We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Because of Lyn”
Review of Once in Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Once in Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Because of Lyn”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Our tour group finished our trip there. The hotel it's self is ok, bit old, location is ok, wifi is great but its just a hotel with four walls. What made Saasveld lodge is the manager Lyn. Our whole group continued to comment on her 5 star service. Within the first2 hours all 20 of us being in the hotel she had made restaurant booking for us, planned our short stay. This lady went above and beyond. I would return to saasveld lodge and recommended it because having this lady there actually made our stay in Cape Town. I haven't met anybody isn a 5 star hotel, a travel agent or even tourist information as helpful as her anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: If you are couple request a room with one bed, we got two singles
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    140
    53
    19
    18
See reviews for
16
69
194
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

It's a basic sort of hotel that is very good for value. The truly great thing about this hotel is the staff, they are so friendly and helpful and ready to help you plan a day of fun. Their great efforts cannot be overstated. Breakfast is basic but enjoyable and there are lovely windows that allows for great people watching whilst you enjoy some toast or cereal.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExcitedtoExplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The rooms at Saasfeld Lodge are small but perfectly adequate. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, served in a pleasant dining room where tea and coffee were also available during the day. What makes this accommodation are the staff who were always smiling, friendly and helpful. The Manager even popped out to say goodbye as we left. This helped to create a very favourable impression of Cape Town which will stay with us.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed here for one night before starting a tour throughout Africa.

The hotel is basic, but very very clean. One of its best assets however are its staff, they are very friendly and knowledgeable, in fact stepping into this hotel feels like stepping into the staff's own homes.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart_g69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Coast
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed here one night at the start of an overland tour. The lodge is clean and neat and as you would expect. It is in a great location. What makes this place a stand out are the friendly welcoming staff who are happy to assist with anything at all.

Room Tip: Choose rooms away from the main road and can be a bit rowdy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borntotravel15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We've been there for one night as the start of our one month travel trough the southern part of the African continent (South Africa, Namibia, Botswana and Zimbabwe). It's not a very luxurous lodge and the neighbourhood doesn't look very sophisticated. But as I stated in the title it's effective and comfortable enough. The staff is friendly and the breakfast was fine. I can surely recommend it for our purpose and obviously so for a longer stay. Don't forget to visit the restaurant on the other side of the street a few yards to the south, to enjoy the superb springbok leg they offer there. The lodge only offers breakfast.
It's been a few years ago I was there so I clicked on the earliest period available.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HansN46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Once again I had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at the Saasveld, despite the weather (and staff offered me an umbrella and I was given a towel to dry my hair when I arrived!). I've been staying at Saasveld for well over 15 years, whenever I travel to Cape Town and have never been disappointed. Staff are very friendly and efficient, breakfasts are wonderful, rooms are clean and have everything I need, and the cost is unbeatable. Saasveld always strikes a perfect balance between efficiency and friendliness, without being intrusive. Kloof street restaurants, food stores and movies are on the doorstep, and the Saasveld really feels like a home from home.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Felicity K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 109 in Cape Town Central
349 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
City Bowl
The Backpack
The Backpack
#4 of 127 in Cape Town Central
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 127 in Cape Town Central
492 reviews
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#2 of 127 in Cape Town Central
642 reviews
Never at Home Cape Town
#6 of 127 in Cape Town Central
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Once in Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Once in Cape Town

Property: Once in Cape Town
Address: 73 Kloof Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Saasveld Lodge)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Once in Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the foot of the world-renowned Table Mountain, in the centre of Cape Town City and located in the upmarket suburb of Gardens. Comfort at a most affordable price! Step out our front door and find yourself on vibrant Kloof Street, showcasing an array of world class restaurants including Kitchen Kink Boutique, Asoka, Yindees and our sister restaurant Hudsons Burger Joint. Once in Cape Town welcomes you with attentive staff that take pride in providing personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Once in Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saasveld Hotel Cape Town Central
Saasveld Lodge
Once In Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing