We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome spot and staff!!”
Review of A Sunflower Stop

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
A Sunflower Stop
Certificate of Excellence
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome spot and staff!!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here in May. Great location. The staff Andrew and John were lots of fun and always up for a good chat and sharing stories. The braai night was great, the butcher down the road sells a wide variety of meats. Room was always clean. Was a fantastic place to call home whilst in Cape Town. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceandMek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    130
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
19
62
106
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed for a few nights. Very helpful guys with an understanding and cool staff. Had a good experience. The Wi-Fi can be quite an issue though...it is free, but i doubt you'll be able to do anything from your room.

Room Tip: on a solo or couple trip, pick a single private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yan_Kabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Cannot recommend this place highly enough. Great location, staff, atmosphere and price. Loved our time there and would love to go back. It is great value for money and has a very relaxed atmosphere. Would really recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the Sunflower Stop twice when we travelled throughout Africa and it was by far the best and most welcoming hostel in South Africa. We loved the staff and the braai nights!! The bar was so much fun and the rooms were always very clean and cheery!!
Love this place definitely will stay here again the next time we are in SA!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Me K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in backpackers/hostels in sydney, new zealand around the uk and some in europe and the Sunflower has been by far one of my favourites! We came as a group of 5 with a friend whi had been here before and recommended it and stayed for five nights before heading off around the western cape. From the moment we arrived the staff were welcoming. The bar.. although small has such a friendly atmosphere again with staff being helpful. Shower facilities were clean with lovely hot showers.. plenty of bathrooms and towels at reception if needed. ATM, supermarket within very short waking distance and the waterfront area less than 10 mins walk away with many shops,bars, restaurants and gorgeous views. Kitchen facilities were really clean and well equipped. Computers too with internet access and good wifi. We had a braii (barbeque) on the gorgeous outdoor fire/bbq with other guests on the saturday night! The bar was a great little hub for chatt8ng with 9ther guests and swapping travel stories in a really relaxed atmosphere. There is a pool but as we were in cape town during winter it was a little too cold to swim but we were offered hot water bottles should we need them! Less than a 10 minute drive to camps bay and and only a few mins in a taxi to Long Street! The rooms were cleaned and maintained everyday. The staff were relaxed but always there when you needed anything. Overall as far as hostels go the Sunflower was great.. so much so that we felt it was like a home from home and we have booked to return for our remaining four nights in cape town!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingteacherei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

On a perfect place in Cape Town, in the area ​​Green Point, we've had a fantastic week. The staff of A Sunflower Stop is friendly, helpful and likes a party at the bar.
Waterfront, Seapoint, the center of Cape Town and the beach are nearby. Supermarket is around the corner and there is a pool in the garden.

The beds in the hostel are excellent. Occasionally a cold shower, but then you're immediately awake!

A Sunflower Stop, remember that name!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasperLentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

What more can I say, Sunflower Stop is the True "Home away from home" Close to the V&A and city. Great staff and bar. The owner Ashley is a gem and always ready to help with any request. One tour I can highly recommend is the Winelands tour. Great trip and a small headache in the morning if you choose. Long may you guys Rock!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Yodabok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 125 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
City Bowl
The Backpack
The Backpack
#4 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Sunflower Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Sunflower Stop

Property: A Sunflower Stop
Address: 179 Main Rd | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — A Sunflower Stop 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sunflower Stop backpackers offers relaxing and comfortable accommodation for budget travellers in Cape Town. Nestled between the mountains and sea, the backpackers hostel is in the perfect location to enjoy your time in Cape Town. With a self-catering kitchen, bar and T.V. lounge, our luxury backpackers offers affordable accommodation for every budget. So come and make yourself at home with our friendly staff, cool off in our refreshing sun filled swimming pool, relax at the cosy bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HRS so you can book your A Sunflower Stop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Stop Hotel Cape Town Central
Sunflower Stop Cape Town
A Sunflower Stop Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing