We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay in Cape Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #3 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich
1 review
“Excellent place to stay in Cape Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

We stayed more than a week at Blackheath Lodge. The lodge is very clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is delicious. Antony and John helped us organize a Western Cape tour and made all the bookings for us. It was very convenient. At the end of our five day tour we returned back to Blackheath Lodge for our last day in Cape Town. I would higlhly recommend this lodge... great value for what you pay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rd03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,653
    122
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
227
1,000
148
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2009

Blackheath Lodge is a stunning small hotel. From our arrival where we were greeted by owner Anthony with tea on the deck to the beautifully finished rooms and the delicious breakfasts (I am sorely missing the fruit crumbles!!) every detail of our stay demonstrated the care and attention that had been put in by the staff. The hotel's location means that it is far enough out of central Cape Town to be tranquil and we felt safe to walk around the locality. However it is still close enough to walk into the Waterfront. We would definitely stay at Blackheath Lodge if we were lucky enough to come to Cape Town again!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancescaLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2009

Blackheath Lodge is a beautifully decorated, intimate lodge run by incredibly gracious hosts extraordinaire, Antony and John. Staying at Blackheath was the perfect end to a month-long safari spent camping in the bush - it's a luxurious but homey haven, staffed by some of the friendliest people we met in Africa. I couldn't wait to end a day of sightseeing in Cape Town with a glass of wine on Blackheath's charming verandah - simply staying here is an attraction in itself. Owner Antony was amazing - he will completely take care of you, either by booking day tours, giving sightseeing advice, or recommending amazing restaurants. In addition, he promptly mailed me some bracelets I had forgotten in the room eventhough I live halfway around the world! I am also STILL thinking about the strawberry tarts they serve as part of their delicious breakfast, which included great cheese, smoothies, fresh juice, fruit, cereal, eggs cooked to order, bacon, toast, and mini quiches. The staff at Blackheath Lodge really goes that extra mile for their guests, and I cannot recommend any other accomodation more highly.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrairieSary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2009

Blackheath Lodge was one of our great surprises!! The incredible staff made our trip just perfect. Located in a nice neighbourhood, close to everything. The late afternoon talk to other guests, with nice wine, could last hours. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PropoBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

This was a well located lodge in relation to all the sites in cape town and we found it to be in a safe part of town where we were happy to have our car parked outside in the free off-street parking provided. Anthony, the owner was very helpful and welcoming to our family and always went that extra step to help us out especially when we were organising our itinery - he offered to book the places for us and printed out directions of how to get to the various places. The rest of the staff are also very helpful and welcoming. The rooms were very clean and had all the facilities one would expect. The breakfast was good as here was the option of having a cooked breakfast on top of things like cereal. In conclusion, we would recommend this lodge and go back next time we travel to c.town.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UmaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

I highly recommend the Blackhealth lodge. The Victorian house has been beautifully and lovingly restored - high ceilings, hardwood floors, ecletic decor. The delicious and hearty breakfast is served on the vernada overlooking the garden and pool - equally beautiful! Most of all J&A are warm and friendly hosts. They also provided some excellent restaurant recommendations! I would definitely return

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulpen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

We enjoyed our 2-day stay very much. The service was excellent. We got advice about where to go and what to do, leaving the choice with us. Anthony suggested us a trendy restaurant where we had dinner. We enjoyed the lavishly breakfast. A pity the Blackheath Lodge is so far from home. If it was a bit closer by we would certainly come more often.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Property: Blackheath Lodge
Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing