We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burger selection, only one bad experience”

Hudsons - The Burger Joint
Ranked #174 of 1,147 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
196 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great burger selection, only one bad experience”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I love Hudson's. I usually frequent the Kloof Street branch, but visited the slightly bigger Green Point branch in the week with friends. I love the Bacon Jam and the Ostrich one (think it's called the La Di Dah). Service is good and their fries are amazing. However, when I visited the Green Point branch, there was a hair in my Ostrich patty. This totally put me off the rest of my food. They have a good cocktail selection, too. Good for afterwork drinks. Can also get quite loud.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antas17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    122
    36
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
188 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“great place for a burger”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

always busy and vibrant - for a good reason too, great choice of interesting burgers and good service.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charmaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fine and fun burger joint, near V&A Waterfront”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Hudson's on Somerset is a trendy and popular 'burger joint' very close to Big Blue Backpackers and the V&A Waterfront in Capetown. It has an extensive pub-style menu, with a large selection of burgers (all of them sounding great - the one I had, superb!), a good selection of wines and beers, and lots of other appetizing menu items.

The ambience is welcoming and comfortable, and the serving staff friendly and helpful. The portions are ample and the fare (at least the stuff that I ordered) was fresh and tasty. The prices were very reasonable as well, especially if one is travelling on a budget!

I would say Hudson's should be highly recommended to anyone staying in the Greenpoint area of Capetown.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ekwtsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Burger Lunch @ Hudson's - Kloof Street, CPT”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a scrumptious well prepared healthy vanilla thunder chicken burger. It was so YUM!
Atmosphere has a typical 'laid back' vibe and the service is general was great. When in the area, go for it.

Just a note to the managing staff- the restaurant verges on a bit dirty. Sweep the floors, wash the windows and wipe the tables more often. Don't let it subtract from your FANTASTIC food!

Helpful?
Thank Hugosa001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Incredible food and amazing staff!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The food, the beer, the service and the staff. All amazing and think probably the best burger place have ever been too!

And they play any sports thats on at that time! Awesome!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank stevepinnell89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hudsons - The Burger Joint also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town, Western Cape
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Hudsons - The Burger Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing