We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #4 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We had an excellent stay (6 nights) at Blackheat. Good position, close to Sea Point, rich breakfast, very friendly and helpful people (Anthony, Michelle, Jean Claude and all the Staff).
Rooms are beautiful. each room has different design and colours: high attention to all details.
The atmosphera is very friendly and it's easy have a conversation with other guests.
Everything was clean, large bathroom, availability of all amenities.
Really we cannot ask more! We hope to be back in the future, we really loves this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gatto67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,846)
There are newer reviews for Blackheath Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

933 - 939 of 1,846 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

Thank you Anthony, Michelle,Jean Claude and team for making our honeymoon enjoayable and memorable.Your services are exemplary.The loft was awesome with great views behind the glass as it was very windy. Very warm room and very cosy. Breakfast everyday was an experience with different choices.the area is very quiet and safe, a short walk to various restaurants and a 7eleven just around the corner. All requests were met with a smile and promptly acted on. The team also organized for day tours which is a great way to know Cape Town the guides are very knowledgeable and humorous makes it a great way to spend your day.You have not experienced capetonians hospitality if you have not visited black Heath lodge.

Room Tip: Loft has an excellent view of sea point and the ocean
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tandpauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Before I go any further let me say a big THANK YOU to Anthony, Michelle, John, Jean-Claude and the rest of the team at Blackheath. They were the difference behind making a holiday great and memorable. I've just come back a week ago from South Africa and the wonderful memories of our stay at Blackheath Lodge refuse to leave us. I was there with my daughter (14) and husband and all we can think of is the special treatment, not just us, but every guest received at the lodge. The genuine interest in each guest, what they did during their stay and how to make each day even better was at the the heart of the job description at Blackheath. Be it maps with routes clearly marked out, restaurant recommendations, vineyards for wine tasting, information on several attractions, airport transfers or the car hire, everything was spot on. Anthony was at the table every morning during breakfast giving ideas for the day and then also making sure that no details were left out to making the experience a special one. Located in a quiet neighbourhood, it is a short walk away from the waterfront and a scenic 20 minute walk to the V&A. The lodge also provides each room with a local mobile which is most handy. So no more research needed. Just go to Blackheath and enjoy your holiday. The team there will make it unforgettable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ParagliderBasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Working in the hospitality industry, I have incredibly high standards and was not at all disappointed with our experience at Blackheath. Coming to South Africa, we were somewhat trepidatious after hearing stories about travelling within the country and being wary of where you stay and go, but Antony, Michelle, Jean Claude and the team made us feel so safe and welcome!

We had a wonderful four nights at Blackheath this July and were spoilt rotten the whole time. The team at Blackheath really did make our trip; they took care of everything from tour bookings, sight seeing tips and perfect restaurant recommendations. The lodge itself was just lovely. Clean, nicely decorated, wonderfully comfortable bed and spacious suite. The common areas were very comfortable; one afternoon we sat by the fire under the lovely warm throw blankets provided by the lodge. The breakfast was just lovely, cooked to order each day, or if you were after something quick before heading out for the day, you could grab something off the small buffet. Nothing was too much trouble at any time of the day or night.

We loved our time there and wouldn't hesitate to return to Cape Town purely because of the experience we had at Blackheath. They started us off on what turned out to be an amazing trip to South Africa.

Room Tip: The loft provides a nice view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsBfromMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

All the great reviews people write about Blackheath Lodge are true. The staff are really as friendly and welcoming as people have said. Arriving at Blackheath Lodge and washing off the dust from adventures in far flung places in South Africa is to step into a very comfortable world. It was the little touches that most impressed us. Things like a place to charge our iPhones or the use of a local mobile phone, or the local knowledge of where was a good place to wander down the road for a casual meal. I wouldn't consider going to Cape Town and not staying here. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Thanks to Antony and Co at Blackheath Lodge. We had a wonderful stay in beautiful, comfortable surroundings. We were looked after by helpful and friendly staff and served a scrumptious breakfast every morning. More than a home away from home, it was luxury away from home. Thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: From what we could see they were all lovely.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

For the second year in a row, my wife and I enjoyed our stay at Blackheath Lodge. Antony and the staff provide the highest level of service and the breakfast is wonderful! Antony also always has excellent suggestions of places to dine and things to do and then makes all the appropriate arrangements. He even helped us book the other parts of our travels outside of Cape Town. As far as we are concerned there is only place to stay in Cape Town, Blackheath Lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhdjld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,413 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,056 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
651 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,514 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £84 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing