We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time at Liberty Lodge”
Review of Liberty Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Liberty Lodge
Ranked #23 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We had a superb time in Cape Town, made so much better by Ruth and her staff. Liberty Lodge had every thing we needed, our room was very comfortable with great views and a balcony, and the breakfasts in the courtyard were first class. Ruth made our stay so easy by arranging everything for us with no fuss. Plenty of excellent restaurant's including Arnolds within an easy walk.

Room Tip: Request balcony and table mountain view
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcarvin34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
There are newer reviews for Liberty Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

Thanks to our wonderful daughter for arranging a wonderful stay at Ruth's Liberty Lodge on de Lorentz Street in Cape Town! Great location, just off fashionable and fun Kloof Street, in a quiet residential neighborhood, wonderful food with great service. Very clean and beautifully decorated lobby, dining area and rooms. Ruth and her ladies Lisa and Nita, could not have been helpful and happy to make sure that all the guests were comfortable and well-fed. We also met some of the nicest and most interesting people (from all over the world) at the breakfast table! A real treat to stay at the Liberty! Happy to recommend this little gem!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetHarperLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed here on business for 3 nights. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. I was the first to arrive from my party and Ruth the owner, welcomed me with a a cup of tea and introduced me to 2 other guests who had just arrived. It was our first trip to Cape Town and Ruth was extremely helpful. Even before I'd arrived she's organised for 'Discovery Cars' to pick me up, advised us on car hire, weather forecast, what to wear and other tips for the first time traveller to Cape Town. My room was well decorated and comfortable, nice bathroom with shower, great view of Table Top mountain and an excellent balcony. Having unpacked and shown how to use the safe, I joined the other two guests for the tour of the city on the open top bus - as suggested by Ruth. The stop was just a short walk from LL. After just 1 day I felt I'd been there for ages. Breakfast next morning was excellent. Freshly cooked English, with great coffee - all in the open courtyard with other guests. Can't wait to go again.

Room Tip: Go for a room with the balcony if possible.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lambros_A2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Liberty Lodge. Ruth the owner, together with Lisa and Nita are so welcoming and friendly, a wealth of information, and really keen to ensure the comfort of their guests. We even received an email shortly after booking advising on airport transfers, reliable taxi firms and the like. This proved invaluable later on our tour. The Lodge is situated just off the mountain end of Kloof street, and from our room we had a wonderful view of Table Mountain. Within a few minutes walk there are a wide variety of restaurants including Toni’s a Portuguese restaurant which we really enjoyed. We felt safe walking in the area even after dark. Our room was both spacious and comfortable, as was the bathroom which was stocked with a useful range of soaps and cosmetics. Breakfast was superb, and a proper family affair as we all compared notes and chatted around the large breakfast table. There are only five rooms in the Lodge, so book early. You won’t be disappointed.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I popped in for one night after a couple of friends from the States had spent a couple of nights here. The guesthouse is perfectly located with a lovely view of the mountain coupled with a short walk into town. Ruth the owner is a lovely lady who was extremely helpful, kind and entertaining. I will certainly be popping in on my next trip to CT even if it just to say hi to Ruth. We also received an upgrade to the larger mountain-side room which was great!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank MarkAY2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I spent three nights that the LL during my visit to Cape Town from the States. I've spent a lot of time at boutique hotels across California and this certainly fit the bill! The lodge consists of 5 rooms all decorated differently and very stylishly. The Innkeeper Ruth was very helpful with giving us shopping, eating and traveling pointers outside of the fact that she's just lovely to speak with. The lodge is located just up the hill (walking distance) from shopping and restaurants and just down the hill from Table Mountain and Signal Mountain so it's easy to get wherever you are going. We left the lodge to spend a night in the wine country and Ruth even let us keep our large bags at the lodge while we were gone without charging us! Her staff is exceptionally friendly and made us a delicious hot breakfast every morning and on the day I left early in the morning they packed me breakfast to go! The views from the deck upstairs are also lovely. This would be a great place to stay as a couple or with friends and family!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEW01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth P, Owner at Liberty Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Hi Kara - a short note via Tripadvisor as I do not have your personal email address - to thank you for such a lovely review and such positive feedback about the Lodge, its location and my wonderful staff Lisa and Nita. I am so pleased you enjoy your stay here and hope that one day you will come back again. Best wishes - Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I found Liberty Lodge on trip advisor and after reading the great reviews, I ended up staying for just over a weekend.
The reviews were all completely spot on! The place really is perfect. Ruth is such an amazing host as are the ladies who work with her and everyone makes you feel like you're at home.
The room was comfortable and clean and the breakfasts were delicious and filling.
They also really make a great cup of coffee!
Price, location and comfort are all spot on.
I couldn't recommend staying there more.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
La Grenadine
#8 of 156 in Cape Town Central
253 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
636 reviews
Tintagel Guesthouse
#11 of 156 in Cape Town Central
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,026 reviews
City Bowl
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthou...
#4 of 156 in Cape Town Central
266 reviews
City Bowl
Rosedene Guest House
Rosedene Guest House
#26 of 156 in Cape Town Central
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Lodge

Address: 33 De Lorentz Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £68 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Liberty Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over the years, this classic Cape Town bed & breakfast has earned an enviable reputation for relaxed and genuine hospitality. Originally a Victorian gentleman's house, Liberty Lodge became a fabric emporium and even a bordello in the 1940s! Today, it combines a skillful mix of Victorian, Art Deco and contemporary decor, with some stunning feature pieces. Perfectly situated to make the most of your Cape Town holiday or business trip, Liberty Lodge sits on the lower slopes between Table Mountain cable car station and Cape Town CBD. Restaurants and cafes abound in trendy Tamboerskloof and tourist sights are in close proximity. The four uniquely decorated rooms are equipped with air-conditioning and heaters, an electronic wall safe, hairdryer, a range of toiletries and most importantly comfortable beds! Complimentary wi-fi and safe on street parking is available. A hearty hot and cold breakfast is served every morning to set you up for the day either inside or outside in the charming ground-floor greenery courtyard. This homely Tamboerskloof Bed and Breakfast provides your respite from a busy day and is run by owner, Ruth Parsons, who extends a warm, personal welcome. Liberty Lodge appeals to young and old, singles and couples, on holiday or working, all of whom know that convivial surroundings and a comfortable bed waits.No Children under 12 allowed!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Liberty Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Lodge Bed And Breakfast
Liberty Hotel Cape Town Central
Liberty Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing