We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SIMPLY PERFECT!!! THE ONLY PLACE TO STAY IN CAPE TOWN”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #3 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
1 review
“SIMPLY PERFECT!!! THE ONLY PLACE TO STAY IN CAPE TOWN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

The Blackheath Lodge is the only place to stay in Cape Town, not only for the perfect location, the beautiful guest house and all the comforts but especially for impeccable service i received from Antony , John and the whole team. Antony was always available to help in any way; he suggested the best restaurants and places to go and helped me organizing my trip to the Garden Route.
I travelled a lot all over the world and stayed in beautiful 4 or 5 stars hotel but i never experienced such a perfect customer service that had been at the maximum standard from the time we entered the Backheath Lodge till the day sadnley I had to leave.
Thank You for the unforgettable stay.........

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorenzo068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,653
    122
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
227
1,000
148
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

After reading all of the positive reviews about the lodge, I took the plunge and booked. Now, I can't see myself staying ANYWHERE else when I'm in Cape Town. The place was beautiful and the staff were friendly and accommodating. I stayed in the lodge at the end of a three week camping tour of the coast... which, needless to say, made the elegant surroundings stand out even more. Don't hesitate to book.

Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank AndrewW18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

We stayed for 4 nights and it was great. The rooms are very stylish, the breakfast is excellent, the service is outstanding. We liked the little details like the mobile phone for every room including a prepaid card to save the expensive roaming fees.
We enjoyed our stay very much. Hope to come back soon.
Thanks to Michelle, Antony, Peter and Jean-Claude for your cordial hospitality - we felt at home!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dieterthomas112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

It's a lovely place with very nice people. Our room was beautiful decorated and everything needed was there. The best was mobile phone which was prepared to at the disposal for the guests during their stay. All important numbers i.e. blackheath lodge, taxi, emergency were already entered. An excellent idea, which for us (as we were also meeting with friends) a very handy tool! Thank Antony - super! His brother Nick was also very helpful and we enjoyed every minute at this lovely place! We will definitely come back and recommend to everybody!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

Attention to detail at Blackheath was exceptional. Anthony and his team could not have been more helpful or supportive but were never obtrusive. The house is perfect and the addition of the garden and pool make it a haven to reteat to. It really was a home from home.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bumble4pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Blackheath lodge for 3 nights and have nothing but praise for Antony and team!

The whole place shows an unparalleled attention to details and a unique character. The rooms and very clean and cozy, and the bed is fantastic! There is even a mobile phone with a local RSA number to be used during the stay to avoid expensive roaming bills! The breakfast is delicious (I loved the crumble pies!), the service impeccable, the pool area (heated pool of course...) charming and super-relaxing. Everybody was really kind and they really went the extra mile to make sure that we had an enjoyable stay (from restaurant bookings to advices on best beaches, and even weather forecast :)).

Overall we really enjoyed our stay, and would definitely recommend this place for a relaxing holiday in Cape Town.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GilandCintia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

We'd absolutely recommend this gem. From our first welcome to last wishes of "come again" we felt so well cared for and pampered. You know when the housekeeper gives you a hug along with her wishes for safe travels that you've found a place to recommend and hope that you get to come back to some day. Our room was perfectly appointed. We particularly enjoyed time spent on the sunny porch enjoying a tastefully served breakfast. Antony and his staff were remarkable and went far beyond expectations to meet our request for tickets and dinner reservations. We highly recommend Blackhealth and feel truly lucky to have found it on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 910JAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Property: Blackheath Lodge
Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing