We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enthralling Attraction whether rugby fan or not ”

The Springbok Experience Rugby Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$99.37*
and up
Cape Town City Pass including 3-Day Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Springbok Experience was nominated for the International Award in the 2014 Museum + Heritage Awards in the UK after opening on SA's Heritage Day in September 2013. It is a world-class, modern interactive museum telling South Africa’s story through the eyes of its most powerful sport. It's a fun and entertaining experience for the whole family and is a ‘must-do’ attraction at the heart of the V&A Waterfront in Cape Town.The museum features more than 60 audiovisual displays where visitors can watch the history of South African rugby unfold, set among cases displaying historic objects such as famous trophies, jerseys, boots and other memorabilia. It makes a perfect venue for exclusive corporate events as well. And there are games for children and adults alike where they can test their kicking, passing, fitness and reaction skills in the interactive ‘Springbok Trials’ games zone.There’s also a flagship Springbok Concept Store for those who just want to shop. The Springbok Experience is a museum – but much more than that.If you’re wondering what to do in Cape Town, you must visit the Springbok Experience.
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

I like rugby but not a die hard fan so was not sure how much I was going to enjoy the attraction when friends arranged a visit. I was also expecting a shrine to Danie Craven. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised from the beginning to the very end. When you enter there are interactive games which are very entertaining and physically challenging. These games were very impressive and would be. great wow factor for the kids, I would imagine the games could keep kids and adults busy for more than an hour. Then on the first floor on for the museum material. Each display is technologically driven, very cool. One display to Danie Craven and that's all. Lots of information on politics of rugby in terms of separate development for the different groups. The movie at the end was a grand finale. Amazed at the level technological sophistication found at the museum , would be of interest even to non rugby fans. Words of advise, chose to visit when the attraction is not going to be busy so that you can enjoy every facet of the museum and take your time to enjoy. Very well the entrance fee.

Thank TravelFeetZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy C, General Manager at The Springbok Experience Rugby Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

DearTravelFeetZA, great to have the review of such a well-travelled TripAdvisor contributor and thanks for the thorough description of what visitors can find. We think we have fun, wow and plenty of interactivity and for the real rugby aficionado it can make for an absorbing few hours. Visitors can call ahead if they want to check ahead to find a time when they could have the place pretty much to themselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

308 - 312 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

Well exceeded my expectations. I am not really a museum person but I could easily have spent 2 hours there. The interactive part was good, but the playbacks and history were the highlight. It is also remarkable how many original artefacts are on display. I went with a group of mates and we all enjoyed it - I left feeling inspired.

Thank SteveOOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy C, General Manager at The Springbok Experience Rugby Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear SteveOOS, thanks for the review and we're very pleased to have exceeded your expectations. We like to think of ourselves as not so much a museum, but as an Experience, where the non-museum person (such as yourself) or the non-rugby fan will still get real value from a visit because of the range of stories and activities that we offer and the different mediums in which we deliver them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our daughter does not like rugby however she loved (as did the rest of us) the interactive element. If you are even slightly competitive you will be hooked! There are no boring facts and all the information is relevant...however as my son and I noted the emphasis is slightly one eyed as it would appear the Boks have never lost!! There is no mention of the British Lions in 1997 or the re entry to international rugby that was less than successful in the early 90's. That said it is great value for money (£8 for a family ticket) and the film at the end and Francois Pienaar's interviews alone are worth the entry fee. There are also free lockers available to leave all your bags and coats in which was a great touch.

Thank Mbelcher609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy C, General Manager at The Springbok Experience Rugby Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Mbelcher609, thanks very much for the review and we're so glad that your yet-to-be-converted-to-rugby daughter (as we'd like to think of her) had some fun with us. OK, maybe you caught us out on the one-eyed thing and '97 Lions but, in all seriousness, the design was shaped as a celebration of South African rugby and follows the major themes, rather individual series. We did though find a place for the '74 Lions, whose tour was a seminal moment in SA's rugby history. Thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very average! Expected more for the entrance fee you pay! Thank goodness you could get a free beer at a local pub and grub at the Waterfront if you show the entrance ticket! Very political with past and present wrongs or rights! Very little of Danie Gerber the best Springbok center in the world ever! Maybe it will be suitable for the younger generation

Thank Christo v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy C, General Manager at The Springbok Experience Rugby Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear ChristoV, thanks for your review and the observations. When you're back in Cape Town we'd welcome you to visit again and speak to one of our staff who would take pleasure in giving you a personal tour. Danie Gerber - for instance - is one of legends identified in the final gallery and we have match action of him scoring tries for the Springboks in several places. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My son and I are rugby nuts and we loved this museum. Great interactive area for kids ( and adults) to test their skills and a really well laid out and interesting experience for the rugby fan with loads of great pieces of memorabilia. Very convenient (right at) the V and A Waterfront.

Thank sc47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy C, General Manager at The Springbok Experience Rugby Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear sc47, great to have rugby men from Canada with us and even better that you enjoyed the Experience. Hope you took enough to go back home with the Springboks as your second team behind the Canucks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Springbok Experience Rugby Museum also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Springbok Experience Rugby Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing