We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect home base for a trip to Capetown”
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect home base for a trip to Capetown”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Blackheath Lodge is an beautiful and quaint boutique hotel. Anthony and Jean Claude made sure every detail of your stay is taken care of. They both provided excellent advice and arranged for reservations at really lovely restaurants. They really think of everything. We rented the mini for a day trip to the Cape Peninsula and they made sure we had beach bags stocked with towels! The Lodge is beautiful. Our room was large and decorated beautifully. While we did not have a view, we were happy with how private our room was. The pool area is a lovely place to relax and the bar and kitchen are stocked with anything you could want or need. Breakfast was delicious. I couldn't recommend Blackheath more highly. One quibble - the location is not super convenient to many sights - we relied on cabs. But the Lodge is so lovely, it is almost feels like a retreat from the rest of the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meredith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,672
    122
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
231
1,012
148
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Le Bois-Plage-en-Re, France
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

May be difficult to rate this hotel after staying at DISART, where the stay was perfect. If the decoration at Black Heath was not my taste, this in only personal and may suit many others. However, the room cleanliness that was very average - mainly the bathroom, bad luck also that noisy tourists decided to have breakfast early.
Bedroom very small, though access to a shared adjacent lounge, felt like locked in a box all night !

Room Tip: Avoid #5 which is locked between pool house toilets and another room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sebastien Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We were here in family and enjoyed every moment. The guest house was clean, well decorated close to all major tourist attractions & our hosts could not to enough for us. Hopefully we will be back soon!
Grit, Anna + Dieter

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Salzaecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Excellent room. Made to feel very welcome by Godfrey and the team. A beer on arrival is always sure to get me on a hotel's side. Staff are happy to make suggestions and bookings for restaurants/taxis . A nice touch was the provision of a mobile phone, useful for calling taxis etc. (call costs added to bill so don't go nuts and call home for three hours). Excellent breakfast. Not in centre of Cape Town but not too far by taxi. Half hour walk to V&A waterfront.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

What more can be sais? Warm and friendly with utter professionalism in every aspect of the lodge. This was our second visit after a break of 2 years and, if anything, it gets better all the time. Great location. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: We like the rooms at the top of the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cloverdale, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at Blackheath Lodge for 5 days in February and were extremely happy with the whole experience. The staff (especially Charle and Jean Claude) were wonderfully helpful and kind, the breakfasts excellent and varied, and we loved the location in Seapoint which is easy walking distance to the Promenade, several nice restaurants, and to the MyCity bus stop. The rooms are quiet and the pool area is lovely. Everything was high quality and the service truly exceptional. There is someone on duty all through the night which is unusual in a smaller hotel such as this. We left at 5:00 AM to catch a plane but they had a nice fresh breakfast and coffee ready for us even at that hour. Highly recommended. Also, it is worth the effort to learn a bit about the MyCity bus as it has a large route and is a nice, inexpensive way to get around. Their main office is at the V & A waterfront and the staff there can help you figure it out.

Room Tip: We only saw our room, number 7 up the stairs. Quiet and sunny. Very happy there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DETAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Our stay at Blackheath was simply wonderful! The rooms were clean, comfortable beds and welcoming to travelers! Breakfast was delicious and beautifully served with a variety of fresh fruits and hot entrees. The staff was attentive and helped us to make our daily travel plans. We have stayed in many B&B's and this was one of the best. If you are traveling to Cape Town- stay here, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Our group had 5 rooms- each was different- all were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryEllen S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,391 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,242 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,689 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Property: Blackheath Lodge
Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing