We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you needed a sanctuary to relax in while in one of the best cities on the planet - Blackheath Lodge is it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #3 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you needed a sanctuary to relax in while in one of the best cities on the planet – Blackheath Lodge is it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

On approaching Blackheath Lodge I was struck by it’s immaculate frontage and it’s great location (walking distance to both the mountains and the sea, an only a short and cheap journey in a cab to the City Centre and Camps Bay). Once inside a modern and very calming atmosphere takes over. I liked the way that the communal areas were decorated and this coupled with the beautiful terrace and pool area made it a place I knew I wanted to spend a lot of time. As soon as you meet John and Antony who run Blackheath Lodge you see exactly where the happy atmosphere comes from. Their warm and friendly nature makes you feel completely at home and their helpful attitude to your stay immediately comes across. They don’t want to just make your stay comfortable but they will go above and beyond the call of duty to help you organise your itinerary. Whether you want to go for a day trip to the winelands or book a trip to Robben Island – they will help you do this, making things pretty stress free. And I suggest that you listem to their suggestions for dinner bookings – they never got it wrong for us!

The room we stayed in was one of two double rooms at the top of the guesthouse. The room was fresh and simple with a view of the sea over a few rooftops. There was always water by the bed as well as wine and snacks if you needed it. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was spacious, modern and clean. The bedroom was perfect for winding down between a busy day being a tourist and a hectic evening eating and drinking! Curiosity got the better of me as usual and I also had a peak (with John and Antony of course!) at some of the other bedrooms. All just as beautiful as ours and all completely individual. Although not all the rooms had a view, this really doesn’t matter as they all had so much charm. I would have been happy staying in any of them.

Breakfast was always a joy. Homemade individual flio quiches, fresh yoghurt, granola breakfast cakes, cheeses and the best breakfast omelet I’ve tasted in a long time! Fresh juice and as much tea and coffee as you like set me up for the day perfectly. One of the other things I loved about Blackheath Lodge was the relaxed feeling of the guesthouse as afternoon descended into evening. Comfy chairs and tables played host to a collection of drinks you could sip on served by a member of the team. It was lovely to sit on the terrace, over looking the pool while drinking a local wine or cider before going out.

Having never been to Cape Town before, I was struck by the friendly nature of everyone that I met. The other guests staying at Blackheath Lodge were a mixture of first timers to and those who return for John and Antony’s hospitality time and time again – and who can blame them. I’ll certainly be back.

John and Antony and their team couldn’t have looked after us better – coming across like one big happy family at all times. In fact, they were the personification of why you should stay there. If you needed a sanctuary to relax in while in one of the best cities on the planet – Blackheath Lodge is it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TVACLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,653
    122
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
227
1,000
148
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

Blackheath Lodge came highly recommended from very discerning travellers (note: fussy and like attention to detail!) and I was certainly not disappointed.

Great location, charming and friendly service, very comfortable rooms and relaxed peaceful atmosphere ... will definitely make a bee line on next visit! Perfect as a base exploring Cape Town and surroundings or for a relaxing retreat from the world ...

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebalanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

Our first time to South Africa, and Blackheath Lodge ended our holiday perfectly. The hotel is a great location, about 10 mins on the bus or in a taxt to the V&A Waterfront or 15 mins to Camps Bay. It's in a quiet location off the busy road, but easy to get to and had parking for our hire car. All the staff really go the extra mile for you right through from first making contact to book. Antony's restaurant suggestions were amazing - we would never have found those places otherwise. Would definitely recommend the place and stay there again...

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marra88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jhb
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

Beautiful mix of classic Cape Town building with contemporary touch.
Very well managed - home from home

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2009

Our great experience of Blackheath started at home in England three months prior to our arrival there. Anthony provided great customer service via the telephone & email, he offered to help us maximise our time in Cape Town by having trips organised for us to save us shopping around. We decided not to take him up but it was great to know that if we changed our minds that Anthony was on the end of the phone/email.

On arrival I think we gave Anthony quite a shock as I had booked via email and stated I would be bringing my daughter. I think Anthony thought she was older than just the 3years that she is. (apparently its 12+ for kids). To his credit he said no problem and was happy to see her everytime she bumped into her; the staff were fantastic and were also great with my daughter.

The place is very small and compact and I can totally understand the children policy. Although it is very small the rooms are amazing & huge; they are fantasically decorated and has everything you need. The whole place is fantasically decorated, everywhere you look there is the smallest detail that just makes the place so great. The mornings were my favourite time as the breakfasts and the breakfast balcony are just fantastic.

I love the place and would choose this anyday over any of the V&A hotels.

I really hope I get the chance to visit again.....

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daz2988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

We enjoyed our "secret" getaway at Blackheath. In the middle of the bustling city is this quite oasis. The breakfast was the best of all the breakfasts on our 2 week trip. Order an omlete, they are delicious!. Antony was very helpful with restaurant recommendations and other arrangements including a booking through the Wine Desk for a tour of the wine region. You must do this! The neighborhood is convenient and the rooms comfortable. You must eat at Sevruga's in the waterfront. What a memorable night.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candktravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames Valley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2009

We were recommended to Blackheath Lodge by friends - and we were very grateful to then for doing so, after a lovely week with Antony, Michelle, Jean-Claude and the team. The location is very convenient for trips into town or out to the country. The courtyard garden and pool are delightful and we always looked forward to our breakfast on the verandah - such a marvellous choice of healthy, fresh food ... and also some indulgences! Our room was very spacious, had lots of character and was beautifully furnished. Above all, the helpfulness and warmth of the whole team is marvellous. Whether day trips or evening meals, they could not have been better at finding exactly what we wanted, including places we would not have found in a month of hunting on our own. If you want something completely different from a large, corporate chain hotel, look no further.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Choosytraveller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Property: Blackheath Lodge
Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing