We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short break in Cape Town”
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Short break in Cape Town”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in June 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed it. I travel a lot with my job and get very tired of chain hotels so always try to find something different. This is a great place that did not disappoint. Thoughtfully and tastefully decorated, and well maintained by an an excellent team. Jean-Claude is the unsung hero! It has a homely and welcoming feel and is in a good location in a nice part of town. If you're looking for something a little different, I recommend Blackheath Lodge without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobNash78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,663
    122
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
228
1,007
148
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

3 of my girlfriends (mid 20's college friends) and I stayed here on a recommendation from a friend. The hotel did not disappoint! We were able to get two rooms that were adjoining with a large living room and kitchen in between. The entire staff is absolutely amazing. We mentioned that we were going on a sunset hike up to Lions Head and the kitchen ladies made up a picnic basket for us to take with.
I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Cape Town. It is one of the best places I have ever stayed.

Room Tip: We had booked 2 rooms together and the wonderful owners put us in 2 rooms that had a small living ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Blackheath Lodge! From the outside it looks like a small Bed & Breakfast but as soon as you step inside you are amazed by the look & feel of the building. The owners really put thought into every room and everything looks stunning and clean. Originally we booked 2 separate rooms ( family of 5) but only a few days after booking we got a call from the owner suggesting we should stay in the suite instead. It was the same price and he thought it would be much more convenient. Well, he was right. The suite was amazing. Very spacious, beautifully decorated and very comfortable.

When we arrived at the Blackheath Lodge after travelling for quite some time, the welcome was perfect. Godfried was very nice and welcomed us by the door. Immediately our luggage was brought to the room and he sat us down with a wonderful glass of wine. He asked if we had already had diner but we did not. He immediately picked up the phone and made a reservation at a local restaurant. He also asked if we had planned some activities for our week in Capetown and we said no. Then he basically started to plan our stay in Capetown for us and we loved it. He made great suggestions and arranged for our transport and tickets, everything. We visited Cape point, Robben Island, The Winelands and more.

We highly recommend staying at Blackheath Lodge when in Capetown. Beautiful rooms, lovely people, very helpful staff and delicious breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjolein1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have stayed at a few different places in Cape Town, but can't imagine that we will stay anywhere else again now that we've been to Blackheath! It was really outstanding. The room was great, but travelling as a group of four, what we really loved were all of the cozy places around the lodge to hang out around the fireplace and have a drink. I would definitely recommend Blackheath to couples, small groups, and those who would like a place with a sense of community where you can meet and get to know fellow travelers. The staff here is so welcoming and accommodating. The breakfast is fantastic, and there are little treats like candy and cake around all day as well. Sea Point is a great neighborhood to stay in with lots of restaurants that we enjoyed within a few minutes walk.

Room Tip: We stayed in the top floor in room 12 I believe and it was outstanding. Not ideal for 4 people shari...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
333 reviews
264 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Our room was spacious, comfortable and clean. The breakfast was very good and the service was incredible. The Lodge was a little hard to find but with proper instructions to put into the GPS we made it. We found the Lodge within walking distance of the waterfront and shopping. John, Antony and their staff answered questions we had about Capetown, eating, tours etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDNTRAVELLERS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I can't return to South Africa without visiting Capetown and Blackheath Lodge! Antony, John and the entire staff welcome you and help make the stay truly enjoyable. Whether you want to relax or be on the go, this is a great place to call home during your visit. Antony has continually given us terrific recommendations for places to visit, dining and tours. They also help make arrangements and are available at all times. So if you are out wandering around Capetown and want a good place to have lunch nearby, just call on the cell phone they provide for your guests' use. The lodge has expanded over the four years we have stayed there, but it is nice that it has kept a warm and inviting feel. The rooms are all different and and we have enjoyed each one we stayed in. The new bar/lounge is a great place to relax, have a drink, and converse. For those who enjoy breakfast you will love the Blackheath and all they offer! Tea and fresh baked items are available all day as well. We hope to return again next year. Our thanks to everyone at Blackheath!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jldaw54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Blackheath Lodge is a great place to stay during a visit to Capetown - it is centrally located and has off street parking. The team are all warm and welcoming and go out of their way to assist and offer great recommendations about where to go and what to do in the city. We loved the attention to detail - from the welcome pack, to the interior design, to the cellphone they loan you during your stay.

Our only suggestion would be that the shower pressure could have been stronger.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingrose7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Property: Blackheath Lodge
Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing