We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll be back!”
Review of Cape Cadogan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cape Cadogan
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
Reviewed 4 September 2007

My wife and I recently spent our holiday at this beautiful historical hideaway in Cape Town. The hotel is located in an upmarket area in Cape Town with some amazing street cafes, book shops and antique shops. The location to the waterfront is great as we didn't want to be near the hustle of the city and rather would prefer to stay in amongst the local capetonians. The hotel is warm and friendly without being imposing and in your face. The staff were helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them - on arriving back at the hotel after a full day of sight seeing we were met with sherry and chocolates waiting for us in front of the fireplace what an amazing end to a brilliant day! After our usual UK hotel experiences, the room that we were booked into was spacious, full of light and had the nicest bathrooms I have ever seen. This was our third South Africa trip but first to the Cape Cadogan and will definitely return and recommend to anyone traveling to Cape Town.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MyHolidayPlans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    118
    20
    12
    1
See reviews for
53
517
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2007

I recently took my partner to Cape Town on our annual holiday. I really wanted to take her somewhere very special with charm and character. I booked the Cape Cadogan hotel via their website and was blown away by the service received by the reservations team. They responded to my requests and questions promptly and exceeded my expectations. The time that we spent at the hotel was out of this world, it was just what we were looking for, the staff we unbelievable and really made us feel as if we were the only guests in the hotel. We have already decided that we would love to visit the hotel again if we can ever manage to visit this beautiful city again. I can highly recommend this hotel for those who are looking for a boutique hotel and that personal touch.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank JoziTraveller777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2007

I had high hopes for the Cape Cadogan after reading the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor, but I was very disappointed. Quite in contrast to the photos online, the Cadogan feels like a large house that has been superficially renovated to become a subpar guesthouse. The staff is nice though unprofessional at times. The front desk staff leaves at 5pm each day, leaving only security on duty which proves difficult if you need to receive phone calls in your room or make dinner reservations. I could not receive telephone calls in the room. The power went out in the entire house when someone used a hairdryer. There is only one computer and the internet connection is very slow. The TV has very limited channels. The lounge areas are small and not very functional. The windows provide little soundproofing and the walls are thin. Cadogan is located on a hilly street, so if you are in one of the front-facing rooms, you will hear cars zooming up and down the hill all night and day. I did not feel particularly safe - they do have security, but I personally would feel safer in a larger hotel. While the bathroom did have a good shower, the lighting in the bathroom (and the room) was very poor and the air conditioning didn't work very well. If you are looking for a quality establishment in Cape Town, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Anonymous123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuyMore, Owner at Cape Cadogan, responded to this review, 21 August 2007
We take great pride in our guest experience and when it does not exceed their expectation we try and determine all areas where we have dissappointed and hence the detailed response. The Hotel is a converted historic Cape Town house and we have done all that is possible to retain the essence of the national monument building yet bring in a chic, sophisticated and upmarket feel to the Hotel. Our front office staff are on duty from 07h00 to 22h00 hours where after they are replaced by our night guest porter to ensure the reception is serviced 24 hours in the day. The front office staff have during June & July, been on a restaurant educational program ensuring they have personally experienced all the restaurants we recommend to our guests. During Winter in Cape Town and the unfortunate amount of rain that was received we do experience interruptions with the power supply however these are fortunately short lived. We are seeking professional advice so this will be avoided in winter 2008. The computer in the library is available to guests 24 hour every day and there is no charge for this service. We feel that with only 12 rooms this is sufficient however the comment is noted. The Cape Cadogan is a typical boutique hotel which offers the benefits and character of a small unique property with a historical feel yet highly personalised and upmarket guest experience. We cannot offer all the added comforts and facilities of a larger more typical luxury Hotel however we try and make up for it in our attention to being boutique. Robert More
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
90 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2007

Located just off of Kloof street, a street lined with different restaurants, the Cape Cadogan is a well-run, immaculate, and intimate guest house. It has the feel of a designer boutique inn.

The rooms were stunning and spacious, with large marble-clad bathrooms sporting separate soaking tub and rainshower. Our room, number 8, had two rainshower heads and a double vanity with ample storage space. Some of the other rooms we saw had only one showerhead and one sink, but still had the same design aesthetic. The toiletries were generously sized.

The lines at this hotel were clean and crisp, with a beachy feel. There is a small plunge pool in the courtyard area, and a pretty breakfast area, where they serve a buffet and/or hot food in the morning. The breakfast here was really very good.

The service was outstanding, with helpful, friendly 24-hour staff, along with seamless housekeeping service. There was a nice turndown service as well.

The hotel is located on a residential street, a little off the beaten path (i.e. not the touristy waterfront area). You can walk to restaurants on Kloof Street. The waterfront is no more than a 12 minute (3 dollar) cab ride away.

The only negative we saw was a lack of heating for the bathroom area (though this was a problem across South Africa)--there was only one heating unit for the entire room.

All in all, this is an excellent choice in Cape Town.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank qaz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2007

My husband and I stayed at Cape Cadogan for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon. It was breathtakingly beautiful and chic. The service was immaculate and personal. We really couldn't have asked for anything more. The rooms were exceptionally spacious and comfortable (the bathroom was pure luxury!), cleanliness was to the highest degree, and the decor extremely tasteful. The hotel is also well located amongst a strip of local restaurants. We really thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this beautiful little hotel. It rates as one of the best hotels i have ever stayed at.
Enjoy!
Shazia

  • Liked — gorgeous rooms
  • Disliked — no complaints at all
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank skqureshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2007

My wife & I recently spent three nights in Cape Town, South Africa on
business & having been to that fine city on numerous occassions, & being somewhat jaundiced & tired of staying in large hotels, we were looking for boutique accommodation in an easy -to-get-to & secure location, with good amenities close by.

After scouring countless websites we chose the Cape Cadogan, which is located on Upper Union Street, not a short block from the ´trendy´
Kloof restaurant district.

As we were to find out the many choices of quality dining are close-by, down Upper Union Street no more than 50m to the corner one is confronted by a wonderful seafood restaurant, then there´s an equally
marvellous Italian restaurant on Kloof, only a short stroll a block up the main road at most .

And the Cape Cadogan property - well, what a superb boutique historic hotel it truly is.

Small, intimate to the point of giving the ambiance of a private ´home´ this historically protected location has a beautifully chosen colour scheme & design of fixtures & fittings; wonderfully appointed serene public areas( the library which has a guest PC internet set-up & a seperate guest lounge); delightful breakfast area with seating inside, or out on the patio amongst wild olive trees with a garden styled setting overlooking the plunge pool.

Breakfast consisiting of platter after platter of fresh fruits, cereals, yoghurts, fresh squeezed fruit juices, cold meat selections & cheeses set out on a sumptious buffet, then a cooked selection of choices of any styled eggs, tomatoes, bacon, sausages & mushrooms that one orders a la carte with tea, coffee & croissants or toast, is included in the nightly tarriff & in itself was more than sufficient that you certainly don´t feel like indulging in eating lunch.

In all the property has 11 guests rooms & an adjacent ´owners cottage´.

We stayed in Room #3, a downstairs location which has a huge canopy bed & a bathroom you could pratically hold a basketball game in it is so big, along with a full sized 2m bathtub, twin his & her side-by-side basins & a walk in shower complete with an L shaped tiled seat around two sides & two of the old style ´deluge´ showerheads.

Quite aside from the many personal amenities provided in the bathroom, the huge old fashioned showerheads are a very welcome plus after we in the past, have suffered all too many hotel ´drip´ showerheads that barely dispense water to a third of your body.

Our bedroom & bathroom both had a 3.5m high ´old-style´ ceiling & they opened onto a high-walled encased private patio, with a table & chairs & small tinkling fountain.

It´s the ´little special touches´ that Cape Cadogan offers which are the sorts of things we seasoned travellers will remember - such as every evening a decanter of port brandy & another of sherry & a platter of gloriously displayed chocolates (so nicely presented it was almost to the point you didn´t want to disturb the platter - but we did!) is set up in the guest lounge for residents.

And the Cape Cadogan staff - in a word ´amazing´ from Reception to breakfast area, service staff & Management alike. Attentive to one´s every need with a charm & personalized grace that in so many places in our all too busy world, is long a thing of the past.

To quote but one example, on the morning we arrived & were checking in, my wife split a tooth in half, chewing on a candy. She was in agony & that was at 1100hrs. Now truly, where else in the world would you have a Duty Manager take charge & ring their own personal dentist, to effect have my wife seated in his studio chair at 1130hrs, undergoing emergency treatment ?

As we had a rental vehicle we found Cape Cadogan an ideal secure location in-so-much-as it provided easy parking either directly outside or, in the property driveway. They have a doorman who is on duty 24 x 7 so irrespective of how late we returned, there was somebody there to meet you.

From our perspective Cape Cadogan is a glorious boutique property that ´over-delivered´ every single thing it displays on it´s website & so much more.

To be sure it is a place that based on our wonderful 4 days & 3 nights we wish to herald as being a true ´hidden gem´ & if your travels take you to Cape Town, South Africa & you are a discerning traveller who has had quite enough of the big impersonal chain hotels & you are looking for some long overdue pampering, then Cape Cadogan we would suggest is ideal for you.

Allan & Muriel Falck
Buenos Aires
Argentina

  • Liked — Location, old-style ambiance & the staff
  • Disliked — Having to leave to go home!
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Echeverria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2007

A real gem hidden away from the bustle of Cape Town's busy main streets but in turn, within walking distance of them. The main building is a great colonial house that has been sympathetically modernised to a very high standard and then ouside are a couple of mediterranean style courtyards flanking the stunning Owners Villa. The room was fantastic with high ceilings and one of the best bathrooms you`ll find in a hotel. This has to be the closest you'll get to a classic british 5* Town House hotel in Africa!! Really is a great place to stay.

  • Liked — It's not in the Waterfront!!!!
  • Disliked — Some people may not like having a restaurant "on site" but many nearby
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank UK_FlyerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cadogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cadogan

Property: Cape Cadogan
Address: 5 Upper Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Cadogan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a rare combination of historic exteriors with classic modern bohemian interiors, it was ‘Victorianised’ in 1912 and declared a National Monument in 1984. Its charm and character is matched with its desirable location amongst the popular restaurants, street cafes and stylish boutique shops of Kloof Street, the heart of Cape Town. More Cape Cadogan is owned and managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, South African Hotels, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cape Cadogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cape Cadogan Hotel Cape Town Central
The Cape Town Cadogan
The Hotel Cape Town
Cape Cadogan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing