We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gilmourhill B&B
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$160
US$147
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$526
US$448
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
US$229
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$163
US$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Townhouse Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$162
US$153
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$244
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
US$220
US$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$849
US$756
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$380
US$350
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
25
6
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
6
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsfour nightsbathtubcomfortaccommodationbedroomwaterfront
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed in Gilmourhill on 29 and 30 December 2013. What a pleasant experience! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this delightful Cape-style house. The location of Gilmourhill is wonderful. It's close to a few very good restaurants and albeit in Cape Town, still just outside of the hustle and bustle. The area is safe as well - we had a pleasant walk one evening to Da Vinci's (where we had dinnner) and back to the B&B. The furniture and decoration are beautiful and we stayed in the top room which was very spacious with the bathtub overlooking Table Mountain. Our room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was very good, especially on our last morning when we were served pancakes with bacon and syrup. Maureen was also very friendly and helpful. We will definitely return!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jolene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We got a tip from some of our friends about this BnB and that it was a lovely place to stay with a really nice owner that took good care of the guests. It was so much better! Maureen, the owner, is a fantastic woman and treated us like family. When we came there (our first stay) we had no plan but a few things we wanted to see, so Maureen took care of it and arranged the start of the holliday for us. What a service! So if you want a lovely place to stay, for a affordable cost, great service and with the best owner...this is the place!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Having just arrived in Cape Town after a 2 week journey from Perth on the Queen Mary 2, my 78 yr old mother and I were a little apprehensive. What would our accommodation be like? Would it be central? After the Queen Maary 2 would we still have that being looked after experience?

Well..... Our concerns were instantly dashed the minute the owners lovely daughter met us at the port with the warmest of welcomes. We were taken directly to a beautiful Victorian cottage on the slopes of Tabe Mountain aand we had to keep pinching ourselves at the luck of finding Gilmourhill B and B. Our room was beautifully appointed with lovely furnishings. The beds were so incredibly comfortable, it was difficult to get up in the mornings. Our breakfasts were delicious and the house was delightful. What made our stay incredibly special was the warmth and care of our hosts going out of their way to look after us. So much so it was like we were staying with family and friends and not someone we had recently met. The location of the B and B is ideal with great local restaurants and close to the city and local tourist sites. Could not recommend it highly enough. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaveCaseWillTravel62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

After an eleven hour flight we had a somewhat difficult start to our holiday when we were left without accommodation. As fate would have it, we were led to the welcoming arms of the one & only Maureen at Gilmourhill. On arrival we were given the pick of the available rooms & we chose a fabulous room at the rear of the house with a wet room. All of the rooms are stylishly decorated & well appointed. Breakfasts are marvellous & served on the front terrace. (You really must try the fruit salad with figs from the garden.) In the few days we were there we were thoroughly looked after by Maureen, nothing was too much trouble & we had a really calming stay. I cannot recommend this B&B highly enough, look no further. Thank you Maureen.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Gil303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We initially planned to stay somewhere else, but the fact that they were fully booked drove us into the hands of Maureen. We were lucky that it went this way. Maureen offered us a comfy home for four nights. Gilmour Hill is in a quiet and safe neighbourhood and in walking distance of many restaurants and sights in the city. The house itself is beautiful. Breakfast is delicious and taken outside on the patio or inside if the weather is less favourable. We really felt at home and enjoyed the stories from Maureen (don't ask her about the picture of her posing with Mandela if you're in a hurry). The room, we were in the red one, was big and clean. Maureen also arranges to pick you up from the airport, quite a treat if you've just been on a cramped airplane seat for 11 hours.

We could not have wished for a better start for our trip to South Africa.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews