We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and faultless Service”
Review of Once in Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Once in Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My tour finished here and I stayed on for a few extra days. It started off a bit rocky when there was no hot water but it was quickly resolved. The hotel itself is ok - pretty basic but has everything you need at a great price. Its great value for money. The location is great - easy access to everything and a short walk to Long st where there are loads of bars and restaurants.

We got the English breakfast included, which was ok and then you could have as much of the other stuff that you wanted (cereal, toast, juice etc).

There is free wifi. It was a bit of a mission to figure out how to log on at first but once figured out it was a pretty good connection.

The Saasveld was pretty much everything I needed whilst on a budget. The main reason for such a positive review is the manager, Lynn. She was such a star and there was pretty much nothing she wouldn't do for you. I have never in my life received such great service and Saasveld are lucky to have her!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a view of Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

435 - 441 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights before joining an overland trip heading to Ethiopia. We chose this hotel since it was the joining point for the trip so it was easy. Well is was a great trip. The staff are amazing. Someone mentioned the manager was great & that is spot on but also the rest of the staff were excellent. They answered any questions we had about Cape Town & helped in any way they could with our plans. They were always friendly & the place felt very safe. We liked the location because we could walk everywhere we wanted to go. There were plenty of restaurants in walking distance. The room was basic but spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gettaway1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Our tour group finished our trip there. The hotel it's self is ok, bit old, location is ok, wifi is great but its just a hotel with four walls. What made Saasveld lodge is the manager Lyn. Our whole group continued to comment on her 5 star service. Within the first2 hours all 20 of us being in the hotel she had made restaurant booking for us, planned our short stay. This lady went above and beyond. I would return to saasveld lodge and recommended it because having this lady there actually made our stay in Cape Town. I haven't met anybody isn a 5 star hotel, a travel agent or even tourist information as helpful as her anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: If you are couple request a room with one bed, we got two singles
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

It's a basic sort of hotel that is very good for value. The truly great thing about this hotel is the staff, they are so friendly and helpful and ready to help you plan a day of fun. Their great efforts cannot be overstated. Breakfast is basic but enjoyable and there are lovely windows that allows for great people watching whilst you enjoy some toast or cereal.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExcitedtoExplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The rooms at Saasfeld Lodge are small but perfectly adequate. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, served in a pleasant dining room where tea and coffee were also available during the day. What makes this accommodation are the staff who were always smiling, friendly and helpful. The Manager even popped out to say goodbye as we left. This helped to create a very favourable impression of Cape Town which will stay with us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed here for one night before starting a tour throughout Africa.

The hotel is basic, but very very clean. One of its best assets however are its staff, they are very friendly and knowledgeable, in fact stepping into this hotel feels like stepping into the staff's own homes.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart_g69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed here one night at the start of an overland tour. The lodge is clean and neat and as you would expect. It is in a great location. What makes this place a stand out are the friendly welcoming staff who are happy to assist with anything at all.

Room Tip: Choose rooms away from the main road and can be a bit rowdy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borntotravel15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#54 of 110 in Cape Town Central
376 reviews
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 129 in Cape Town Central
513 reviews
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 129 in Cape Town Central
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Never at Home Cape Town
#5 of 129 in Cape Town Central
353 reviews
City Bowl
The Backpack
The Backpack
#4 of 129 in Cape Town Central
704 reviews
A Sunflower Stop
#9 of 129 in Cape Town Central
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Once in Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Once in Cape Town

Address: 73 Kloof Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Saasveld Lodge)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £17 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Once in Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the foot of the world-renowned Table Mountain, in the centre of Cape Town City and located in the upmarket suburb of Gardens. Comfort at a most affordable price! Step out our front door and find yourself on vibrant Kloof Street, showcasing an array of world class restaurants including Kitchen Kink Boutique, Asoka, Yindees and our sister restaurant Hudsons Burger Joint. Once in Cape Town welcomes you with attentive staff that take pride in providing personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Once in Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saasveld Hotel Cape Town Central
Saasveld Lodge
Once In Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing