We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of A Sunflower Stop

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
A Sunflower Stop
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here in March after a recommendation from STA Travel.
The best hostel I stayed in the South Africa.
Good location plus helpful and fun staff. Good pick up point for the Baz Bus which made everything easy. Facilities are nice and clean, the cleaners do a good job.
Called in advance for late check in and staff happily arranged transfer from airport.
The bar is a great place to hang out, meet people and be entertained by both bar staff and other travellers.
Highly recommended, keep up the good work!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jadee636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    126
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
18
62
104
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed in a double room with shared bathroom for 1 night, and found the hostel to be absolutely fine for a stopover. However, for a longer stay I wouldn't recommend the double room we stayed in, as it was quite far away from the shared bathroom and noise from the bar could be heard clearly at night. The room itself was small, but clean and comfortable. The wifi was free and worked quite well. There seemed to be only one bathroom for all guests to share - 4 showers and quite a few toilets - unisex and sort of "locker room" style. Location was great - walking distance to the Waterfront (25 mins) and the city centre (40 mins). Very good value for the price and location. Would recommend for backpackers who want dorm accommodation and want to meet other travellers.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gebailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Great place to stay, first ever backpackers experience but staff were welcoming. Accommodated for my late arrival. Good atmosphere and felt very safe. Good facilities to keep belongings safe both in the room and in reception. Just bring a padlock for the lockers. I would definitely go again!

Room Tip: Dorm for solo travellers to meet new people, but bring some earplugs if your a light sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinadina87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

My friend and I stayed at Sunflower Stop in Feb. Firstly, that place is really friendly. I felt like at home. Toilets and rooms are always clean.
There is just a little problem, somenights i couldnt sleep because of loud speaking voice come from outside. People gets drunk and starts to speaking and laughing very loudly. If you wanna sleep very well you should choose your room in upstairs.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yagmjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Hi, I was a walk in and chose that hostel as it had good ratings on the hostel booking pages. The athmosphere was good and the people generally nice.

HOWEVER, while staying there, my room was infected with bed bugs. First I thought, no problem, but now I am still suffering from it and several people told me that they had the same issue in different rooms. Now that I did some more research about the subject, the room (nb 7) indeed had a sweet smelly odeur which is significant for bed buggs.

All in all, although the hostel is ok and they tried to react professionally the problem, I am convinced that much more needs to be done to overcome the problem than just spaying it and then renting it back out the same day. I would not go back there.

Room Tip: Do not take room number 7 as it was infected with bed buggs and people told me there were more dorm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blauerbussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunflowerstop, Manager at A Sunflower Stop, responded to this review, 8 November 2014
Hi there,
Thank you for your review of us. All reviews good or bad, help us to improve our backpackers hostel. We are terribly sorry you had a rough time with bugs. We assure you that this is a problem that all backpackers have, due to the heavy incoming and outgoing of guests from all around the country and the creatures they tend to bring with them. We do try to prevent this by regularly blocking rooms from the public in order to spray rooms, and are always sincerely sorry when there is a problem.
Many thanks,
A Sunflower Stop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed here for a few days at the end of my holiday through the western cape. Great staff that really went out of their way to make guests feel welcome and at home. From friendly and helpful on arrival to some great nights around the bar in the evening.

The relaxing atmosphere really encourages guests to interact and share stories about where they are from and where they've been. The garden and pool are great for unwinding before and after a days activities.

Good facilities and a great location contribute even further to the convenience of staying there.

Can really recommend Sunflower Stop strongly to travelers wishing to enjoy the city and I would gladly stay there again :D

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

My friend and I stayed at Sunflower Stop in mid November 2013 prior to embarking on an overland tour across Africa. We had read the positive reviews online which helped us decide to stay here. We’re pleased to say that the positive reviews are true, this place is great.

We had arrived around midnight and the staff were very friendly and welcoming, and told us to not worry about checking in until the morning. They showed us our room, warmly invited us for a drink if we wished to join, and then let us have our rest.

We stayed in a private room with double beds and air conditioning. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was decent, our room was clean and the rooms were serviced daily, with fresh towels provided. This is rare for most hostels (usually you have to provide your own towels).

The hostel bar is cozy and friendly; we had some awesome times drinking at the bar on several nights. We felt like instant family. One night the guys at the hostel invited us to their African Braai (BBQ) - we bought our own meat and the guys offered to cook it for us. We were thrilled and certainly grateful as we had no idea how to braai haha.

The location of the hostel is great – we walked down to the V&A Waterfront many, many times – it’s only about a 10 minute walk. There is a great Italian store down the road from Sunflower Stop that quickly became our main source of groceries and snacks. Good prices and great location, and about a 5 minute walk from the hostel. There are ATM’s along the street and a local butchery, as well as various places to shop or pick up supplies.

The hostel kitchen has all the amenities you need – the propane stove can be a bit tricky to light up but the staff were very friendly and helpful when we had issues.

The front desk staff were very helpful with booking tours and excursions – they recommended their picks for the top tours and providers, and called multiple places to find spots to book us into a wine tour that was very busy. Their kind persistence was appreciated! Many places would give up after the first phone call.

The neighborhood is safe, we didn’t ever feel uncomfortable walking back to the hostel, even when it began to get dark

It’s a hostel environment – which means fun, friendly and welcoming people and a super chill environment. I really liked the vibe - you don’t get that type of environment with a fancy hotel.
Would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_junkie266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 125 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
City Bowl
The Backpack
The Backpack
#4 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Sunflower Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Sunflower Stop

Property: A Sunflower Stop
Address: 179 Main Rd | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — A Sunflower Stop 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sunflower Stop backpackers offers relaxing and comfortable accommodation for budget travellers in Cape Town. Nestled between the mountains and sea, the backpackers hostel is in the perfect location to enjoy your time in Cape Town. With a self-catering kitchen, bar and T.V. lounge, our luxury backpackers offers affordable accommodation for every budget. So come and make yourself at home with our friendly staff, cool off in our refreshing sun filled swimming pool, relax at the cosy bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your A Sunflower Stop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Stop Hotel Cape Town Central
Sunflower Stop Cape Town
A Sunflower Stop Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing