We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruth is sweet even in difficult circumstances”
Review of Liberty Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Liberty Lodge
Ranked #21 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ruth is sweet even in difficult circumstances”
Reviewed 30 November 2008

We knew we found a wonderful place to stay, based partly on other reviews found on trip adviser, but mostly because of our earliest email contact with Ruth. Ruth suggested great restaurants and made reservations weeks in advance, she arranged guided tours of the Cape and wine country with the most phenominal person, Tania, and much much more. The clincher was watching Ruth in action with the most difficult of guests who made quite a fuss at the breakfast table one morning. Her diplomacy deserves recognition in Obama's cabinet... and demonstrated what a capable woman she is in addition to being the most wonderful of hosts. We enjoy traveling, and have done our fair share... this B&B ranks up there with one of our more pleasant and best value finds... We enjoyed the location and it's convenience.... and Ruth and her staff are wonderful representatives of this fine International city. We just loved our stay there. E&L

  • Liked — comfortable, very quiet, owner was teriffic
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleFriulano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    48
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
187
59
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2008

This B&B was a gem, located within walking distance to just about everywhere in Cape Town. Ruth was fantastic with her recommendations and tips for navigating the city. The breakfast made by Lisa was always incredible and super generous with the portions. The room sizes were good, and the beds were very comfortable. We would definitely stay here again, in fact, we recommended it to travelers we met along our journey who were headed to Cape Town. What a treat!

  • Liked — Ruth was so helpful and accommodating
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffmi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2008

Incredibly homely stay with Ruth, Lisa and Nita. Of all the guest house accommodation we stayed in on our trip to the Cape this time, the breakfasts here were definately the tastiest - and Ruth's top tips of places to go and things to see (even though I have been to Cape Town a number of times before) were excellent and gave me a new and different perspective on the city.
And the bed was scrumptious and just so comfortable!
Easy car parking in the street outside and the Lodge's location gives easy access to the city and felt safe.
I'd deffinately stay here again and recommend it highly.

  • Liked — Ruth and her top tips on where to go and pla
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTJukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2008

Liberty Lodge has been my home away from home for the past month and i have been bowled over by the warmth I have received from Ruth, Lisa and Nita. Their warm South african hospitality is of high international standard and always with a smile.

The establishment is welcoming, well positioned for all types of travellor's, a stone throw from the best Restaurants that Cape Town will offer a famished travellor and the deco of this Lodge rates very highly in my book.

I have shared my sumptious breakfast with very top dollar visitors to our shore and its been the best of time that will stay with me for very long time.

Hope you take time to visit Liberty Lodge when ever you visit Cape Town, i surely enjoyed my stay at Liberty Lodge.

Ayanda W. Msimang
Johannesburg, South Africa

  • Liked — warmth of the owner, privacy, comfortable rooms as well as good breakfast
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Msimang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, Derbyshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2008

We stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel was lovely as were the staff. It is very close to the cable car for Table Mountain so if driving it's very easy just follow the cableway signs. The rooms were superb with excellent views of Table mountain. If you stay here you must try one of Nita's omelettes, they are divine.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rossy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2008

Liberty Lodge is in an excellent location close to Kloof Street where there are many excellent restaurants - try Greens on Park and Singapore. Buzz also to be recommended for their wonderful wraps.
Ruth is a very welcoming, knowledgable host, although sometimes overpowering ,especially at breakfast time when we were looking forward to a relaxing start to the day.
We had a fantastic day trip to the winelands accompanied by the wonderful Tania of Discovery Tours - www.discoverytours.co.za
- I highly recommend contacting them for any tour you would like to do in the area or further afield.
Last but not least Lisa's omelettes are fantastic .

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MairGravatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2008

I was in Cape Town for a week on business and chose to stay at the Liberty Lodge, not only because of its ideal location but also for what I knew of the place from its former owners. The current owner Ruth has created a very warm aura in this small guesthouse, which makes it feel like a home away from home. This is what I needed given that I was in RSA for three weeks. The African-themed rooms are spacious with extremely comfortable beds, soft white sheets, and a down comforter; the latter is a necessity for those rainy and cold Cape Town winters. (You might even get a zebra-skin on your bedroom floor!) Free wi-fi is available downstairs in the dining room (though I would have loved access in my room), and the two ladies who prepared breakfast and cleaned our rooms were simply gracious and lovely persons. Ruth infuses the place with her big, outgoing personality, providing suggestions and recommendations about where to visit, shop, and eat. There are a number of good eateries within walking distance; the area feels relatively safe, and the view of Table Mountain from the upstairs deck or even your room (especially if you get the Gandhi room) is breathtaking. My only suggestions are 1) that they replenish the toiletries more often; otherwise, I would recommend that you bring your own soap and shampoo; and 2) that they change up on the breakfast options every now and then. Longer-term guests might get bored with the same options every day.

  • Liked — Its location
  • Disliked — no wi-fi access in room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Prudala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 155 in Cape Town Central
623 reviews
Tintagel Guesthouse
#10 of 155 in Cape Town Central
234 reviews
La Grenadine
#4 of 155 in Cape Town Central
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rouge on Rose
#6 of 155 in Cape Town Central
938 reviews
Villa Costa Rose
#11 of 155 in Cape Town Central
510 reviews
City Bowl
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthou...
#5 of 155 in Cape Town Central
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Lodge

Property: Liberty Lodge
Address: 33 De Lorentz Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Liberty Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over the years, this classic Cape Town bed & breakfast has earned an enviable reputation for relaxed and genuine hospitality. Originally a Victorian gentleman's house, Liberty Lodge became a fabric emporium and even a bordello in the 1940s! Today, it combines a skillful mix of Victorian, Art Deco and contemporary decor, with some stunning feature pieces. Perfectly situated to make the most of your Cape Town holiday or business trip, Liberty Lodge sits on the lower slopes between Table Mountain cable car station and Cape Town CBD. Restaurants and cafes abound in trendy Tamboerskloof and tourist sights are in close proximity. The four uniquely decorated rooms are equipped with air-conditioning and heaters, an electronic wall safe, hairdryer, a range of toiletries and most importantly comfortable beds! Complimentary wi-fi and safe on street parking is available. A hearty hot and cold breakfast is served every morning to set you up for the day either inside or outside in the charming ground-floor greenery courtyard. This homely Tamboerskloof Bed and Breakfast provides your respite from a busy day and is run by owner, Ruth Parsons, who extends a warm, personal welcome. Liberty Lodge appeals to young and old, singles and couples, on holiday or working, all of whom know that convivial surroundings and a comfortable bed waits.No Children under 12 allowed!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Liberty Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Cape Town Central
Liberty Lodge Bed And Breakfast
Liberty Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing