We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blackheath Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$356
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$856
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$777
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
US$698
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$665
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$859
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$448
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$382
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,932)
Filter reviews
1,932 results
Traveller rating
1,781
131
14
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,781
131
14
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmobile phonesea pointhome away from homedvd playerrestaurant recommendationsthe entire staffstay in cape townsouth africalittle touchescape pointbreakfast was deliciousour honeymoondinner reservationspersonal servicewestern capelovely roomcamps bay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
996 - 1,001 of 1,932 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Blackheath Lodge was recommended to me by a friend who had stayed here previously, and it was a great spot to unwind for a few days. Located on a quiet street just a few blocks up from the Strand, it's an easy walk to the ocean or the waterfront. The service at the Lodge is first rate, and the while I didn't have dinner there the breakfasts were fantastic. The staff are quite friendly and were very helpful in suggesting sights to see and things to do.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We arrived at midnight due to travel complications and were warmly welcomed by Jean Claude.
He showed us around and deftly assisted us to our rooms where we had a restful night's sleep.
Next morning, the delicious aroma of breakfast filled the hallway and our room. No request is too small for the helpful and kind staff. Peter did a great job of packing up my wine purchases for the flight home. Michelle arranged a cab and encouraged us to brave the weather and head for Kirstenbosch Gardens....an amazing morning. Staying here is like being in the center of a well maintained beehive, where the goal is your travel happiness. Well done!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We recently returned from our first trip to South Africa and having spent a week in the north of the country with friends we arrived at Blackheath Lodge, slightly anxious, as we embarked on the second leg of our trip alone. It is very hard to add to all the other reviews - Blackheath Lodge is exemplary in every aspect and it is all down to Anthony, Michelle, JeanClaude and all the staff there - the attention to detail in the decor, the facilities, the personal approach which soon had us feeling quite at home and very relaxed. However, not only did Anthony and Michelle make our two nights at Blackheath Lodge memorable but Anthony had also planned and booked the remainder of our trip for us, arranging our car hire and booking beautiful accomodation to suit both our budget and interests along the Garden Route. As a result he helped make this half of our holiday just what it was a truly memorable trip that went without a hitch. We can't thank him enough - except perhaps to return at the earliest opportunity.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lazydays11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

In fifty years of travel Anthony provided the highest level of personal service I have ever received--questions answered, problems anticipated, personal concern, outstanding! The hotel itself is very pleasant, in a residential area uphill a couple of blocks from the beach at Sea Point. You will need a taxi or bus to get to center city, but there is a shopping area a block down the hill. The only issue I could see was that the hotel is made up of older houses with some stairs; we didn't have a problem, but if stairs are an issue ask when making reservations.

Room Tip: Ask about stairs if they are an issue for you.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank licklider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We had an excellent stay (6 nights) at Blackheat. Good position, close to Sea Point, rich breakfast, very friendly and helpful people (Anthony, Michelle, Jean Claude and all the Staff).
Rooms are beautiful. each room has different design and colours: high attention to all details.
The atmosphera is very friendly and it's easy have a conversation with other guests.
Everything was clean, large bathroom, availability of all amenities.
Really we cannot ask more! We hope to be back in the future, we really loves this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gatto67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews