We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better that a home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #3 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better that a home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

All the great reviews people write about Blackheath Lodge are true. The staff are really as friendly and welcoming as people have said. Arriving at Blackheath Lodge and washing off the dust from adventures in far flung places in South Africa is to step into a very comfortable world. It was the little touches that most impressed us. Things like a place to charge our iPhones or the use of a local mobile phone, or the local knowledge of where was a good place to wander down the road for a casual meal. I wouldn't consider going to Cape Town and not staying here. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,635
    122
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
225
987
148
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tweed Heads, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

Thanks to Antony and Co at Blackheath Lodge. We had a wonderful stay in beautiful, comfortable surroundings. We were looked after by helpful and friendly staff and served a scrumptious breakfast every morning. More than a home away from home, it was luxury away from home. Thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: From what we could see they were all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

For the second year in a row, my wife and I enjoyed our stay at Blackheath Lodge. Antony and the staff provide the highest level of service and the breakfast is wonderful! Antony also always has excellent suggestions of places to dine and things to do and then makes all the appropriate arrangements. He even helped us book the other parts of our travels outside of Cape Town. As far as we are concerned there is only place to stay in Cape Town, Blackheath Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mhdjld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed for only a night but wished it was longer! Blackheath lodge is like a stylish, amazingly decorated oasis in a beautiful area of Cape Town. Breakfast was scrumptious and served with a smile! It is located on a very narrow road and parking was a bit of a problem, but what a beautiful property, thank you Anthony!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Longdistlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Antony, Michelle and all of the staff did everything to make our stay memorable. The Lodge is impeccable and gorgeous; everyone is helpful & friendly, without being intrusive. Antony and Michelle even recommended and booked part of our other travel within South Africa (and their suggestions were all spot on.) Their advice on activities within Cape Town was equally superb. We travel quite a lot, and I have never been motivated to write a stellar review before; I can honestly not think of even a small detail to criticize.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We took the decision not to stay in one of the "big", "fancy" hotels available in Cape Town, opting instead for a smaller, more intimate alternative. We had no idea what was a good neighborhood or what was not, so we based our decision initially on the Trip Advisor Reports and then secondly on the responsiveness of Antony to our e-mails. We were not disappointed. Blackheath Lodge is perfect in every way and Sea Point is a lovely area (about 10 minutes easy cab ride down to the V & A Waterfront). Blackheath Lodge combines intimacy with luxury, along with a wonderfully relaxed "homelike" atmosphere. There is a small team looking after your every need, led by Antony and Michelle everyone is so friendly and I enjoyed the "honor" system they have for signing out beverages - you don't feel irritated by having to sign endless checks as with other hotels. We ate breakfast, which was included in the rate, sitting on the enclosed terrace and it was delicious (everything felt "home-made" and wholesome). Other meals we jumped in a cab and went to a number of local restaurants (all excellent and with the exchange rate to the US$, extremely good value).

On two days we rented the hotel's Mini convertible and drove to the Cape and the Wine Country, following Antony and Michelle's recommendations. Driving was easy (on the left!) and it was a lot of fun. Coming back to the Hotel, you are welcomed with complimentary tea/coffee and home made cookies which are always available.

Kudos to whoever designed the rooms at Blackheath Lodge - it is beautifully decorated and super comfortable (great beds and linens). Bathrooms are well lit!

I loved staying at Blackheath Lodge and am recommending it to everyone - it really is like a "home" and all the other guests seemed to buy into that, so you are left with feeling that you are staying with a private house party.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnbull2129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here during July for 5 nights whilst we were in Cape Town for a friends wedding. We absolutely cannot fault Blackheath Lodge: We arrived wet and tired early in the morning and were immediately welcomed in with coffee and breakfast whilst our room was prepared and Michelle helped us plan our day's activities. We were then shown to the enormous loft suite (despite it being 10am we were allowed into our room at no extra cost), which has a huge covered balcony with sea views, private loungers, 2 flat screen TVs, kitchen area with microwave, fridge, kettle and dishwasher (!) and shower with sea views! Extremely comfortable beds and powerful shower. The location is great - close to lots of good restaurants and the fashionable Atlantic coast, central Cape Town easily accessible (5 minute drive/taxi costing <£5) but away from the hectic atmosphere of the city centre. You can walk up signal hill and to the coast straight from the hotel. Would recommend staying here without hesitation, and would also definitely recommend hiring a car. Thank you Michelle and Anthony and everyone else at Blackheath for an unforgettable trip to Cape Town!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Property: Blackheath Lodge
Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing