We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The beauty is in the details”
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“The beauty is in the details”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed at the lodge as part of our honeymoon and were so completely impressed with the staff and the level of care and thought that has been put into every detail. Anthony was attentive and full of excellent, well tailored suggestions for everything from sightseeing itineraries to rental cars to amazing restaurants. We loved our time at the Blackheath Lodge and will stay there again if we find ourselves in Cape Town.

Room Tip: You can't choose a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wjdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,690
    123
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
234
1,020
149
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I must say staying at Blackheath Lodge is truly a Home away from Home. From the moment you arrive Antony, the Driver, and the entire staff greets you personally with open arms. I've been planning my trip to Cape Town for nearly 5 months and Antony made sure my stay was as smooth and fun filled as ever. All emails were answered on time and in full details. He arrange all my excursions and gave recommendation on things to do, restaurants, and nightlife - none were biased either. I stayed in the Orange Room - Room 9. Everything from the bed to the shower was totally on point.

Now this my seem very trivial, but out of all the hotels I've stayed in NEVER has the owner provided a local mobile device for my everyday use. This was indeed a great bonus.

The breakfast is absolutely amazing. It's definitely not your traditional continental set up like most places. And the staff - so so friendly and inviting.

I would recommend Blackheath to ANYONE traveling to Cape Town. I'm confused as to why it's not ranked number 1!

Thank you Antony!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

I'm so happy we stayed at Blackheath while in Cape Town! The staff was incredibly helpful and very friendly. We were greeted with wine by the pool, very welcome after a long flight from NYC, and helped with directions, reservations, taxis, etc. throughout our stay. Breakfast is amazing and the adorable porch is a great place to rest for a couple of hours over some lovely South African wine. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaltyHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We wish we could have stayed here for several more months! Excellent value. Charming boutique hotel, with welcoming and informative staff, a lovely and unique common area, a good wine selection, and cool rooms. We were up and gone before breakfast was served, but when we came back after a tour, we were offered a full selection of food and beverage instead. Lovely place!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony and Rosey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Blackheath Lodge is a real home from home, beautifully furnished in a really indiviudal style with very comfortable bedrooms, lounge & pool areas. The whole team are really (and genuinely) friendly so you can properly relax and Antony & Michelle shared their tips for the best day trips & places to eat so we could make the most out of our short stay. The breakfasts were delicious with home baked treats to tempt you every morning. Antony also arranged accommodation for the rest of our holiday (in equally great guest lodges) and gave us a book of maps for our trip, we couldn't have asked for anything more.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2011

The Blackheath was cosy and comfortable and felt like home. When we remarked on how much we loved the strawberry crumble they gave us the recipe. Michelle & Jean Claude gave us great recommendations.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed in Blackheath for 4 days during our hooneymoon and we agree with everyone else that it is fantastic. You won't be disappointed here and we loved how at home we felt but also special as we were on our honeymoon. The staff are brilliant and the breakfast - especially the scrambled egss - wow. It was a great base to do some trips which Blackheath arranged for us before we arrived and they were perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshgirlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,402 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,024 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
645 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,497 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Property: Blackheath Lodge
Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing