We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mountain Magic Garden Suites
Nearby Hotels
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$357
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$340
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$491
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
US$633
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$491
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
72
16
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
16
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalm suitetable mountainliving roomfantastic staylionssa
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2011

I've now tried all three of the suites at Mountain Magic and each has it's unique selling points. This time I stayed in the Bay Lights Studio. It's a little smaller than the other two studios, but if you're on you're on your own, the size is perfect and the view from the balcony onto the city bowl and the Atlantic is magical, especially when the moon is full. are consummate hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for owners Liz and Phil who have a knack for making guests feel completely at home. The suites are meticulously clean and the staff are kind and friendly. On a boiling hot summer's morning, the swimming pool is a God-send. It's just 15 minutes walk from Kloof Street though I'd recommend having a car because it makes it so much easier to get around Cape Town.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naomigryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

We liked to start and complete the day on the balcony with its fantastic view of the city and the sea. Within a few minutes we could reach the city centre and the sea or leave Capetown for a day trip to the fantastic and interesting sites around CT. And when we returned we loved to sit in the shade of the huge trees in the garden and cool down in the pool.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nica22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

we stayed in the bay light studio for 5 nights and were extremely happy with everything. the location is great - you can walk to town and all the other sights (like table mountain, waterfront, clifton beach, etc.) are within 5 min drive away. we had a beautiful view of the city from our balcony, on which we enjoyed our breakfast every morning. although central, the area is very quiet and secure. liz and phil, the owners, were very friendly and helpful. we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swiss-gypsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMsuites, Owner at Mountain Magic Garden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2011

Thanks Swiss G for this: nice to know that we hit the right note for your stay in terms of being available to assist. Living on site, it's always a tough balance between being around to help but not being around when you want to be alone! You must have stayed in the Bay Lights Studio. Such a great view from there that Liz and I stay in it ourselves in the winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2010

We travelled to Cape Town and there being so many places to choose from, we found Mountain Magic Garden Suites by accident. We stayed for a few nights and enjoyed every moment. We enjoyed sundowners in the lovely garden, the suite was tastefully decorated, we felt safe and the area is nice and quiet. Lovely Phil and Liz are friendly and attentive hosts that was only a pleasure to meet. And the view! Even my daughter that calls Cape Town her home, made the comment that the view from the main bedroom was the best around. We loved every moment and we are booking our next stay right now.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JapieHopetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capetownsuites, Owner at Mountain Magic Garden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2010

Hi JapieHopeTown - how wonderful to get such a complimentary review from a South African family: locals have a lot of choice over where they stay and they know just how high the standards of accommodation are in the country. It's very much appreciated to know that we got it right for you and your family. See you soon! Liz and Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

A truly comfortable, clean, spacious apartment in a residential area of Cape Town. Not far from the mountain, this area has many cafes, restaurants and amenities within walking distance. We felt safe enough to walk around freely with three kids in the daytime, although we were more cautious in the evenings. It was quite chilly in September so we didn't use the pool. Perhaps the only slight negative is that we could hear Liz's large dog very occasionally bouncing around in the rooms above - the apartment is in the garden basement. The apartment overlooks a rugby park where kids play after school, and is located near to several private schools. We didn't meet Phil but Liz could not have done more for us, helping us to arrange taxis and dinner reservations and giving us impeccable advice on places to go around the city and cape. We walked around Cape Town a lot and found taxis easily when the children tired. We did the obvious things: the cable car to the mountain top, the marina, Robben Island. We also had a taxi drop us off at Signal Hill and we hiked to Lion Head and up to the top (almost). Our kids managed the chains and steps alright but they could be a little scary for some kids. Then we called another taxi to pick us up at the Head carpark. That was a truly beautiful day full of ocean views, local wildlife and peaceful walking (and all Liz's idea!) We also hired a car and drove ourselves down to the cape beaches (stunning) and also along the garden route to Port Elizabeth. we saw many, many Southern Right Whales basking inshore all along the route at this time of year, including their young.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingwilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capetownsuites, Owner at Mountain Magic Garden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2010

Hi Travelling Wilko
Thanks for this nice balanced review and sorry that I (Phil) didn't get a chance to meet you! We're pleased that you liked the area and the views over the fields and schools. It helps to have a feeling of space when you're staying in a city centre, especially with a family. We're sorry about Busby making a noise in your apartment: he's a boisterous chap and most of the time is either out on a walk with us or in our apartment on the top floor. Occasionally, he gets out and runs around a little too enthusiastically in the office, so sorry for that! The truly wonderful thing about where Mountain Magic Suites is that as you say, you can walk onto Signal Hill and Lion's Head from your front door, which is of course one of the reasons why we can have a dog in the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews