We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect?”
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #4 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2011

I spent two weeks at the Blackheath Lodge in June and enjoyed every minute of my time there. Antony is incredibly knowledgable and helpful and his staff will cater to your every need. I was there with a group of photographers and we all had very unique rooms - every one was beautiful. The bed was extremely comfortable and it was very quiet at night. I loved the extra touches in the room like a personal cell phone to use and electrical adapters. The lodge is a short (but steep) walk to the waterfront and I was able to take advantage of the path along the water for my morning runs. The staff became friends by the end of the stay and each evening when I returned it felt like I was back home (even better!)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sayers44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,848)
There are newer reviews for Blackheath Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,149 - 1,155 of 1,848 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed at the Blackheath Lodge for thee days as part of our South Africa tour. Very warm and personal welcome, great (large) bed and waking up in Victorian Style with birds singing. Peaceful and relax atmosphere. Perfect hang out and basis for exploring Cape Town & surroundings!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stijn-Carolijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The moment we arrived at Blackheath Lodge we knew we'd made the right decision about accommodation in Cape Town. The building and rooms were beautiful and the service was incredible. Antony ensured that we had the most incredible time and went out of his way to make our stay perfect. We booked the room six months in advance and even back then he was helping us to book activities for our trip.
When we return to Cape Town we won't even consider anywhere else to stay.
Thank you so much for making it such an amazing holiday!
Louise and Tom

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Stayed here for a week on holiday. Blackheath Lodge is well-positioned to access all that Cape Town has to offer and taxis are relatively cheap anyway for further trips. You feel extremely at home at this hotel; everyone working here is warm and friendly and all are keen to ensure that you make the most of your time in Cape Town. My bedroom was clean and comfortable; the deck area was a great central meeting point and the entire hotel is stylishly furnished. One extra benefit is that you are given a mobile phone for the duration of your stay which comes in really useful. If you are coming to Cape Town and are choosing a hotel in this price range, I doubt that you can do any better.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardYuzhno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Spent 4 nights at Blackheath lodge recently - beautiful surroundings: cozy, comfortable. Antony and staff were welcoming from the moment I got there, and took care of my every need, suggesting places to eat, sightseeing options, and also setting up tours as needed. As other reviewers mentioned, breakfast is not to be missed! This place is definitely worth the stay, easy to get to many places around Cape Town and just near the ocean.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeepStuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Nothing to say... Just PERFECT! Everything is perfect, Place, Location, People, Breakfast, Guide, kindness, into the smallest details!!! If every city had such a place, all travellers would be happy! Don't hesitate to choose the Blackheath Lodge! Francoise Brussels - Belgium

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frambise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We spent the last night of our honeymoon in Blackheath Lodge in Cape Town and it was the perfect 'farewell' to a beautiful holiday. Anthony (owner & manager) really goes out of his way to help one feel at home and enjoy Cape town to the max. The room we had was fabulously designed & so comfortable - complete with large TV (with lots of channels for a change!), lounge chillaxing area, A/C etc. Breakfast was delightful too. Blackheath is located a few minutes away from the Sea Point promenade - yet another plus!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,413 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,060 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
653 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,763 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £84 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing