We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Long Street Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We had a really enjoyable stay here. Great self catering kitchen. Good staff. No hassle at all. Great pool table. Manager invited us out to a braii one night which was nice of him even though we couldn't go. Rooms weren't anything special but for the location we weren't in our rooms much.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alissaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

Really nice place to stay and is right in the heart of Cape Towns party area and Table Mountain. We checked in late due to late flight and even though our room was not available we were still dealt with in a very friendly manner and given an alternative room for that night. Made my stay in Cape Town so nice. Gave great advice for parking. We rented a car for our trip there as we were traveling quite a bit. Street parking is very secure but need to be there early in the evenings to get parking before the party goers take all available spaces.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This is a cozy, vibrant spot right in the heart of town. I loved it. All sorts of activities and events all within walking distance including a great nightlife. All of the staff was warm and attentive. This'll be the number-one spot I recommend to friends travelling through Cape Town.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012 via mobile

Great hostel, great stuff. Peoples are there from 20 to 60 years, male and female. A good point to be and to get to know other people from different countries. Thumbs up. Every day is a good day! I travelled on my own and it was the best decission to stay here. Planned several trips with the people there and had so much fun - just great!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ds2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The Backpackers is situated in the hart of Cape Town and thats were I wanted to be. The staff welcomed me with open arms. I was supposed to be there only for a week but stayed much longer. The best is probally the interaction with the guest,I met a lot of travellers from around the globe and from South Africa. Some great parties at the backpackers as well. For the young traveller traveling South Africa I'll recommmend staying a few nights.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hostel was more quite, but the party bunch is on the rooms facing Longstree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 250ashish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I was turned away at 6pm despite a booking from a week before because I could not produce my passport. Alternate forms of local identitification were refused without explanation. In fact the manager seemed intent on starting a fight. The requirement of producing a passport is not mentioned on their website and was mentioned only once in our email correspondence, but hidden away at the end of several paragraphs repeating the advertising guff on their website about how friendly the place is. I can't tell if i was unwelcome for being local, or for being an older woman not blonde enough, but I was not really surprised to find another reviewer who felt uncomfortable about the staff's racism. Of course if you're from outside the country, and hence automatically carrying your passport, and used to the majority of people around you being white, the place would seem innocuous enough and probably lots of fun.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank claire c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed there for two nights on my way to Bloemfontein and overall it was a good stay. The manager was friendly and helpful. Just upset that they did not put an extra bed in the room prior to my arrival but it was not the end of the world. Great location in long street with restaurants just outside your door step.
Thanks for accommodating us

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Obakeng M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
91 Loop
#16 of 128 in Cape Town Central
119 reviews
Never at Home Cape Town
#5 of 128 in Cape Town Central
340 reviews
Forty8 Backpackers Hotel
#53 of 128 in Cape Town Central
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 128 in Cape Town Central
684 reviews
City Bowl
The Backpack
The Backpack
#4 of 128 in Cape Town Central
697 reviews
City Bowl
Cape Town Backpackers
Cape Town Backpackers
#25 of 128 in Cape Town Central
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Street Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Street Backpackers

Address: 209 Long Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £11 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Long Street Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the Cheapest beer on Long Street & a Unforgettable Experience, you've found the right place!! 'If Long Street is the heart of Cape Town, then Long Street Backpackers is the soul, overflowing with creative energy and positive vibes.' - Coast to Coast Backpackers' Guide. We were established in 1993, the first hostel on Long Street. Ever since then it has been our pleasure to offer a sociable, fun atmosphere to our guests. Our free vegetable potjie (traditional stew), every Sunday evening, should not be missed. We have a large, self service kitchen, poolroom, bar, TV room with satellite TV and two big balconies to watch the world go by. Our dorms range from two beds to a maximum of 10 beds. We also have single, double or twin rooms. We can arrange all day tours,garden route tours, adventure tours, safari's, overland trips, car rental, Baz Bus tickets and much much more from our travel desk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Long Street Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Street Backpackers Hotel Cape Town Central
Long Street Backpackers Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing