We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just awesome!”
Review of Once in Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Once in Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed in Once for more than 3 month in a female dorm. Met many interesting people, the vibe in Once and Yourstruly is just awesome and very unique. Staff is very friendly and helpfull, rooms are always clean and the kitchen is the perfect place to socialize with the hostelmates. Most of the rooms have an amazing view, table mountain in front of you hey! Breakfast included, otherwhise best pizza in town (you should try the one with avocado!!) Love Once!! Thank you so much! I come back :)

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice and clean, some a bit small but it's fine. When your room is to the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

423 - 429 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

This place is amazing. You get to interact with tourists from all over the world while sipping on Craft beer and enjoying the vibrant Cape Town night life ambling past in Kloof Street. With the mountain on one side and the Waterfront on the other, this place is perfect for young travelers. The rooms are clean and comfy, there is a communal kitchen where you can swap stories of your travels whilst making a peanut butter and jelly sarmie, and there is a braai area for the men amongst us. Ten out of ten.

Room Tip: We were 4 young guys and we shared a 4 bed dorm. Perfect for young adventurers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Breedster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Clean facilities, a really young and vibrant atmosphere, a young and friendly front staff you get to know, and really interesting people -- Once in Cape Town is the perfect hostel for young travelers, either traveling together or solo. I came solo and was given a mixed room when I requested female-only. The staff was incredibly accommodating and fixed my situation immediately.

The rooms were clean and the other travelers incredibly friendly and exceedingly interesting. Once is filled with young travelers, so this might not be the best place for families or couples who crave quiet and privacy. There's a bar right downstairs that has music and crowds almost every day. It's loud, but really lovely, adds a really great atmosphere to any stay there.

I will warn that Once isn't the quietest location, so you need to be mindful of that. It can get loud because of the bar and because of the general, young nature of the occupants. If you can handle the noise, you can handle most things about the hostel. The wifi isn't great, but it exists, which is pretty sweet.

Overall, really excellent experience, the perfect experience for my first trip, alone to South Africa.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank snoozology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Quality price ratio for the rooms is very good! If you wanna meet people the restaurant is the place to be! Book a dorm room with bathroom inside on www.stayatonce.com and you've got the best price. From this location you are within 5 minutes in Long Street.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

First: This hostel has changed names and been renovated. It is now called "Once in Cape Town."
Second: This is indeed a hostel, and a good one at that, with a very young and hip crowd. It's probably one of the best, most fun hostels I've stayed at. Note: I had a private room, so I can't comment on the dorms.

I booked "Once in Cape Town" after a tip from a friend who lives in the city. To me, the location is perfect, a very vibrant place in the center of Cape Town. At just 5 minutes walk from Long Street, Kloof Street is a bit quieter and more eccentric, with quirky designer-shops and loads of great restaurants in every direction. As a solo, female traveler, I felt perfectly safe walking around the neighborhood after dark (although I would recommend taking a taxi after midnight, just in case).

The hostel itself is very lively all day long, especially in the afternoon and evening. Adjacent to it is a café/bar, Yours Truly, which drew in a cool crowd with great music and cold beers. As a result, it could be quite crowded at night, but it was always a happy, friendly crowd. I would guess, though, that rooms facing the street might be very noisy.

My room however faced the back and was perfectly quiet, with a beautiful view over Table Mountain from bed! The room was very basic, but perfectly clean and cozy and to me it felt like a 5 star luxury, having just finished a 6 week camping tour overland from Kenya.

The café next door is also where they serve the complementary breakfast. It's a simple one: Croissant, fruit juice and (excellent) coffee. If you feel like having something more in the morning, I'd recommend the frozen-yogurt shop, Myog, just across the street.

Finally, the staff is very friendly and helpful. Made me feel so welcome. I only have two, minor complaints: 1) the wifi fluctuated, which was annoying. 2) The shower, although the pressure was good, the water kept switching between being burning hot to a bit too cold.

A part from that, my "Once in Cape Town" experience was wonderful and a perfect ending to my Africa-adventures! It was good value for money, and I will stay there again when I (hopefully) return to Cape Town.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street might be a bit noisy, because the café besides the lobby and the front yard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnceinCapeT0wn, General Manager at Once in Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you For your kind words - we are stoked you had a great time! We look forward to welcoming you back, Warm Regards
Kim and the Once in Cape Town team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Due to no vacancy in Cape Town following annual mines conference I had to pick up the place.
I took a family room for my self for 3 nights.
The room were too small with old bath.
Every day had to ask for towels!!!!! I was the oldest guy in the hotel,(most of the guests were around 20's)
There is no way I will come back.

Room Tip: Stay away it is an hostel not hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank issicos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The Sassveld Lodge is under NEW ownership. Having no notice we arrived at Midnight to a newly named ONCE in cape town. As they had taken over less then two weeks previous the rooms were the same. I do not know about the previous hotel history. We stayed there pre and post tour. This hotel is run like a hostel/hotel. It caters or rather is attractive to the younger 20-30 crowd especially as it turns into a bit of night club and was packed every night. By morning, it was a trendy coffee/breakfast place with a outdoor patio with relaxed ambience which tended to run out of food and juice by early morning. Service staff was very nice, always.

As it has only been open for a very short time I am sure they will sort it all out. The restaurant place is new. Great location rooms were basic but clean and really, very quiet.

Room Tip: top floors have keyed rooms and tend too be larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 111Kity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,421 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#50 of 110 in Cape Town Central
369 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 128 in Cape Town Central
508 reviews
City Bowl
The Backpack
The Backpack
#4 of 128 in Cape Town Central
694 reviews
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 128 in Cape Town Central
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Once in Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Once in Cape Town

Address: 73 Kloof Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Saasveld Lodge)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £17 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Once in Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the foot of the world-renowned Table Mountain, in the centre of Cape Town City and located in the upmarket suburb of Gardens. Comfort at a most affordable price! Step out our front door and find yourself on vibrant Kloof Street, showcasing an array of world class restaurants including Kitchen Kink Boutique, Asoka, Yindees and our sister restaurant Hudsons Burger Joint. Once in Cape Town welcomes you with attentive staff that take pride in providing personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Once in Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saasveld Hotel Cape Town Central
Saasveld Lodge
Once In Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing