We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
40 Winks Guest House
Ranked #142 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I booked a room here the night before. The bedroom is fine. the only amneties in the bathroom was your towel. i am used to better in 4 star hotels.

service is awful. oh the people are nice, just not there. i wanted to make phone calls, and was looking for someone to explain how their phone system worked. no one available. only 2 out of 10 attempts managed to work.

guess what? they charged me for all the attempts! when i tried to explain to the owner manager/ the situation. She reduced my bill, and then would not talk again. This went into shouting and yelling and repeating that the computer makes the charges.

Actually, i still do not understand how to make a phone call in this place, nor what she removed.

of course, i will mention that after 5 there is no one available to help you, at night either. actually this place is not worth the price, maybe 10%.

the only good thing? the place is clean.

Experiences.... among my top 10 worst, certainly.

What these people do not seem to understand is that value and quality of service far exceeds importance of money. This is not worth the money, or the pain.

i should have been warned since the moment i came in the building someone was making a complaint.

Oh, and the internet is not free by the way.

Switching hotels now!

Room Tip: Skip it. just go elsewhere. really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    5
    14
    7
    16
See reviews for
10
11
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The aircon was not working so was moved to another room. Was given a talking to in the morning on why did I move rooms? not to sure as it was the night managers decision. The breakfast was uninspiring and can not see where the 4 stars come from. Will not visit again One towel for two guests and office closed so could not fix the problem. One mug for tea same problem

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elvavisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I was not impressed that I had to pay an additional R70 fee for parking. Breakfast was okay, but had to share a table. O, they were out of sausages the first day. Also serve breakfast only from 7:30. By that time Im usually on my way to the site already. My room looked nothing like the pictures on the Internet. The colors did not match at all. Why not just use white linen? As in the pictures? Will never stay there again

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanet v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We booked to stay at 40 WINKS after checking online on what Cape Town had to offer in terms of an economical stay in a Guest House with a family room since i was sharing with my 2 adult children.I only saw the ratings after i had booked so was quite worried at what i would find on the ground.We were pleasantly surprised when we got there because the negative features mentioned was not there. We were in a family room which was quite comfortable and clean.The A/C,everything was working well.The service was good and the staff very polite(keep it up Chenne,Nelly and the rest)The reception/dining area was very clean and welcoming.The owner was always around and would keep checking on our comfort.The Breakfast was good and as mentioned by another review,they just require to give more variety.I will definitely go back there next time i go to Cape Town.It is also on a convenient location ....near the Waterfront and Town is barely 7 minutes away by Taxi.Keep it up! !

Room Tip: Only 2 Family rooms available,room 12 has A/C surround because it is a large room,the other unit is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie294207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

My boyfriend took me to Cape Town for my birthday weekend. When we got to 40 Winks we were given Room 12. The room is right next to the reception hall. So, you hear everything (the ringing phone, the gate buzzer, the early morning breakfast preparations). This place was awful. There is no bathroom door, no windows in the main bedrooom. So to get "fresh air" we had to use the airconditioner otherwise we had to open the door, so everyone can now see us. In order to use the tissue, one had to turn their body almost 90 degrees while seating on the toilet seat. The towel rail was broken. The TV had no sports channels and the picture quality was awful.

We found out that the shower was not working well, but there was no one at reception to assist as it was around 10pm. The next morning we notified the very useless receptionist and she said they wold fix it during the day. I told her that we were not going to be able to use the shower that morning and we needed to go out. She then "allowed" us to use the shower in the family unit. She said she could not move us to the family unit as it was R400 more expensive than our suite. So, we had to walk past other guests while they were having breakfast so that we could go and have a shower in the family room.

I told the receptionist that we actually hated our room and she said there was a couple that was moving out of room 22 and the staff wold prepare it fr u and we could move in there. When we came back fom our excursion at about 4:20pm, the receptionist said they had fixed our shower and towel rail, so there was no need for us to move to Room 22 (which was much better than our room). he said that Room 22 had not been prepared because the guest had asked for a late check-out (what is so difficult about changing linen and cleaning a 1 bedroom place?)

We then asked to speak to the owner (she was actually a manager, she doesn't own the place). The manager told the receptionist that she was too busy and couldn't speak to us at that time. When we finally spoke to the manager, she was not interested and how uncomfortable our stay had become. We had a very unpleasant phone conversation. The manager does like the sound of her own voice, so she hardly gives you time to put across your views. She does most of the talking!

This place is NOWHERE near 4 star. My absolute best rating for this place would be 3 star.

I will never go to this place and will warn anyone and everyone about it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IzzyElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winkwink, Manager at 40 Winks Guest House, responded to this review, 6 April 2011
In reply to your post on TripAdvisor, I am the manager that you spoke to about your "problem check list". You say that I speak a lot, and that, is indeed the truth. However the reason for your unsuccessful verbal engagement with me, is that you felt that the use of abusive foul language would, somehow, miraculously illicit the refund that you demanded.

This "non-voicing of your plight" was further aggravated by siting inaccuracies pertinent to your "problem" as well as being disrespectful and untruthful by referring to my colleague as the "useless receptionist". This, after my colleague had listened to your SHOWER tale, apparently caused by water flowing only from three jets which, and I quote, was "hurting my body". My colleague also offered an available alternative room, for showering to take place, whilst dealing with shower problem that you had reported in your room (Room 12).

Before solving the problem with inhouse handyman, my colleague, said, that IF THE SHOWER PROBLEM remained a problem, and if Room 22 (only check out for the day) was ready for guests, then and only then, would it be possible for you to change rooms. However, since you checked and signed off the "faulty shower in room 12" , this option and plan 13, were no longer relevant.

Moving on to Sat afternoon 4:20pm. Reception hours of attendance/ housekeeping deadlines are included in guest welcome note at check-in and thus were fully aware thereof and that Sat reception ends at 4:30pm. So arriving for service 10 minutes before shift end, surely, cannot be logical. However, you then demanded your money back for second night of your two night booking and were advised that we dont do refunds after check-in. This is when a so-called "problem check-list" miraculously appeared. From the distance of the toilet roll to the cistern, the "broken" towel rail, the no-door/non-privacy whilst doing one's toilette policy to the final "fresh air fiasco" piece de resistance. It seems that you believed the longer the "bug list" the sooner a refund would appear....

We have serviced 3598 guests over 12 months, and 8 of those, have "aired their views" as you did...At 40 Winks Guest House we believe in customer service, making new friends with returning guests, and one look at our visitors book, tells the true story....We sincerely wish you all the very best and thank you for visiting the Mother City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antalya
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We ( group of 5 ) were booked here by a travel agency and the place was advertised as 4 star luxury guest house (by their own web site) Now thats what I call false advertising!!.
This place is 2 star at most. If even actually. Average interiors, nothing luxury about it.
The owner was not there at all during our 2 days stay. And there was a time that we needed assistant in the middle of the night as one couple was so drunk and they were calling other rooms just for fun. And the emergency number given was not answered. We left a note on the answering machine but no one called back or even bothered to ask the next day of what happened. We were wondering what if something very important happened ? we were left there without no help.
Usually breakfast is suppose to be good at these kind of guets houses. But not at 40 winks. It was simply terrible with cheap processed cheese, honey that turned into black and no coffee ! we asked for a coffee refill but our request was ignored. We all had to go have another proper breakfast elsewhere.
Worst of all is that we paid 140 Eur for this place and that is the biggest rip off I have ever experienced. You can stay at much nicer places with this amount of money.
Only one suggestion.
stay away !!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank perge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namibia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Stayed over for a couple of days for the World Cup as it was quite close to the stadium. We booked 2 self catering apartments as we were 7 adults and weren't to concerned about having breakfast there. In the end I'm happy that we didn't book the B&B option as the breakfast area is in the same room as the small reception and it's really not the perfect setting for breakfast if you have all the wonderfull places you can go to in Cape Town. The breakfast/ reception area is also very cluttered and doesn't really look comfortable.
Reception is also a bit of a hassle as it's not always occupied and if you only want to drop you key or get quick info, you will have to wait or look for someone. But than again, it's a small place and you can't expect that someone sits at the reception the whole time. The setting of the guesthouse is ok, but you don't have any kind of view as it's surrounded by other big buildings. The main focus of the guesthouse sadly is the parking area, which is a pity as it's a big tarred area. Pool and outside area a bit small and uncared for. Parking is a bit of a hassle too, but you can easily park on the small roads outside. We didn't find it too much of a problem.
The self catering apartments are not on the same property and actually are flats that they've bought in nearby buildings.
The apartments have all you would need for self catering. The webpage however fools one a bit as the pictures are only of one of the apartments, which is the biggest and most modern. This apartment however is on the Greenpoint main road and it can get a bit noisy during the night as there's quite a bit of traffic. The bathroom at this apartment is in need of some renovation though as the ceiling is covered in mildew and that is something you would not expect for the price you are paying. They need to get this fixed and all would be 100%.
The other apartment we got is across the street of the 40 Winks Guesthouse. It's smaller than the other and the rooms are tiny. Here there are also only double beds as the space is very limited. Nothing wrong with it, just that you won't fit your luggage into the rooms and you need to unpack all into the cupboards.
The reason I will not recommend this property is because there are loads of better properties in Cape Town, which are also cheaper and with much better locations. Lived in and worked in Cape Town and surrounds for a few years and know what I'm talking about.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NamXpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Wilton Manor Guest House
Wilton Manor Guest House
#28 of 155 in Cape Town Central
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Head South Lodge
Head South Lodge
#10 of 125 in Cape Town Central
227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Point B Guest House
Point B Guest House
#54 of 155 in Cape Town Central
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
AfricanHome Guesthouse
AfricanHome Guesthouse
#12 of 155 in Cape Town Central
306 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apartments
Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apar...
#7 of 155 in Cape Town Central
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Induna Lodge
Induna Lodge
#98 of 155 in Cape Town Central
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 40 Winks Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 40 Winks Guest House

Property: 40 Winks Guest House
Address: 2 Ravenscraig Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 40 Winks Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TGCSA 4-Star accommodation, built on old-fashioned ideals, modern-age comforts, quality service, affordable luxury accommodation, delicious breakfast buffet. Need a place to stay two minutes walk from Green Point Stadium... or maybe during Argus Cycle Tour and Two Oceans....or perhaps just a long holiday near the sea, large shopping complexes and Cape Town's major attractions......then 40 Winks Guesthouse is perfect for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your 40 Winks Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 Winks Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing