We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended accommodation”
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #5 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Our party of six have recently returned from a two week stay at Blackheath Lodge. Anthony, Charlie, Godfrey and all the staff went out of their way to make our experience of Cape Town memorable. Although this property is listed as a Bed and Breakfast, the first class service and interest the staff take in their guests far surpasses any Hotel we have previously stayed in. Sightseeing trips were recommended and organised by Anthony and Charlie, together with suggestions for a variety of superb restaurants within Cape Town and along the coast. The bedrooms and en-suites were all furbished to a high standard. We made full use of the bar area, offering in particular a fabulous cheeky South African red wine! Breakfast was a delight and so were the lovely kitchen ladies and night staff. Highly recommended and thanks to everyone at Blackheath Lodge for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Partysix2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,904)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

748 - 754 of 1,904 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

Blackheath Lodge is the perfect home away from home in Cape Town. As a first time, solo visitor to South Africa, Antony and the entire staff were incredibly welcoming, helpful, and engaging. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed, and I loved the long, spacious bathrooms and great water pressure in the shower. Breakfast was first rate, flawless food and service. I definitely took advantage of the pool as well, which is a wonderful treat, surrounded by trees and shrubbery, so even though it's in the courtyard it still feels private.
Sea Point is a great neighborhood to stay in: easy to walk along the promenade to the Waterfront, and I even walked to Camps Bay (although wear comfortable shoes).
In short, I very much hope to return to South Africa again, and I would not want to stay anywhere else in Cape Town!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inspiredexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was a great little place within 3 blocks of the beautiful sandy beach of cape Town. We had great rooms as well as a nice common area for our family to gather in. A wonderful breakfast was served each morning. The rooms were outfitted with a heating system controlled by remote which was new to me and very nice. Of particular note is the lodge's manager, Charle', who went above and beyond to give us helpful tips for getting around Cape Town on foot. This was the first place we stayed upon reaching South Africa and was a nice friendly introduction to the country. The photo shows the private pool located in the center of the lodge and charming little bird houses situated at different levels of the wall

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mommaparcelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Myself and my wife stayed here recently and it was a lovely place. It is located in a nice area and the interiors are very cool and arty. The staff are really helpful and even assisted us with planning the rest of our honeymoon in South Africa! Highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ronan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Blackheath lodge was a wonderful place to stay. The service was amazing and top notch. The food served at breakfast was very good, with eggs cooked to order. The atmosphere was extremely peaceful and relaxing. Charle, the manager, was spectacular as she was so friendly and helpful. She gave us priceless advice about good restaurants to eat at, places to see in Capetown, and where to park while we were out and about. The service was truly above and beyond at Blackheath. Thanks for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeD0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful welcome to South Africa. Greeted at the door after a gruelling overnight flight from London by a beautiful huge hug from Portia, a complimentary offer of breakfast and immediate access to our room (even though check in wasn't officially till 2) We received a very personal and attentive service throughout our stay from Charle and all the other wonderful staff. The service wasn't simply efficient but genuinely warm.
The decor and interior design is luxurious yet homely. Great attention to detail. Relaxing and tranquil pool area which was pleasantly heated (I had a refreshing plunge after my flight) and cosy communal areas.
Would love to return some day.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank jjcassidy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This hotel was a real gem.My husband .& I stopped at the Blackheath Lodge for the first two nights
Of our holiday. They made us very welcome and couldn't do enough to help with anything.
The breakfasts were lovely,the staff were great.I liked the way you could just help yourself to coffee or tea anytime of the day.Thanks again for everything

Room Tip: Room 6 great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,461 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,843 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 112 in Cape Town Central
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,337 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
683 reviews
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
#6 of 112 in Cape Town Central
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £133 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing