a calm serenity and soothing , effortless welcome and overall service plus the important personal touch. One felt as though you actually mattered to the staff and that they were pleased to offer the support or guidance needed e.g. not only did staff securely store our luggage until the evening of our departure, but also laid on a room in which we could shower and change into clean clothes prior to our flight home.
We will certainly look forward to our next visit there.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nissanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Lovely decor, room #3 was large with huge bath and private patio, delicious breakfast, wonderful service, a a quiet home-like setting away from tourist attractions, tremendous help with tours and restaurant reservations, love Cape Cadogan!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBB610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,423 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,574 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,293 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,857 reviews
City Bowl
More Quarters Hotel
More Quarters Hotel
#9 of 110 in Cape Town Central
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cadogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cadogan

Address: 5 Upper Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £184 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Cadogan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a rare combination of historic exteriors with classic modern bohemian interiors, it was ‘Victorianised’ in 1912 and declared a National Monument in 1984. Its charm and character is matched with its desirable location amongst the popular restaurants, street cafes and stylish boutique shops of Kloof Street, the heart of Cape Town. More Cape Cadogan is owned and managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Cadogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cape Cadogan Hotel Cape Town Central
The Cape Town Cadogan
The Hotel Cape Town
Cape Cadogan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing