We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Liberty Lodge”
Review of Liberty Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Liberty Lodge
Ranked #24 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed at Liberty Lodge for 6 wonderful nights before our wedding in the winelands. Ruth from the moment we booked was a superstar, offering endless recommendations and suggestions. Nothing was too much trouble and Liberty Lodge was a perfect place to stay. We felt so at home here and loved our room, the location and the gorgeous views off the upstairs balcony. Everything was within easy reach and it was brilliant having so many gorgeous restaurants on our doorstep.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NiknaxZambia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2013

Our stay at the Liberty Lodge was one great experience. The place is very cozy with only a few rooms and the service is very personalized. The owner, Ruth was so accommodating especially since our 3 daughters were with us and they were able to room together. Breakfast was a treat we look forward to every morning. Ruth was so helpful in telling us points of interest and helping us get around. No doubt, we will stay at the Lodge if we have the chance to visit Cape Town again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agnes C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

My wife n I stayed @ Liberty Lodge 4 a week in Dec,we had such a good time. The lodge has a spectacular view of table mountain, we had a delicious breakfast evryday with the host Ruth, what a nice gracious woman. She s very helpful with where to go, where to eat. I'd definately go back to Liberty lodge on my next visit to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lulimpho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

There are many highlights in our trip and one of them is a stay at Liberty lodge!firstly, we wanna thank Ruth for her hospitality and help rendered to us during our stay. Casual chats with her in the mornings during breakfast were very enliightening and enjoyable.We've learnt a lot from her and the stay was really comfortable with clean room and bed. We have a view of the table mountsin from our room which was excellent! Will definitely come back to this lodge in our next visit to Cape Town..

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yagiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We stayed at the Liberty Lodge for 3 nights in December. Ruth was an amazing host and made us feel like home. We were spoiled with amazing breakfasts and with inside tips on what to do and where to go. Ruth was always a phone call away and would always give us the time of the day to give us information, advice or simply help us out when needed. The room had some nice touches to it and had one of the best views you could ever get. There is also a wonderful terrace where you can have you evening cup of thé or coffee while enjoying the nice breeze and the wonderful view over the city and the mountains. Liberty Lodge has a great location and it is easy to just take a morning walk from there through Longstreet and up to the Waterfront. This is the place to stay at in Cape Town.

Room Tip: Room with the mountain view was spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naf34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

The place is easy to get to (if you are driving). It's is very clean and well-appointed. It has a welcoming feeling and is in a really safe area. The location is quiet - - if you have an upper room. We had a room in the front downstairs and the road traffic was loud enough to keep us awake even with our jet-lag. The other couple we were travelling with had the downstairs room in the back and had no noise problems (although if the weather was nicer people would have had breakfast outside their door.) Breakfasts were yummy and large. Ruth and the staff were gracious and attentive.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room if you are noise sensitive (they were booked when we reserved our rooms.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eventr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

I stayed at Liberty Lodge for 4 nights in early November at the end of a trip for work. Although I hadn't organised my trip before I arrived I was very lucky to end up here - as well as being a lovely place to stay it is also a great base for exploring Cape Town on foot and visiting the Western Cape. Everything you could need has been thought of in terms of comforts and Ruth seemed to be able to cater for any whims. If you like to swim I'd recommend a trip to Sea Point. Breakfast was great in terms of both food and company. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SophBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,038 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
648 reviews
Cape Standard
#14 of 156 in Cape Town Central
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wilton Manor Guest House
#37 of 156 in Cape Town Central
277 reviews
Villa Costa Rose
#13 of 156 in Cape Town Central
523 reviews
City Bowl
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#16 of 156 in Cape Town Central
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Lodge

Address: 33 De Lorentz Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £64 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Liberty Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over the years, this classic Cape Town bed & breakfast has earned an enviable reputation for relaxed and genuine hospitality. Originally a Victorian gentleman's house, Liberty Lodge became a fabric emporium and even a bordello in the 1940s! Today, it combines a skillful mix of Victorian, Art Deco and contemporary decor, with some stunning feature pieces. Perfectly situated to make the most of your Cape Town holiday or business trip, Liberty Lodge sits on the lower slopes between Table Mountain cable car station and Cape Town CBD. Restaurants and cafes abound in trendy Tamboerskloof and tourist sights are in close proximity. The four uniquely decorated rooms are equipped with air-conditioning and heaters, an electronic wall safe, hairdryer, a range of toiletries and most importantly comfortable beds! Complimentary wi-fi and safe on street parking is available. A hearty hot and cold breakfast is served every morning to set you up for the day either inside or outside in the charming ground-floor greenery courtyard. This homely Tamboerskloof Bed and Breakfast provides your respite from a busy day and is run by owner, Ruth Parsons, who extends a warm, personal welcome. Liberty Lodge appeals to young and old, singles and couples, on holiday or working, all of whom know that convivial surroundings and a comfortable bed waits.No Children under 12 allowed!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Liberty Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Lodge Bed And Breakfast
Liberty Hotel Cape Town Central
Liberty Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing