We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent wines and very friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Diemersdal

Diemersdal
Attraction details
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
514 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Excellent wines and very friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

This a beautiful estate and the wines are excellent. I love Sauvignon Blanc and this estate does several! Eight Rows being my favourite.
Beautiful setting and tasting inside an old Cape Dutch building. Very informative and you could taste what you wanted, no charge at the moment.
The food also looked very good and it is a great place to sit under the umbrellas in summer
The only downside, as a tourist, was finding the place. It's not easy but we glad we persevered. It is probably best approached from the N7, rather than the N1

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank lisasplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
85 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Room for improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

We visited the newly opened Diemersdal Restaurant. There is room for improvement, hope it is just teething problems. Consider citronella candles to keep the flies away inside the restaurant. We had the Winelands platters. The menu states variety of cold meats and cheese, preserves and pickles. The biscuits and pickles was missing. Only knives was provided to eat and scoop with not very practical. We thoroughly enjoyed the wine. The Restaurant have a nice ambiance and it is situated on a beautiful historical wine estate.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hilary023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pierrebenn, Manager at Diemersdal, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Thanks for the review!

We are glad you enjoyed the wine!

Our restaurant can only improve as we gain more experience and feedback from our guests.

Much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
164 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Saturday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Diemersdal Restaurant opened recently, and we had lunch there on Saturday, end of October. A table was set up for us outside in the shade (it was very hot). The menu is not extensive yet, but we ordered two Tapas Platters and some lovely 2012 Sauvignon Blanc. The platters were out of the world - something really different. Things like Pork Belly pieces were on there, and lots of nice bread. There is always a cheese platter available, and everyday there is a different "plat de jour".
Well worth a visir, and on a really nice historic farm.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HeinOos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirol, Austria
Level Contributor
306 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Excellent wine, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

At the Diemersdal Estate you will find one of the best Pink Wines of South Africa. Also the Pinotage and the Private Collection are highly recommended. The MM Louw is one of the best wines I ever had.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank xtraveller71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
277 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Awesome wines...impressive buildings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Diemersdal Estate was established many generations ago, according to their website in 1698. The buildings on the estate are in Classic Cape Dutch Architecture, and if you are interested in architecture and the like it is well worth having a good look at them. However, it is the quality of the wine that really makes a trip to Diemersdal worth while. They have so many wines that it really is good to allow yourslef at least an hour or more to enjoy their best drops. The staff are very friendly, and helpful in explaining the wines and telling you all about the winery estate. My favourites were their Sauvignon Blanc Reserve, which was so good, I thoroughly recommended to another couple of travellers as I was leaving and they were arriving, and their Chardonnay Reserve was pretty good as well but their best is a red called MM Louw which is not available for tasting. So I did the next best thing and bought a bottle. Even though it is 240 Rand you will not be disappointed. The current vintage, 2009, was a very good year and the wine shows this magnificently. The intensity and complexity of both fruit driven and barrel aged characteristics are superb; the mouth feel is amazing and the taster lingers for what seems like forever. If you like great wine, or know someone who does buy a bottle and really enjoy. Go here; it's worthwhile.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Diemersdal also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Diemersdal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing