We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel!”
Review of A Sunflower Stop

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
A Sunflower Stop
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Sunflower Stop in the beginning of 2013. The hostel was quite busy so there was a nice vibe. The rooms are nice and luxurious, once you lay on the bed you almost do not want to get out. The rooms are serviced daily what is very nice and very personal! The hostel is situated in a safe area. Not in the middle of the city but very safe. V&A waterfront is only a 15 minutes walk and the city centre is really good reachable by taxi! Really had a good stay at Sunflower Stop!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kortewegjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

276 - 282 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2013

Sunflower Stop is fantastic. From the people I met while staying there to all of the assistance in arranging my time in Cape Town, I was never disappointed. I stayed in a mixed dorm room with a friend and we were very happy about the cleanliness and respectfulness everyone showed while staying. The accommodation at the hostel ranged from nice self contained rooms to 8 person dorm style making it suitable for multiple populations. I would recommend this place to anyone and hope to get back to Cape Town soon!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krissy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

I stayed in a mixed dorm room, with some friends, and had a nice time there. As a frequent visitor of hostels I was happily surprised at this place.
First of all, it was clean. The rooms and the shared bathroom facilities. They also made your bed every day. Talk about luxury at a hostel!
Second of all, it was not a party hostel, it was just a quiet oasis of calm with some really nice people. I was surprised, but not in a negative way, that there was such a varied demographic of people there. Young and old from all over, and some even staying for months.
Third, they had a lot of day tours and such at the hostel. You barely have to lift a finger to do anything if you don't feel like it while staying in Cape Town.
The only negative thing I experienced, and this is rather minor, is that there wasn't a proper ladder on the bunk bed for the top bed. It was just a pain getting up and down, especially for someone not terribly flexible.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theawesometraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

If i could stay here longer i would it's just beautiful. I'll be Back. Definitely memories that stay for my whole life. I really can recomend it from my heart. plus a hilarious moment when a drunk italian convinced me that i'd eaten "cat!" - it was chicken ;)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AjKarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed here for a few days in June, the weather in Cape Town is not always the best at this time, cause it rains often...but wow, the people at Sunflower Stop pulled out all the stops, they made sure that even the rain wouldnt stop us from enjoying a night out on the town. The people are friendly, the atmosphere is warm, the rooms are comfortable...We met so many people from different places.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nhlamulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I was there in augiust 2012. Nice rooms, good location and very friendly personnel =)
We stayed there just one night because all rooms vere fully booked next day,
So if u're going there it's better to book before

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012 via mobile

Everything is extremely well maintained, clean, fresh, pleasant.
Friendly staff
Great location
Tourist friendly- public areas to hang out, free wifi, multi plug outlets for elec. devices even with European plug
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nemo1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Town Lodge
#82 of 112 in Cape Town Central
734 reviews
Never at Home Cape Town
#5 of 129 in Cape Town Central
397 reviews
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#10 of 129 in Cape Town Central
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 129 in Cape Town Central
738 reviews
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 129 in Cape Town Central
520 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#9 of 129 in Cape Town Central
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Sunflower Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Sunflower Stop

Address: 179 Main Rd | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £15 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — A Sunflower Stop 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sunflower Stop backpackers offers relaxing and comfortable accommodation for budget travellers in Cape Town. Nestled between the mountains and sea, the backpackers hostel is in the perfect location to enjoy your time in Cape Town. With a self-catering kitchen, bar and T.V. lounge, our luxury backpackers offers affordable accommodation for every budget. So come and make yourself at home with our friendly staff, cool off in our refreshing sun filled swimming pool, relax at the cosy bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your A Sunflower Stop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Stop Hotel Cape Town Central
Sunflower Stop Cape Town
A Sunflower Stop Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing