We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing boutique b&b”
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #4 of 108 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing boutique b&b”
Reviewed 23 November 2009

We loved our stay at Blackheath Lodge - it's a B&B masquerading as a small boutique hotel. Antony was a great host - he's the co-owner, but also a great concierge, booking us good tables at great restaurants and always graciously helpful. They even have a car they rent out to guests for 5000 rand a day. The rooms are clean and airy, we paid a little extra for a room with a sea view - the bed was so comfortable. Breakfast on the veranda is delicious, overlooking a little pool. The decor is modern, boutiquey, and you can tell that someone has paid close attention to all the detail. Blackheath Lodge is a little oasis tucked into the 'suburbs'. The location isn't very central - though the address is Sea Point it's closer to Three Anchor Bay - but the main areas of the city are a short taxi ride away, and Cape Town is easy to navigate.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank f25l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,662
    122
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
228
1,006
148
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brasschaat
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2009

enjoy your time in Cape Town, and let them give you advises on alle aereas!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esperanzaBrasschaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnham
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2009

For those of you who are fond of chic 5star hotel rooms with crisp white linen, but miss the little peronal touches and feelings of home then you won't be disappointed with Blackheath Lodge. From the moment we pulled up Antony, the proprietor was there to greet us and a complimentary pot of freshly brewed tea was soon brought to our room as we settled in. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the communial areas very relaxing with a pretty courtyard/pool setting. The breakfasts really are outstanding and certainly set you up for a day's sightseeing in Cape Town. Everything that the Cape has to offer is within easy reach by car from Blackheath Lodge and Anthony has a wealth of information on worthwhile places to visit. He even kindly pre-booked a dinner reservation at our favourite restaurant The Codfather in Camps Bay before we arrived. Nothing was ever too much trouble. Working in the travel industry I shall certainly be recommending Blackheath Lodge on its high standard of accommodation,welcoming staff and convenient location. Thank you for a wondewrful stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FarnhamTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2009

As an airline pilot I've experienced many hotels over the last 20 years but in my opinion this is the best. The staff are genuinely hospitable, the building has been renovated to an extremely high standard, the location is quiet and safe but just a short stroll to the beach (and about 25mins on foot to the city center). The room (room 7) was light bright airy and the bed was so comfortable that I slept for 9 1/2 hours with out a break (unheard of for me). The breakfast was sumptuous on their beautiful veranda overlooking the pool and the lovely gardens. Anthony, John and Michelle will arrange airport transfers, excursions and tours, and there is even a car to hire if you wish. So if you are looking for a boutique independent hotel in Cape Town which is clean, comfortable, welcoming and great value, then look no further just book the Blackheath Lodge and you wont regret it.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrumpyLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2009

Our room was spacious and beautifully furnished with a huge bed and a comfortable sofa as well as all the usual bedroom furnishings. The French windows in our room overlooked the swimming pool, a few steps down in the shaded garden courtyard, full of colourful shrubs and trees. To our left was the veranda where breakfast and drinks were served. It was very gracious. all the staff were attentive and friendly.
a most comfortable and pleasant stay and ideal for sundowners after a busy day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbo48york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2009

Had the pleasure of staying in Blackheath Lodge for our holiday in Cape Town, it was comfortable, clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

Would recommend it to anyone travelling to Cape Town.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDelahoyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2009

We arrived in Blackheath Lodge after travelling from Kruger Park and were greeted by Antony who showed us to our beautiful room with a Super King size bed. Our room was very spacious and had its own private entrance to the garden/pool area with a view of Robben Island. Antony then offered to book us a restaurant while we settled in, which was perfect for our first night in Cape Town.

Breakfast was awesome and served on the terrace over looking the pool. Bacon, eggs, mushrooms, toast, cereal, and the strawberry jam crumbles are delicious. Just what you need to start the day.

The guesthouse is really nicely decorated, everything is clean and tidy so it’s the perfect place to stay, and in a great spot at Sea Point to head down to the V & A Waterfront for dinner. There are of course plenty of other restaurants to go to and when we were stuck for a place to go and eat, Antony and John had some excellent recommendations.

All of the staff were friendly and pleasant, we knew most of the time what we wanted to do and where we wanted to go, but if you ever got stuck or wanted advice on anything, the team would go out of their way to help you or make something easier. An example of this was when we planned to go up Table Mountain, Antony checked on the website, was able to see the length of the queue and because it seemed quite busy, ordered us the tickets and printed them off for us, meaning we didn’t have to queue when we got there! Show me any concierge that would do this…

The attention to detail is second to none, you would never get that at any hotel, even the four seasons couldn’t compete… Examples – travel power plug already in your room, tourist brochures and leaflets in your room, a handy welcome guide giving you some sound travel advice, power point in the draw beneath the wardrobe mirror for the missus and her GHD… It’s little touches like this that make it so special.

On our last night Antony and John were having a drink and asked us to join them before we went out for dinner. It almost felt like we’d known one another for some time. It was hard to leave knowing we had to come back to the wind and rain in the UK but it was made more difficult because it felt like you were leaving a home from home. We’d stayed there for 9 nights and we really were so relaxed and comfortable that we wont think next time about where to stay.

Also would like to mention and thank Jean-Claude for looking after us in the evenings.

Thanks for such a memorable stay and see everyone in a few years, we won’t hesitate to recommend Blackheath Lodge to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveUK81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Property: Blackheath Lodge
Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing