We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a guest house”
Review of Floreal House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Floreal House
Ranked #65 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“More than a guest house”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The accommodation is spacious and well furnished. The staff are extremely friendly and the food was wonderful, (the muffins were to die for). We were even allowed onto their own computer to check our emails. We did find the position of the guest house a little out of the way, as we did not have our own transport, being part of a tour, and had to travel by taxi every evening when going out for dinner. This disappointed two single ladies travelling on their own, whom we met. Also, it seemed odd not to have any staff on duty in the evening apart from the security guy on the gate who was very helpful.

If we returned to South Africa and had our own rental car, we would certainly stay at the Floreal again.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank moe45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    23
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
41
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Located in the Oranjezicht district of Cape Town which is a very pretty area. It has a fancy Italian cafe next door. We stayed at Room 8 which was nice and large. The staff were very friendly.

PROS:
1. Great breakfasts especially the muffins. Complimentary muscadet is available all the time.

2. Room was well decorated with plenty of room.

CONS:

a) The B&B is not walking distance to the tourist attractions of the V&A Waterfront or Table Mountain. You will need to take a taxi but its not very expensive

b) We stayed at Room 8 which is right next to the entrance. This means that your sleeps gets interrupted every time one of the guests comes back from a big night. The B&B has nice wooden floors but unfortunately it means that you can hear every step from your neighbour upstairs

c) Lots of stairs which may be an issue for the mobility impaired

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HongKongDivemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Beautiful accommodation in the perfect location. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and comfortable, and the views couldn’t be beat. The breakfast was great (buffet cold breakfast and cooked-to-order hot breakfast) and the staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely recommend this place to any future travelers looking for a bed & breakfast in a great area of Cape Town.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

For a 4-star hotel, the family apartment is really poor. 2 kids had to sleep on a sleeping-couch which was way too short, the adultroom was small and besides that the only way to the bathroom. Next to the apartment renovation works were going on!
Friendly people, good breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rakkertjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Great B&B at the foot of table mountain, service is superb and very freindly . Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veiutotravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

This guesthouse is amazing!Such friendly people, who make your stay comfortable. Location at de foot of table mountain and a few min drive to the center. Great atmosphere, delicious breakfast. We really would come here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanjaap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

A lovely setting, spotlessly clean, excellent food, friendly staff and the most amazingly comfortable pillows on the huge king sized bed. Our every wish was met, it really was service with a smile. The food was really good and, although we won our stay as a prize, we did, of course, look up to see how much things would have cost us ... and everything was very reasonably priced. Despite it being the middle of the SA winter the pool looked very inviting. The view of Table Mountain from our room window was spectacular.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 155 in Cape Town Central
623 reviews
Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apar...
#7 of 155 in Cape Town Central
257 reviews
Cultivar Guest Lodge
#8 of 51 in Stellenbosch
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Southern Comfort Guest Lodge
Southern Comfort Guest Lodge
#84 of 155 in Cape Town Central
79 reviews
City Bowl
De Tafelberg Guesthouse
De Tafelberg Guesthouse
#58 of 155 in Cape Town Central
99 reviews
Number5 Guesthouse
#36 of 155 in Cape Town Central
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floreal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floreal House

Property: Floreal House
Address: 26 Upper Orange Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Floreal House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Floreal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floreal House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing