We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay”
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #4 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We spent three nights at the blackheath lodge and very much enjoyed our stay . The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming . The rooms were of a good size and very comfortable . The pool area was lovely and the lounge/ bar area very comfortable . Unfortunately I was very shocked with the price of the laundry service - over 555ZAR for a handful of washing, and I was not advised of the expensive costing by staff when putting in my laundry . Despite being disappointed with this the hotel was lovely and we would stay there again .

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LLCperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,856)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

631 - 637 of 1,856 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

My husband and I recently spent 20 days in South Africa on our honeymoon, thanks to the amazing help and planning of Antony and his team. Antony helped to plan the trip of a lifetime and with only a month's notice. He was so patient throughout the process, always making sure the customer was first. He was the perfect balance for someone who wants to be involved in planning. He was incredibly flexible, genuine, and thorough. He thought of every detail possible! He stuck to our budget, never trying to upsell our experience. We stayed in 7 locations and 7 hotels throughout the country and each transition was so smooth. His recommendations of the locations outside of Blackheath were all fantastic. The trip was flawless, we can not thank Antony and his team enough.

Part of this 20 day stay was at Blackheath and to no surprise it was incredible. I am a picky customer and they thought of everything! No detail was missed: beach bags, sunscreen for their pool, water when you return at night, everything! They gave great recommendations of what to do/where to eat in the area. It's not in the center of Cape Town, but a 4 minute inexpensive cab ride and right next to the ocean, beautiful location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeatherAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My two friends and I had the pleasure of staying at Blackheath Lodge in February 2014. It was an absolutely wonderful visit and the staff was very attentive. They assisted us in booking tours, resturant reservations and transportation. The breakfast was fabulous and the room very well decorated and beds are very comfortable. I don't think we could have had a better introduction to South African hospitality. They even provided us with a local cell phone to use for taxis and/or emergencies. I would not hesitate recommend the Blackhealth Lodge to anyone travaling to Cape Town. Thanks again to the entire staff for making our visit such a pleasure.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTraveler2_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Staying at the Blackheath Lodge was a perfect ending to our trip through South Africa. Extremely helpful, service-minded and friendly staff. Lovingly furnished, wonderful breakfast, good location, quiet . . . an oasis. For late departures, the infrastructure e.g. pool can be used after check-out; there is a pool shower available.

The house was originally built in 1890. They’ve improved the property to reflect an African ambiance with an eclectic mix of contemporary, Victorian and colonial style furnishings. The owner, Antony, explains that because guests only stay a short time allows, this allows decoration and interiors to be a bit more risky than in a private home. There are 12 rather elegantly decorated rooms. We stayed in the loft suite with beautiful views. I can recommend this lodge very highly.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RMK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Superb service, very friendly staff. Owners pay a lot of attention to details, from nice decorations to the way the breakfast is served. Very well managed. Great location in Seapoint. We even got a little cell phone to call taxis or the lodge for any help while exploring Capetown. They also provided a beach bag on the day we went to Clifton. After breakfast you can still get coffee, tea or cakes for free the whole day. The omelette with mushrooms, tomatoes and bacon was the best I had in quite some time. As we are doing some extensive travelling, we also took the opportunity to watch a DVD from the big DVD collection they have. Very, very cozy! Our room was not huge though. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone. Thank you for striving for perfection! This made it a very good holiday, just like your Wifi Code. ;-)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Denneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Just a few words really that can't even to begin to explain what a great place this is. Stayed for 5 nights in March and as it was our first time in Cape Town I emailed Antony and the team beforehand to ask for advice on things to do. Not only did they reply in such detail that we had trouble choosing our trips but they booked everything for us in minutes.
The hotel is beautiful, the rooms clean, fabulously equipped and comfortable and the bar and pool area are welcoming at anytime of the day. We hired the hotel mini for the day and were given maps, advice on scenic routes and recommendations for lunch stops by Charle which were so helpful. Jean Claude looked after us every night with water for the rooms and organising snacks and drinks in the room and Antony made sure each of our organised excursions ran smoothly. The breakfasts are to die for, homemade, fresh and taken in such a beautiful setting overlooking the pool. Every person we spoke to staying here could not believe the level of service, attention to detail, and overall good value this gem of a hotel offers. Complimentary drinks on arrival and on my birthday, a mobile phone in the room with preloaded helpful numbers, a dedicated efficient local taxi service ready to take you anywhere, really... what's not to like. I have been fortunate to travel extensively and the Blackheath Lodge is my best ever hotel experience. Book, you will not be disappointed and like us I think your first visit will not be your last. As a final point we left our camera in reception when leaving for the airport, on realising our mistake we called Jean Claude who searched for and found the camera, safely stored it for us and Charle organised shipping and return. Our treasured holiday photos saved, an expensive camera returned and yet another example of the type of unrivalled customer service the Blackheath Lodge offers... Thank you Charle and Jean Claude.....

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Neal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at the Blackheath Lodge for 9 nights commencing on 14th March 2014. We arrived around mid-day after a night flight from UK. On arrival we were met by Charle. The first thing she said to us was to relax by the pool and offered us a complimentary drink. After a few minutes she joined us and informed us that our bags were in our room and asked what she could they do to make it the best holiday we had ever had and she was true to her word. From booking and advising us about excursions, booking and advising us on the best restaurants, booking taxis there was nothing the staff would not do for us. The breakfast was superb, the honesty bar, the wonderfully decorated room, the quiet location of the guest house although only a ten minutes taxi rise to the V&A all did contribute to this being our best ever holiday.Their biggest asset is the wonderful staff who all appeared happy working there. The owners Antony and John were regularly around helping. On one evening my wife wanted to iron a dress. We borrowed an iron which unfortunately was faulty. As soon as this was realised Godfrey came to our room and even though it was at the end of his shift took the dress and ironed it for us. On our last day after booking out we were encouraged to stay by the pool and offered complimentary drinks until we left in the evening. If you visit Cape Town you should stay at the Blackheath Lodge. It beats any 5 star hotel we have stayed in and Antony,John and their staff will make it your best ever holiday. Thank you all. We will be back.

Room Tip: We are sure any room at the Guest House will be excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,422 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,073 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
662 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#12 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,647 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#35 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £65 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing