We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb guest house” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1 On Queens Boutique Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
1 On Queens Boutique Guest House
Ranked #125 of 163 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
“Superb guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

We recently stayed at 1 on Queens Guest House for 4 nights. The service was second to none. Gavin and Thomas provided us with extremely helpful recommendations for restaurants (all of which were spot on), bars and unique excursions. Like several guests before and after us making dinner reservations was no trouble at all. The personalities and welcome from both Thomas and Gavin made our stay perfect. The location in Tamboerskloof area was ideal for sight seeing and relaxing with the view of Table Mountain. A taxi ride to key locations was modest and only a short journey ride. The rooms were clean, well furbished with daily attentive service. The breakfasts were more than ample, nothing was too much trouble. We ate like kings and queens! We would go back to 1 on Queens in a heart beat and would easily recommend it to other travellers. Great value for money. Thank you Gavin and Thomas for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael_Melissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    23
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
32
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed at 1-on-Queens for 10 days around Christmas 2012, and had a wonderful time. The Tamboerskloof area, the house, the room were all great but the one thing that really stood out was service : from the delicious made-to-order breakfast in the morning, to the numerous dining and outing recommandations by Tomas, Gavin and Juan at the « front desk », and the many bookings they made for us. Nothing was too much trouble and help always came with a smile. True, the swimming pool is small, but it’d almost be a shame to spend too much time in it given all there is to see and do in and around Cape Town. Considering that prices at 1-on-Queens are very reasonable, even in high season, this makes for outstanding value for money. Thank you all at 1-on-Queens. We can’t wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank french7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a few nights over Christmas 2012. The managers are super helpful and friendly, which is great. The location in Tomboerskloof is great, and you can walk easily to some bars and nice restaurants. Our only "complaint" were some noisy neighbors in adjoining rooms, and the place is quite cramped, so noise carries. Breakfasts are good. Pool was too small to really swim in, and didnt see that clean. We never saw anybody in it.

Room Tip: Really book early and ask for rooms with a balcony on the upper floors. They have great views of Ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

The staff are the highlight of this well situated, clean and well appointed B&B. Nothing was too much trouble for Gavin, Tomas and Juan who were full of local information, always ready to book on our behalf and even going the extra mile quite literally and picking us up from a local restaurant late one evening! Breakfast was filling and tasty, served by charming ladies who always had a smile. Would happily return.

Room Tip: We had the room with a pool view - great for summer but down a few steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2CAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herentals, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

We stayed 4 nights in this wonderful guest house, we had a very beautiful room with a magnificent view on the Table Mountain. Lovely breakfast. We also loved the location, very quiet and it costs only about 50 rand for a taxi to get to the Waterfront. And last but not least, the staff is great and very friendly! Especially Tomas!! What a great effort he made to get back some clothes we had forgotten in one of our previous hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

I stayed at this guest house while attending a workshop in Cape Town. I had to be at the workshop quite early in the morning but the staff always had a lovely and ample breakfast buffet ready before I left so that I could eat something. The management is excellent and really want to ensure one's stay is good. I found the place quiet, clean, comfortable, and the rooms nicely set up. It was also convenient for me to walk to some areas and not so expensive when I took a taxi.

I can recommend this place and would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globaltraveller62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

The place is well located, the staff was helpful and the installantions are all really good. Would suggest to friends or come back, any time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrique E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
City Bowl
Radium Hall Guest House
Radium Hall Guest House
#52 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Trevoyan Guest House
Trevoyan Guest House
#18 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
City Bowl
Villa Belle Ombre
Villa Belle Ombre
#47 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
The Blue House Guesthouse
#46 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1 On Queens Boutique Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1 On Queens Boutique Guest House

Property: 1 On Queens Boutique Guest House
Address: 1 Queens Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the slopes of Signal Hill, this Tuscan Villa has all you need for an enjoyable and relaxing stay in Cape Town. Most of our rooms have large private balconies affording spectacular views of either Table Mountain or the City. Trendy Kloof Street with its cosmopolitan atmosphere is only a short stroll away. A mere five minutes drive takes you either to the City Centre, Cape Town International Conference Centre, V&A Waterfront, Table Mountain Cable Station or to the splendid beaches of Camps Bay and Clifton. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1 On Queens Boutique Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing