We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat!”
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“What a treat!”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My first time in Capetown so had no idea what to expect. Blackheath was just lovely. The perfect small hotel, beautifully decorated rooms with comfortable homey feeling to dining area and living room. The best was the personalized attention to service and comfort. Really felt welcomed and cared for. Antony even convinced us to take the mini Cooper for our day excursions. And he was right! I look forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeline118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,690
    123
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
234
1,020
149
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

After almost two weeks of trekking around Namibia, my husband and I were delighted to discover all the comforts of home at the Blackheath Lodge. Antony and his staff were extremely welcoming, offering us tea and biscuits as soon as we arrived. The room was lovely, comfortable and beautifully decorated, with a modern bathroom with all the necessities! Breakfast was delish and we especially loved the little baked quichy cakes which were out of this world. Antony was right on with the two restaurant recommendations and we greatly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

My wife and I had an excellent six-night stay at the Blackheath Lodge. Before we even arrived, Antony and Michelle were very helpful in making our car reservations and answering any questions that I had. (The hotel is in a convenient location for lots of the city's attractions, but car rental or taxis are a must for Cape Town.) Once we arrived, we were warmly welcomed and shown to our charming, well-decorated room. We enjoyed breakfast every morning followed by Antony's helpful suggestions on our day of activities, and had a few very nice post-dinner conversations with Jean-Claude. The Blackheath Lodge staff truly went above and beyond the call of duty when we left our camera at a neighborhood restaurant on the last night of our stay by collecting the camera and promptly sending it out to us in Johannesburg so we could have it for the rest of our trip. Thank you so much to all of the wonderful staff members - we look forward to seeing you again on a future stay in Cape Town!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CUBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

After hearing a glowing recommendation from a friend I finally had the chance to stay at Blackheath Lodge for a couple of nights while on a work trip to Cape Town. It did not disappoint...the room was fabulous, Antony and the team made me feel completely at home and it was a wonderful oasis from my work stresses!

My only disappointment was that I could not use the stunning roof terrace with spectacular views, BBQ and outdoor shower due to my business commitments and the Cape Town winter - I have already booked my next stay so that I can sample the delights of the Lodge to their full extent. Thank you Antony and the team at my home away from home...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solon, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We had the good fortune to stay at Blackheath Lodge recently, and, I must say, we could not have been more delighted. My husband, daughter, and I had a beautifully decorated room on the top floor with a gorgeous view. We were cozy and comfortable--and appreciated the library of books and DVD's that were available. We especially enjoyed the delicious breakfasts, that, each day, included some welcome surprises--fruit smoothies, cheese plates, specially-prepared pastries, egg soufflés--things that were unique,--as well as the standard meal that was also offered--everything tasted so good! Each day, Antony would offer advice as to what would be fun to do--and, thank goodness, we listened to him because he was always spot on--whether it was a jaunt to the Winelands or a day at the Cape--we were never disappointed. It's so nice to be given little tidbits about the best place to eat, or the best beach to stop at. It was a wonderful way to end our trip to South Africa, and we will always remember it!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scout0218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, Cal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Everything about Blackheath Lodge is first-rate! The rooms are interesting, well appointed and immaculate. The breakfast room is delightful, as are all the common areas. The breakfasts themselves are absolutely delicious. The staff is always very nice and helpful. And last, but far from least, the manager Antony will assist you in making arrangements for anything you might need - taxis, tours, dinner reservations and all. Thanks Antony!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petetbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I recently Stayed at Blackheath with my wife and two daughters. We could not have asked for a better experience. The location is ideal, the staff is unbelievably attentive and Antony Trop is hands down the best hotel owner / operator I have ever dealt with. Antony took care of all our reservations at local restaurants, car rentals and even helped get us ticklets to Table Mountain so we could avoid the lines. This was our first visit to Cape Town and because of Blackheath Lodge and Antony Trop we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,407 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,034 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
646 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,499 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Property: Blackheath Lodge
Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing