We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cape Cadogan
Nearby Hotels
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$892
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$495
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$173
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
US$631
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$498
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$349
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$321
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (757)
Filter reviews
757 results
Traveller rating
595
127
21
13
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
595
127
21
13
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskloof streetour honeymoontable mountainhot water bottlesprivate courtyardplunge pooldouble showercharming boutique hotelgreat boutiquebreakfast room isluxury roomwithin walking distancesmall hotelthree nightssouth africa tripfirst stopeach evening
Filter
Updating list...
627 - 632 of 757 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2007

I had high hopes for the Cape Cadogan after reading the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor, but I was very disappointed. Quite in contrast to the photos online, the Cadogan feels like a large house that has been superficially renovated to become a subpar guesthouse. The staff is nice though unprofessional at times. The front desk staff leaves at 5pm each day, leaving only security on duty which proves difficult if you need to receive phone calls in your room or make dinner reservations. I could not receive telephone calls in the room. The power went out in the entire house when someone used a hairdryer. There is only one computer and the internet connection is very slow. The TV has very limited channels. The lounge areas are small and not very functional. The windows provide little soundproofing and the walls are thin. Cadogan is located on a hilly street, so if you are in one of the front-facing rooms, you will hear cars zooming up and down the hill all night and day. I did not feel particularly safe - they do have security, but I personally would feel safer in a larger hotel. While the bathroom did have a good shower, the lighting in the bathroom (and the room) was very poor and the air conditioning didn't work very well. If you are looking for a quality establishment in Cape Town, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Anonymous123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuyMore, Owner at Cape Cadogan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2007

We take great pride in our guest experience and when it does not exceed their expectation we try and determine all areas where we have dissappointed and hence the detailed response. The Hotel is a converted historic Cape Town house and we have done all that is possible to retain the essence of the national monument building yet bring in a chic, sophisticated and upmarket feel to the Hotel. Our front office staff are on duty from 07h00 to 22h00 hours where after they are replaced by our night guest porter to ensure the reception is serviced 24 hours in the day. The front office staff have during June & July, been on a restaurant educational program ensuring they have personally experienced all the restaurants we recommend to our guests. During Winter in Cape Town and the unfortunate amount of rain that was received we do experience interruptions with the power supply however these are fortunately short lived. We are seeking professional advice so this will be avoided in winter 2008. The computer in the library is available to guests 24 hour every day and there is no charge for this service. We feel that with only 12 rooms this is sufficient however the comment is noted. The Cape Cadogan is a typical boutique hotel which offers the benefits and character of a small unique property with a historical feel yet highly personalised and upmarket guest experience. We cannot offer all the added comforts and facilities of a larger more typical luxury Hotel however we try and make up for it in our attention to being boutique. Robert More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2007

Located just off of Kloof street, a street lined with different restaurants, the Cape Cadogan is a well-run, immaculate, and intimate guest house. It has the feel of a designer boutique inn.

The rooms were stunning and spacious, with large marble-clad bathrooms sporting separate soaking tub and rainshower. Our room, number 8, had two rainshower heads and a double vanity with ample storage space. Some of the other rooms we saw had only one showerhead and one sink, but still had the same design aesthetic. The toiletries were generously sized.

The lines at this hotel were clean and crisp, with a beachy feel. There is a small plunge pool in the courtyard area, and a pretty breakfast area, where they serve a buffet and/or hot food in the morning. The breakfast here was really very good.

The service was outstanding, with helpful, friendly 24-hour staff, along with seamless housekeeping service. There was a nice turndown service as well.

The hotel is located on a residential street, a little off the beaten path (i.e. not the touristy waterfront area). You can walk to restaurants on Kloof Street. The waterfront is no more than a 12 minute (3 dollar) cab ride away.

The only negative we saw was a lack of heating for the bathroom area (though this was a problem across South Africa)--there was only one heating unit for the entire room.

All in all, this is an excellent choice in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank qaz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2007

My husband and I stayed at Cape Cadogan for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon. It was breathtakingly beautiful and chic. The service was immaculate and personal. We really couldn't have asked for anything more. The rooms were exceptionally spacious and comfortable (the bathroom was pure luxury!), cleanliness was to the highest degree, and the decor extremely tasteful. The hotel is also well located amongst a strip of local restaurants. We really thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this beautiful little hotel. It rates as one of the best hotels i have ever stayed at.
Enjoy!
Shazia

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank skqureshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2007

My wife & I recently spent three nights in Cape Town, South Africa on
business & having been to that fine city on numerous occassions, & being somewhat jaundiced & tired of staying in large hotels, we were looking for boutique accommodation in an easy -to-get-to & secure location, with good amenities close by.

After scouring countless websites we chose the Cape Cadogan, which is located on Upper Union Street, not a short block from the ´trendy´
Kloof restaurant district.

As we were to find out the many choices of quality dining are close-by, down Upper Union Street no more than 50m to the corner one is confronted by a wonderful seafood restaurant, then there´s an equally
marvellous Italian restaurant on Kloof, only a short stroll a block up the main road at most .

And the Cape Cadogan property - well, what a superb boutique historic hotel it truly is.

Small, intimate to the point of giving the ambiance of a private ´home´ this historically protected location has a beautifully chosen colour scheme & design of fixtures & fittings; wonderfully appointed serene public areas( the library which has a guest PC internet set-up & a seperate guest lounge); delightful breakfast area with seating inside, or out on the patio amongst wild olive trees with a garden styled setting overlooking the plunge pool.

Breakfast consisiting of platter after platter of fresh fruits, cereals, yoghurts, fresh squeezed fruit juices, cold meat selections & cheeses set out on a sumptious buffet, then a cooked selection of choices of any styled eggs, tomatoes, bacon, sausages & mushrooms that one orders a la carte with tea, coffee & croissants or toast, is included in the nightly tarriff & in itself was more than sufficient that you certainly don´t feel like indulging in eating lunch.

In all the property has 11 guests rooms & an adjacent ´owners cottage´.

We stayed in Room #3, a downstairs location which has a huge canopy bed & a bathroom you could pratically hold a basketball game in it is so big, along with a full sized 2m bathtub, twin his & her side-by-side basins & a walk in shower complete with an L shaped tiled seat around two sides & two of the old style ´deluge´ showerheads.

Quite aside from the many personal amenities provided in the bathroom, the huge old fashioned showerheads are a very welcome plus after we in the past, have suffered all too many hotel ´drip´ showerheads that barely dispense water to a third of your body.

Our bedroom & bathroom both had a 3.5m high ´old-style´ ceiling & they opened onto a high-walled encased private patio, with a table & chairs & small tinkling fountain.

It´s the ´little special touches´ that Cape Cadogan offers which are the sorts of things we seasoned travellers will remember - such as every evening a decanter of port brandy & another of sherry & a platter of gloriously displayed chocolates (so nicely presented it was almost to the point you didn´t want to disturb the platter - but we did!) is set up in the guest lounge for residents.

And the Cape Cadogan staff - in a word ´amazing´ from Reception to breakfast area, service staff & Management alike. Attentive to one´s every need with a charm & personalized grace that in so many places in our all too busy world, is long a thing of the past.

To quote but one example, on the morning we arrived & were checking in, my wife split a tooth in half, chewing on a candy. She was in agony & that was at 1100hrs. Now truly, where else in the world would you have a Duty Manager take charge & ring their own personal dentist, to effect have my wife seated in his studio chair at 1130hrs, undergoing emergency treatment ?

As we had a rental vehicle we found Cape Cadogan an ideal secure location in-so-much-as it provided easy parking either directly outside or, in the property driveway. They have a doorman who is on duty 24 x 7 so irrespective of how late we returned, there was somebody there to meet you.

From our perspective Cape Cadogan is a glorious boutique property that ´over-delivered´ every single thing it displays on it´s website & so much more.

To be sure it is a place that based on our wonderful 4 days & 3 nights we wish to herald as being a true ´hidden gem´ & if your travels take you to Cape Town, South Africa & you are a discerning traveller who has had quite enough of the big impersonal chain hotels & you are looking for some long overdue pampering, then Cape Cadogan we would suggest is ideal for you.

Allan & Muriel Falck
Buenos Aires
Argentina

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Echeverria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2007

A real gem hidden away from the bustle of Cape Town's busy main streets but in turn, within walking distance of them. The main building is a great colonial house that has been sympathetically modernised to a very high standard and then ouside are a couple of mediterranean style courtyards flanking the stunning Owners Villa. The room was fantastic with high ceilings and one of the best bathrooms you`ll find in a hotel. This has to be the closest you'll get to a classic british 5* Town House hotel in Africa!! Really is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank UK_FlyerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews