We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent/Friendly/Awesome Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Long Street Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Long St. Backpackers is THE place to stay in Cape Town. Arriving at midnight, the staff was super friendly and helpful in getting me settled for my first time in Africa. The people you meet here are so genuine and there is always someone around to just chat with. In addition to the clean beds and bathrooms, this place has character you can't find in many other places. I have made some really great friends here.
The staff is always willing to help you from finding tours to book to advice on places to go. It is very hard to leave because of how amazing Long St. Backpackers is.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fatty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

lovely place were people get to socialize from day one,this is a beautiful hostel! this place make you feel at home..close to all parties areas and restaurants, you really feel like you wanna stay and comeback.. good people,lovely staffs, amazing view of the bokaap on the lower balcony.nice place to have fun

Room Tip: room number 12 and 4 single are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patyyebelavision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

First arriving in South Africa in Long Street Backpacker and since the first night, I already felt like home! Everybody is very friendly : receptionists, room mates as well as those two adorable cats. The rooms are really clean and the spatio such a nice place to chill in the end of the afternoon !
Long Street is also the best place to partying in downtown: there is bar and clubs all around the hostel.

Thanks LSB for this amazing time!

Room Tip: Rooms next to the street are not really quiet because of Long Street noises, the ones in the back mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clémantine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This place is awesome, great people, great hostel facilities, amazing location and so many interesting things to see and do in and around Cape Town! The Long Street Staff make everyone feel really welcome and within a few hours of checking in you feel like part of the family. There is loads of information about tours (wine tours, shark cage diving etc) and the managers can book everything for you at no extra cost. Weekends are great- there is usually a party going on at the bar inside the hostel, followed by everyone going out to the clubs on Long Street. Whether you are a lone traveler, or in a big group, this backpackers is definitely the best place to stay in Cape Town! There is free food every Sunday evening and the occasional Brai during the week which really helps the budget traveler! The is also a huge well equipped communal kitchen, a pool table, 2 great balconies overlooking Long Street, clean rooms, and lots of bathrooms. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone traveling through Cape Town and will definitely be going back there next year!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 319CRA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Best hostel I've ever been. It has a wonderful inside garden/terras place, superfriendly staff and nice rooms with balconys over Longstreet. When you walk inside, you instantly feel a chill and relaxed vibe. I stayed in SA for half a year to study, and every weekend I went to this hostel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 80travelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed at LSB for 7 nights, which I found was enough. I initially planned to spend just 3 nights there but made such awesome friends that I had to extend my stay. The staff are all very friendly, the bar is cheap, the beds are comfy and the place is generally very clean. The showers are also powerful which was a nice plus. Had a great time there and would recommend to anybody who goes to Cape Town alone and wants to make friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Dear LSB,

I had a couple of fantastic stays with you guys. (kept coming back). So easy to get to know everyone, and you guys really did become a Second Family to me whilst I was staying in CPT.
You can have every type of day at LSB. A hectic climbing day up table mountain/Lions head or a quite day in the courtyard reading. A calm drink at the bar ... OR ... a "CRAZY" night half naked at the bar and everyone also goes out together. This place is not about the rooms, that is if you ever make it back to yours, because you are too busy having a 'jol' to care. Managers - you are great (shout out for Gareth & Pathy). I always felt looked after, safe and HAPPY !
The people who stay are a complete mix, which I have found always works the best. Interesting and interested!

THANKS GUYS,
see you now

xx

Room Tip: Ask Gareth!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tessaharwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
91 Loop
#14 of 128 in Cape Town Central
119 reviews
Never at Home Cape Town
#5 of 128 in Cape Town Central
340 reviews
Forty8 Backpackers Hotel
#54 of 128 in Cape Town Central
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 128 in Cape Town Central
685 reviews
City Bowl
The Backpack
The Backpack
#4 of 128 in Cape Town Central
697 reviews
City Bowl
Cape Town Backpackers
Cape Town Backpackers
#27 of 128 in Cape Town Central
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Street Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Street Backpackers

Address: 209 Long Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £11 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Long Street Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the Cheapest beer on Long Street & a Unforgettable Experience, you've found the right place!! 'If Long Street is the heart of Cape Town, then Long Street Backpackers is the soul, overflowing with creative energy and positive vibes.' - Coast to Coast Backpackers' Guide. We were established in 1993, the first hostel on Long Street. Ever since then it has been our pleasure to offer a sociable, fun atmosphere to our guests. Our free vegetable potjie (traditional stew), every Sunday evening, should not be missed. We have a large, self service kitchen, poolroom, bar, TV room with satellite TV and two big balconies to watch the world go by. Our dorms range from two beds to a maximum of 10 beds. We also have single, double or twin rooms. We can arrange all day tours,garden route tours, adventure tours, safari's, overland trips, car rental, Baz Bus tickets and much much more from our travel desk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Long Street Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Street Backpackers Hotel Cape Town Central
Long Street Backpackers Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing