We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Long Street Backpackers
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Happy Rhino Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Long Street Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
The Pinnacle(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
St Martini Gardens(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Town Lodge(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
64
42
22
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
42
22
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong streetbo kaaptable mountainlsbhostelwaterfront
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2013

it is all about location this one.
good warm place and decent dorms.
but it is situated right in long street which is the place for all nightspots in cape town. table mountain is closeby.
i was looking for a cheapie and this didnt disappoint.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank humphreyappleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This place features in most guides on where to stay in CT. Its because it does it right. Its friendly, chilled and vibey with lots of places to either join in with a gang of new best friends for a game of beer-pong or retreat to a quiet spot to check your emails, read, watch tv or people-watch from the balcony. Its neat little kitchen and dining area is always clean. Braais happen when the demand is there, just bring along a steak or vegi kebab. Of course, being on Long St means you’re within walking distance of nearly everything you want to do in the city.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank carys m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Only stayed for one night but was very disappointed.

Basic rooms which didn't feel clean at all and 'shower' on the wall which was just a hose pointing outwards. May be a budget place to stay but you would have thought they could have spent a little bit of money keeping the place in good shape.

Were pleased to move elsewhere!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Longstreet Backpackers while staying in Cape Town.. It is definitely 1 of my favourite hostels to date! Gareth, Patti and the rest of the staff are so friendly and always try to get everyone in the hostel involved. The rooms are clean and the facilities are good. In the evenings the bar is a lot of fun and the drinks are cheap! The location is ideal and is situated right in the centre of longstreet close to everything you need. I would recommend the hostel to anyone looking to have a fun, chilled stay in Cape Town!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Lairec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

My friends and I stayed here on the first and last night of our trip to South Africa. Patti and Garrett were so nice and really good craic too!
The bar was so much fun and great value that we returned many nights after just to party with them!
The location couldn't be any better either.
I would highly recommend this place to all backpackers. We had many many memorable nights here and can't wait to go back again.
Three Irish girls

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank MaireadB89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews