We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish boutique hotel, an oasis of tranquility in CapeTown”
Review of Cape Cadogan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Cadogan
Ranked #13 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We stayed just one night in this glorious hotel at the end of our trip to Cape Twon. It is in an old colonial-style building in the bowl area of Cape Tawon - definitely walkable to the centre and in a lively area.

The staff were incredibly helpful and attedntive - well beyond the usual standard. We really felt welcome and looked after. We were able to stay in our room well after check out time. ots of useful advice abouit what to see and what was open.

most other guests seemed to be on thier honeyroom or major wedding anniversaries - that says it all.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicols_Altrincham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (730)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

514 - 520 of 730 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2011

Cape Cadogan is an absolutely lovely place. It was one of the few hotels that still had rooms during the World Cup in June 2010. The rates were rather pricey, but the service is top notch and very personalized. The hand-written welcome card that came with the fruits and bottle of port is a great touch.

Rooms are absolutely fantastic, and so are the baths. If you can get the chance, request for room #8, it has a balcony that offers a clear view of Table Mountain, a large room and an even larger bathroom. The balcony and bathroom can get very chilly during the winter, though.

Breakfast is a treat. You can choose to eat from the buffet or order from their set menu. Or, you may choose to have both to satisfy your morning cravings! The set menu is served piping hot and presented to you with a smile from the very friendly kitchen staff.

Although lunch and dinner are not available, you can easily choose to eat out. The Cadogan is located in the Gardens, a lovely little area that's safe. Not too commercial, not too secluded. It gives you the common feel of Cape Town life. There is a grocery and lots of dining areas (including Nando's) within walking distance from the hotel. The area is quite safe, and the Cadogan always has security personnel. If you don't feel like venturing out, the concierge is more than willing to help you with ordering from your restaurant of choice. They will also set your room dining table for you.

As for amenities, the room has a flat screen TV, phone, desk, safe, dining area, and internet connection is provided through a prepaid ISP. There is free internet at the library, where guests can borrow books (in english and french), dailies and magazines. The Cadogan also features a sitting room with a large fire place, perfect for those mid-winter June visits. There is a garden area with a little pool.

The staff is very friendly, warm and welcoming. Even the night shift personnel welcome you with a smile. Coming back after a particularly late match, the security personnel and front desk crew were absolutely warm and friendly. It goes well with the personalized feel of the service. At the end of our stay, we feel like we know each of the staff at Cadogan. It felt like home, where people know you by name.

Making Cape Town our introduction to South Africa, and staying in Cape Cadogan for those crucial first few days, helped us relax from the long flight, and helped us acclimatize to the new culture. Great personalized service, & we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Footsac17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2010

We stayed at the Cape Cadogan for the first 3 nights of our honeymoon and our experience was amazing - the staff was very friendly, all attention was paid to detail -- they welcomed us with lemonade and cupcakes, they set up the room every night at the perfect sleeping conditions before we came back in (AC, all curtains shut, a small paper with the weather forecast for the next day, etc), the breakfast was not only amazing but full of different delicious warm options to be prepared at our request, delicious port, chocolates and cashews were served at the lobby every evening.
The only small complaint is the poor internet access.
We look forward to returning to this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celiacelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

beautiful hotel, nice location, terrific room, particularly nice bathroom, friendly and helpful staff

Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Janice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

We would thoroughly recommend Cape Cadogan as a base for seeing Cape Town and surrounds. The staff were welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was lovely and the sherry/port at 7.00 pm delightful. The trip organised by Daniel for us with Jamie was truly memorable. We enjoyed a comfortable room with all the facilities you expect from a first class hotel.

Lynn & Norman

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireDylan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

I really liked everything about this hotel.. It has very comfortable sitting areas and the staff were all really nice and helpful. The only thing I didn't like was my room location, next to the front desk area. They tried to make it quiet with double doors to the hallway but the room was on the small side and I felt a little weird going in and out of my room in the front hallway.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susie32654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Only stayed here for one night, but without hesitation I would stay again and recommend it. The staff are very competent and helpful and were graciously able to accommodate a very late check out (after 6pm). The rooms have lovely high ceilings and pleasing original details, and the bathroom contained the largest shower I've ever seen. A really good, relaxed ambience.

The location is also superb as you can walk to any number of bars or restaurants. If you feel you must go to the Waterfront then it's a 5-minute cab ride (but don't you have shopping malls at home?).

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djbenedict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,441 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,623 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,879 reviews
MannaBay
#3 of 110 in Cape Town Central
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Cadogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Cadogan

Address: 5 Upper Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £175 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Cadogan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a rare combination of historic exteriors with classic modern bohemian interiors, it was ‘Victorianised’ in 1912 and declared a National Monument in 1984. Its charm and character is matched with its desirable location amongst the popular restaurants, street cafes and stylish boutique shops of Kloof Street, the heart of Cape Town. More Cape Cadogan is owned and managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Cadogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cape Cadogan Hotel Cape Town Central
The Cape Town Cadogan
The Hotel Cape Town
Cape Cadogan Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing