We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the reviews!”
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Rothesay, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Believe the reviews!”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Thanks to Antony and staff. We had a wonderful stay at your beautiful Inn! Everything was perfect. We especially appreciated antony's help with our itinerary and restaurant selections. Perfect spot to stay if you are driving. Easy access to all points of interest and the security guys really looked after the car! (even when we forgot to remove the GPS system, they reminded us).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,672
    122
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
231
1,012
148
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

This is the finest place we have stayed at on our adventure to-date! We are being spoiled silly by Anthony, John, John Claude, Peter and the others. We were greeted at the door by name, sat down at a table overlooking the garden/pool, and advised that our room was ready! It was only 11am. and we were weary travellers, having completed a long Venice->London->Cape Town journey (overnight red-eye). Very importantly - the bed is perfect!! We were given a cell phone to keep in touch and have been given great advice on where to visit. This is heaven!
Breakfast buffet and hot breakfast are delicious and provide a very satisfying start to the day. Wine & nibblies in the lounge, using this computer is like relaxing in your own home.
We are staying 4 nights here - and after 2 nights, still look forward to more!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SP-Teasdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2011

I have to say that this was the best service at a hotel that I have ever received.It is absolutely fantastic experience. I stayed there for 3 days.very clean, great breakfast, more importantly the staff here are very helpful and kind plus a lot of services.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliver s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

What can I say? This is the best place to stay in Cape Town, safe and quite area right in the center of the city, close to the ocean. It is definitely worth its price. Very kind attentive staff!!
Being so far from home you really feel home in this beautiful comfy guesthouse. For sure gonna stay there again! Unfortunately did not have a chance to visit the fitness center. Breakfast was delicious! I had the room on the second floor overlooking to the ocean and I loved it!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Outstanding. We have traveled over the world and can comfortably say that our stay at the Blackheath Lodge was one of our best experiences. Antony, Michelle and staff were over-the-top warm, helpful and appropriately attentive. The accommodations, including our room, the gardens, and the breakfast room, were spectacular. And the extras, such as afternoon tea, wine, and nibbles, available DVD and book library, and trip-tix and restaurant suggestions, were spot-on and greatly appreciated. All of this at a great location in Cape Town and an astoundingly affordable price make the Blackheath Lodge superb.

Diane

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2011

The attention to detail was most memorable of our stay at Blackheath Lodge. From arrival late at night, we were welcomed with cups of tea, and a honesty bar where we could taste the lovely south african wine. Our rooms were lovely and cosy and tastefully decorated, and the welcoming pack with maps and information was another added touch. The breakfast in the morning was delicious with fresh, homely cooked breakfast, a great start to the day. Anthony was very efficient and helpful giving advice on restaurants and recommended tours during the day. The lodge was also in a fantastic location to the waterfront. I would definitely recommend this as a relaxing stay to treat yourselves and the friendly professional staff added to the overall experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at Blackheath Lodge four nights this August. A friend recommended the lodge, but our expectations were exceeded by the actual experience. Blackheath provides a quiet and intimate setting. Every morning we had a delicious breakfast in a glass filled room overlooking the garden, while Antony (one of the owners) checked in with all the guests, making sure they had transportation and sightseeing plans for the day. He provided personal attention to each guest, recommending restaurants and tours, and assisting in car rentals and other transportation. It was as if we had our own concierge. If we were to return to Cape Town, we would definitely stay at Blackheath Lodge.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank J0anne1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,392 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,998 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,689 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Property: Blackheath Lodge
Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing