We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing bed and breakfast”
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing bed and breakfast”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Blackheath lodge was a wonderful place to stay. The service was amazing and top notch. The food served at breakfast was very good, with eggs cooked to order. The atmosphere was extremely peaceful and relaxing. Charle, the manager, was spectacular as she was so friendly and helpful. She gave us priceless advice about good restaurants to eat at, places to see in Capetown, and where to park while we were out and about. The service was truly above and beyond at Blackheath. Thanks for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeD0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,672
    122
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
231
1,012
148
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful welcome to South Africa. Greeted at the door after a gruelling overnight flight from London by a beautiful huge hug from Portia, a complimentary offer of breakfast and immediate access to our room (even though check in wasn't officially till 2) We received a very personal and attentive service throughout our stay from Charle and all the other wonderful staff. The service wasn't simply efficient but genuinely warm.
The decor and interior design is luxurious yet homely. Great attention to detail. Relaxing and tranquil pool area which was pleasantly heated (I had a refreshing plunge after my flight) and cosy communal areas.
Would love to return some day.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jjcassidy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wark, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This hotel was a real gem.My husband .& I stopped at the Blackheath Lodge for the first two nights
Of our holiday. They made us very welcome and couldn't do enough to help with anything.
The breakfasts were lovely,the staff were great.I liked the way you could just help yourself to coffee or tea anytime of the day.Thanks again for everything

Room Tip: Room 6 great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The Blackheath Lodge really can't be improved, it's that good. We stayed one night but probably would have stayed longer if we didn't already have other plans.

Our room was great, parking was easy and very safe and the Lodge was very helpful about finding a room large enough for us and our daughter, who joined us at the last minute. The in was spotless and breakfast was creative and really good.

But mostly I was blown away by how accommodating the staff were: when we arrived we were offered a glass of wine while our room was prepared, which pleased but didn't surprise me much; when we checked out we left our bags at the Lodge, which again pleased but didn't surprise me; but when we came back for the bags at the end of the day (on our way to the next inn) we were invited in for another glass of wine/pot of tea. Amazing! That really exceptional level of service and friendliness exemplified our experience at the Blackheath Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Blackheath Lodge is like a gem in Capetown, very close to the sea (5 min. walk), to the Waterfront (20 min. walk). Antony and his staff really take care for their guests whenever needed, help with brilliant tips and make you feel at home. Very clean and boutique-hotel-like guesthouse, with unique interior, nicely renovated bathrooms, very friendly staff, great service, delicious breakfast, an insiders' tip!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silviadejaneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Center, Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We visited Cap Town for four days on a recent trip to Africa and stayed at Blackheath based on Trip Adviser reviews. We where not disappointed. This is a small quint hotel in an excellent location for touring the area. Much is in walking distance.
The staff is friendly and helpful and willing to make changes. Breakfast is excellent with a limited hot breakfast available. The dining area is an old porch over looking the pool and patio area.
I would request rooms in the main building area, we had room 3 which was wonderful, large, and had heated floors and roomy bathroom.
Blackheath is more a B&B style hotel and you should have this in mind when booking.

Room Tip: Book a room in the main house either the ground floor or upper rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ral425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hsinchu, Taiwan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My wife, daughter, and I arrived travel-weary from a long plane trip from Taiwan on the 17th of September, and all I can say is that we thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our short one day stay at BHL. We were given the "Loft Room" which was marvellous, with stunning sea views, super comfy beds and bed linen, ample pillows, and as mentioned by so many others, the staff are super nice and helpful. Charle and Jean-Claude were so helpful and professional, arranging a taxi pickup to the Waterfront as well as offering excellent advice on what to see and do. One slight criticism is that our shower was not a hot as we'd have liked, especially as we arrived at such during such a cold spell, and that there is no door on our shower room, which allowed cold air in as we were showering, but apart from that I enjoyed it so much that I've reserved another room for the evening prior to my departure (sadly) back to Taiwan.

Room Tip: The Loft Room was fine for us, but for people with mobility issues, a ground floor room would be mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,392 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,998 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,689 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Property: Blackheath Lodge
Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing