We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful”
Review of Liberty Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Liberty Lodge
Ranked #25 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Stayed here for one night, was in a business trip! This Lodge has great location. Ruth and her stuaff were very very nice.You can view the table mountain on the balcony!!! I would definitely like to stay again here in future!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MingheZheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

Comfortable, convenient in a wonderful location. Ruth & her staff were excellent. Nicely furnished, with attention to detail and warm/friendly. Ruth is very knowledgeable and helpful. Amazing views too - just step outside on to the balcony for inspiration. Thank you - enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gpsnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I am a solo traveller, used to live in Cape Town, and was home for a visit, although was in desperate need of a night alone in peace and quiet! I made the last minute decision to stay in Cape Town and called a few places which finally(gratefully!) lead me to The Liberty Lodge!
I was welcomed warmly by Ruth who quickly and efficiently showed me to my most beautiful ensuite room with gorgeous terrace overlooking the city ahead and the breath taking table mountain behind.
I found exactly what I was looking for, an amazing comfortable bed, a beautiful quiet room and a lovely hostess!
Thank you to Ruth and her staff for making my stay so perfect - I stayed 3 nights instead of the planned 1.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChampagneCerise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

What a great stay we had with Ruth, Lisa and Nita! They went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. All of the rooms are lovely and the top balcony view is just breathtaking. And the brakfast-YUM, Don't hesitate to ask for one of Lisa's famous omelets! Great location-fantastic host-home away from home-comfy beds. Vacation always feels too short when you've had such a lovely experience. Thank you for making our stay so effortlessly relaxing!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite! The bathroom is much bigger compared the other rooms and there is more storage spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABallantine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Ruth &her staff are excellent they can't do enough for you ,the guest house is lovely the rooms are spotless & beautifully furnished ,you could not ask for a better place to stay ,the views are magnificent ,we will defiantly be stopping her again .Also the breakfast is fantastic much nicer than stopping in one of the bigger hotels such a relaxing friendly atmosphere ,I would highly recommend staying in this guest house.Thank you Ruth for such a good stay at Liberty Lodge

Room Tip: We had the room looking out over Table Mountain fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank towncharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I could write a whole page about this wonderful venue. It is the perfect combination of everything one looks to find in a bed and breakfast. Its cosy, clean and above all relaxing. Has the most wonderful view from the terrace (Table Mountain and Lions Head) and the breakfast is more than you expect. Besides all that i think its greatest advantage is Ruth, the owner. The most helpful, sweet lady I have met in a long time. I strongly recommend this place and if you dont stay here you will regret it. Hope this review is convincing enough.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mateo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Liberty Lodge has become a true home from home when visiting Cape Town. A small boutique guest house in up-and-coming Gardens area, this is an excellent choice for anyone visiting the city.

Ruth, the owner, and Lisa will go over and above to make your stay as comfortable and happy as possible. The rooms are extremely well decorated and spacious and breakfast is always waiting on the table in the morning. Superb value for money and the personal touches exceeds anything you will receive in one of the larger chain hotels.

As someone that travels all over the world and to many high end 5 star hotels, Liberty Lodge is always my first choice in Cape Town

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_Calvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
AfricanHome Guesthouse
#14 of 156 in Cape Town Central
331 reviews
Cape Standard
#16 of 156 in Cape Town Central
617 reviews
Tintagel Guesthouse
#9 of 156 in Cape Town Central
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Blue House Guesthouse
#45 of 156 in Cape Town Central
108 reviews
La Grenadine
#7 of 156 in Cape Town Central
280 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Lodge

Address: 33 De Lorentz Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £71 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Liberty Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over the years, this classic Cape Town bed & breakfast has earned an enviable reputation for relaxed and genuine hospitality. Originally a Victorian gentleman's house, Liberty Lodge became a fabric emporium and even a bordello in the 1940s! Today, it combines a skillful mix of Victorian, Art Deco and contemporary decor, with some stunning feature pieces. Perfectly situated to make the most of your Cape Town holiday or business trip, Liberty Lodge sits on the lower slopes between Table Mountain cable car station and Cape Town CBD. Restaurants and cafes abound in trendy Tamboerskloof and tourist sights are in close proximity. The four uniquely decorated rooms are equipped with air-conditioning and heaters, an electronic wall safe, hairdryer, a range of toiletries and most importantly comfortable beds! Complimentary wi-fi and safe on street parking is available. A hearty hot and cold breakfast is served every morning to set you up for the day either inside or outside in the charming ground-floor greenery courtyard. This homely Tamboerskloof Bed and Breakfast provides your respite from a busy day and is run by owner, Ruth Parsons, who extends a warm, personal welcome. Liberty Lodge appeals to young and old, singles and couples, on holiday or working, all of whom know that convivial surroundings and a comfortable bed waits.No Children under 12 allowed!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Liberty Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Cape Town Central
Liberty Lodge Bed And Breakfast
Liberty Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing