We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #4 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed in Blackheath lodge for 4 nights in Jun 14. From start to finish it was a wonderful place to be. The service here is first class. The lady on recption and all the staff are so welcoming and booked all excursions for us and really couldnt do enough, advised us on restaurants, places of interest etc. The room we had was fantastic very large bed with a lovely bathroom. Hotel in quiet area no traffic noise. The breakfast each day was also top quality with a hot breakfast with a huge range available on the buffet also. Located within 25min walking of waterfront or 5 min in taxi. 10 min walk to beattiful beachfront boardwalk. We did not use the pool area because of the time of year but it was still cleaned every day which shows their attention to detail. There is also a lobby area with a large open fire, a laptop computer for guest use and a large selection of books. Top class.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronnydrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,880)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

612 - 618 of 1,880 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

We visited Cape Town for three days from the 5th to the 7th of June this year and what a wonderful place Blackheath Lodge was to start our trip.The staff are all fantastic, nothing is too much trouble for them and their knowledge of the area - what restaurnts to eat at, what trips to go on is extensive. They were welcoming from the start with delicious home baked biscuits and cakes which after coming off a long flight from the UK was very appreciative. The rooms are really lovely with attention to detail visible in all parts of the hotel. The beds are extremely comfortable and breakfast was a delight each morning in one of the nicest little terraces. It was lovely to be able to interact with the owners who made you feel very welcome which you don't always get with the larger hotel chains. All we can say is we'll definitely be back to Cape Town and Blackheath Lodge will be the first place we'd look to book. Try it for yourselves you won't be diappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

we visited Cape Town from the 31st tiill the 4th of June this year and stayed at BlackheathLodge. Coming off 21hours of traveling and being greeted with freshly baked biscuits and warm and welcoming staff was an indication of the days to come :) what can i say ? This place feels like home ! all the staff go above and beyond theyre means to help and guide you and make you feel as welcome as possible, the rooms are so beautifully decorated and the beds are extremly comfortable. Whenever we travel, we always look for small, welcoming places like this, makes the trip much more personal and this was certainly that. You meet and interact with the owners who are simply wonderful and get to know them also which was such a nice thing to do :) Cape Town is a magical place and it captured my heart..this place added to that :) I highly recomend it for anyone who is visiting :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samzy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in June 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed it. I travel a lot with my job and get very tired of chain hotels so always try to find something different. This is a great place that did not disappoint. Thoughtfully and tastefully decorated, and well maintained by an an excellent team. Jean-Claude is the unsung hero! It has a homely and welcoming feel and is in a good location in a nice part of town. If you're looking for something a little different, I recommend Blackheath Lodge without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobNash78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

3 of my girlfriends (mid 20's college friends) and I stayed here on a recommendation from a friend. The hotel did not disappoint! We were able to get two rooms that were adjoining with a large living room and kitchen in between. The entire staff is absolutely amazing. We mentioned that we were going on a sunset hike up to Lions Head and the kitchen ladies made up a picnic basket for us to take with.
I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Cape Town. It is one of the best places I have ever stayed.

Room Tip: We had booked 2 rooms together and the wonderful owners put us in 2 rooms that had a small living ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Blackheath Lodge! From the outside it looks like a small Bed & Breakfast but as soon as you step inside you are amazed by the look & feel of the building. The owners really put thought into every room and everything looks stunning and clean. Originally we booked 2 separate rooms ( family of 5) but only a few days after booking we got a call from the owner suggesting we should stay in the suite instead. It was the same price and he thought it would be much more convenient. Well, he was right. The suite was amazing. Very spacious, beautifully decorated and very comfortable.

When we arrived at the Blackheath Lodge after travelling for quite some time, the welcome was perfect. Godfried was very nice and welcomed us by the door. Immediately our luggage was brought to the room and he sat us down with a wonderful glass of wine. He asked if we had already had diner but we did not. He immediately picked up the phone and made a reservation at a local restaurant. He also asked if we had planned some activities for our week in Capetown and we said no. Then he basically started to plan our stay in Capetown for us and we loved it. He made great suggestions and arranged for our transport and tickets, everything. We visited Cape point, Robben Island, The Winelands and more.

We highly recommend staying at Blackheath Lodge when in Capetown. Beautiful rooms, lovely people, very helpful staff and delicious breakfast!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marjolein1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have stayed at a few different places in Cape Town, but can't imagine that we will stay anywhere else again now that we've been to Blackheath! It was really outstanding. The room was great, but travelling as a group of four, what we really loved were all of the cozy places around the lodge to hang out around the fireplace and have a drink. I would definitely recommend Blackheath to couples, small groups, and those who would like a place with a sense of community where you can meet and get to know fellow travelers. The staff here is so welcoming and accommodating. The breakfast is fantastic, and there are little treats like candy and cake around all day as well. Sea Point is a great neighborhood to stay in with lots of restaurants that we enjoyed within a few minutes walk.

Room Tip: We stayed in the top floor in room 12 I believe and it was outstanding. Not ideal for 4 people shari...
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lizzie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,441 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 110 in Cape Town Central
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#6 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,106 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#45 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,542 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £115 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing