We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dismal place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Mountain Backpackers
California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A dismal place to stay.”
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

I will preface this review by saying that if you are wanting to party on Long Street and don't care much for where you lay your head at night, this is a great place to stay.

But if you have even semi-decent standards for your accommodation, this place is not it. I have been travelling in South Africa for 2 weeks now, and this is the most dismal, cheerless place that I have come across. Everything is run down and dirty looking from the entrance, to the reception, to the pathetic excuse for a lounge (complete with ripped couches and dirty carpets). The floor in my room was sticky and the bedding looked about 50 years old and smelled unwashed to boot. The only bright spot was a very decent shared bathroom with great water pressure in the shower.

I arrived quite late and had already paid for one night so I stuck it out, but you can bet I was immediately researching other backpackers in the area and checked out first thing the next day.

The location of this place is brilliant, and the old Victorian it is housed in has a lot of charm, but its obvious that little to no money has been put into its upkeep and while it is very cheap, I am happily paying just a bit more to stay in a place with much better facilities.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelleyabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    16
    12
    5
    11
See reviews for
2
12
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jozi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

good times we had her place is safe and close to parties. WE stay in the dorm and had great nights out in the long street. The hostel has Tv room and balcony with nice people staying there. Our dorm room had only 4 beds in so it was great not to share with too many other people and get a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sifiso Setumile K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The place wasn't bad but it is very unsafe for your belongings, it is the staff not the guests who are stealing as we had a private room and it was locked the whole time.
We had different currencies stolen and we didn't realise it until we left Cape Town as they did it so sneakily, not even touching the big valuables like laptops and cameras and leaving some of the money in the bag so we wouldn't notice it was gone until we counted the notes.
If you are planning to stay here just be extra extra cautious of all your things, otherwise its an ok place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennyjennychungchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Don't stay here! We had a private room and the staff stole $700USD and they didn't even try to help! They did it so strategically and didn't touch the laptops and it was obviously somebody with a key, also with all the signs around about theft it obviously occurs often. I don't recommend this place at all plus it's so noisy!!

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kiran k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I stayed here for a couple of weeks and the service was excellent. The staff were very friendly (Candice and Sandy). They assist you quite well and are quite accommodative! Would for sure stay with them when I return to CT! The location is perfect as its on Long street. The best part is the balcony and in the evenings when they put the lights on, it feels like Christmas!

Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Shravanth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2012

i enjoyed my stay in blue mountain backpackers very much . it is sparkling clean, one can use the kitchen any time as well as the living room. big terasse with a nice view at long street and free coffee or tea all day long. but most important : the young women who work there are extremly helpful, joyful and made me just feel so compfortable .
things need not get stolen. there is a safe where i kept my notebook and moneybelt in and i could take it out whenever i wanted to , no problem at all, in the room i kept my laguagge locked . it takes responsibility of oneself , particular if one knows where one is ( budget place in long street ) to use the facilities provided , such as a safe .
i can highly recommend this place - it is beautiful in all regards !

Room Tip: depends what one wants and how much one is willing to spend
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chintamani88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My boyfriend and I had an awesome time here, I would recommend it to EVERYONE of all ages. The staff, Candice in particular, were brilliant and honestly could not have been any friendlier or any more helpful, from booking tours to just chilling with us on the spectacular balcony having a beer. The rooms are basic, but everything you need. There is a fully equipped kitchen, which we used quite a bit, as the balcony was such a treat to enjoy over dinner. You couldn't ask for a better location, smack bang in the middle of town with the magnificent Table Mountain right behind you. The way the hostel is laid out in an old historic building, creates a real "family feel" where we met up with other guests everyday in the common room area or balcony, swapping stories of what we had been up to all day. A little bit noisy, but hey, what do you expect in the middle of a city. We will defiantly be back again !!!!

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room, ask to have a room at the back of the building (as in not facing long st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChloeVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.1 mi away
Long Street Backpackers
Long Street Backpackers
#34 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Daddy Long Legs Self-Catering Apartments
Daddy Long Legs Self-Catering Ap...
#78 of 125 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.5 mi away
HomeBase Cape Town Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
FlatRock Suites
FlatRock Suites
#35 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Unique Lodge
Unique Lodge
#320 of 508 in Cape Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
1.4 mi away
A Sunflower Stop
A Sunflower Stop
#7 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mountain Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountain Backpackers

Property: Blue Mountain Backpackers
Address: 208 Long Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Blue Mountain Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mountain Backpackers Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing